Wrong timing…

We went back to this place here the other day, the coffee shop/food court section of the Eco Delite Cafe because the last time I was there, I saw this stall…

Eco Delite pork burger stall

…but I had already ordered what I wanted to eat so I thought I would just wait till another time to give the pork burger a try. I asked one of the boys working there and he said that the stall would only open at night, starting at around 5 in the evening. Darn!!! But I was there in the morning that previous time and it was open? Perhaps business had not been so good that time of day so now they have changed their opening hours, I wouldn’t know.

Well, since we were there, we thought that we might as well order from one of the other stalls instead. My missus faithfully went for the chap fan (mixed rice)…

Eco Delite chap fan/mixed rice

…and I thought it did not look that great and yes, she also said that the things did not look as nice as those times when we ate there before but that platter of one meat and two vegetables with rice cost only RM3.50 so I guess one can’t really complain.

The kampua noodles stall was closing for the day even though it was just after 11.00 a.m. so I went and ordered the lor mee (RM4.00)…

Eco Delite lor mee 1

…from this stall…

Eco Delite lor mee stall

…and yes, at least, this one was quite like lor mee as I knew it a long time ago.

The fermented bean egg gravy had the right thickness or stickiness, probably thickened with the use of corn starch, and was definitely not watery like the ones I have had elsewhere and it tasted great! I think there would be a very light hint of sweetness in the ones I enjoyed before but no, I could not detect that in this one. They were very generous with the noodles…

Eco Delite lor mee 2

…and all in all, I would say I quite liked it and sure would not mind ordering that again next time.

There is a roti canai stall there now – the guy looked like an Indian or a Bangla and my niece on her last trip home from Singapore had it and she said it was good. I ordered the roti telur (RM2.00)…

Eco Delite roti telur

…and yes, it was very nice but I would prefer a much thicker and richer dhal dip – the one I got was somewhat watery but I must say that the murtabak ayam, chicken – the guy had run out of beef (RM5.00)…

Eco Delite murtabak ayam

…was so very flavourful I could just eat it like that, minus the dip. It was thin and crispy on the outside and so very fragrant – I remember that those that I had before tended to be somewhat thick like an omelette so the texture was quite different from this one and though I have had some nice ones before, I would say that this one would win hands down. I sure would love to have that again and hopefully, the next time, I could try the beef.

ECO DELITE CAFE (2.330706, 111.855615) is located along Jalan Ulu Sungai Merah. After you have gone past Giant Hypermart/Megamall, turn right at the roundabout and you will find it among the shops on your left a short distance ahead. The Wonderful Supermarket & Department Store and all the shops around there would be to your right.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

13 thoughts on “Wrong timing…”

  1. Fuh! If the murtabak ayam is THAT good, I believe the murtabak daging will be even better. Salivating now. It has been ages since I ate murtabak.

    I would think so too, never a fan of chicken, always prefer beef. I think the guy added kunyit or whatever spices and that made the murtabak different and a whole lot nicer than the rest, so very fragrant and tasty.

  2. Alamak. Now I am craving for murtabak. Haha. And pork burger as well. Lol.

    You’re craving? Hmmmmm!!!! Hehehehehe!!!!

  3. I like all the greens on your wife’s plate.

    That’s her standard pick everytime – one meat and two vegetables. I’m not a fan of the one in the middle though, not my favourite leafy veg.

  4. Both veg dish in chap fan looks dull. With a difference of 50 sen only between chap fan & lor mee, I certainly go for lor mee. Looks more appetising.

    Dunno if it was a different chef or a new one, maybe the old one left already. The previous times we were there, everything looked so good we wanted it all. That day, when my missus brought her plate to the table, I thought it did not look like anything I would want to have.

  5. Looks all so filling.

    It was. The bowl of noodles would have been enough but I wanted to try the canai and murtabak, dunno when I will drop by this place again – not a section of town that I would frequent usually.

  6. The lor mee is very tempting…

    So far, the nicest that I have had in town but then again, I haven’t had a lot of lor mee around here, not that there are that many.

  7. I like my murtabaks without the dip too. But it’s hard to find good ones here.

    Here too, I guess. So far, I’ve had ok ones, not anything to shout about…but this one’s really good.

  8. Long time I didn’t take murtabak…. Yes, it looks good over here.. crispy on the outside and soft inside.. best!

    Yes, and other than the texture, the taste was simply awesome, not like others that I’ve had before.

  9. It has been more than 20 years since I last eaten a murtabak. Time to find a place that serves good ones to eat them here. I guess you were very hungry at that time or else you would not be able to eat all 3 items. It is impossible to get 2 veges and 1 meat chapfan here for RM3.50 so at least you all can still get this price although it does not look nice to you.

    Not really hungry anymore after the noodles. The guy took quite a while to prepare the roti telur and the murtabak and I was feeling full…so I was very sure I would not do justice to the two – when full already, sure anything that follows would not be nice but I was so wrong. I really loved the murtabak a lot!

  10. The prices are very reasonable … they look closer to 2007 prices, or even 1997 prices, than 2017 prices! 😉

    Things getting expensive there? Here too. I hear they are raising the price of each plate of kampua noodles by 30 sen, yet to see that though.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

