Usually…

I did mention in my previous post that my missus had been cooking a few dishes before the whirlwind of events following my mum’s admission into the medical centre after which everything had to be put on hold.

Usually, every year, she would cook some of her specialties to store in separate servings in the fridge so she could take out bit by bit to heat up and serve to guests dropping by especially those from out of town who would have a problem trying to find something to eat outside around this time as most of the shops would be closed.

And usually, without fail, every year, she would ask her family over for lunch or dinner but my mother-in-law had left us earlier last year and my Bintulu brother-in-law would not be coming back. Nonetheless, she insisted on inviting her brother and his family here in Sibu to come over for lunch but of course, this year, we had to make do with what we already had as we did not have the luxury of time to cook more and that, of course, meant that we had most of what we had for our reunion dinner the night before on Chinese New Year’s Eve.

There was the leftover fish…

Steamed fish

…which we were not supposed to finish and had to continue eating the following day. We did not touch the other side so it actually looked as good as new…and we took out the steamed chicken…

Mary's steamed chicken from Flavours
*Niece’s photo on Facebook*

…that I got from my friend, Mary. Everyone loved it a lot and all sang praises of the very nice Thai-style sambal dip that came with it. My girl enjoyed the stock that came out of the meat and she kept drinking it like a soup – that would be where all the wholesome goodness was, the true unadulterated essence of chicken!

Other than those, there were the salad…

Salad

…the kacang ma chicken…

Kacang ma chicken

…the satay beef…

Satay beef

…the ngor hiang

Ngor hiang
*Niece’s photo on Facebook*

…and the pineapple prawns…

Pineapple prawns
*Niece’s photo on Facebook*

– all that we had for dinner the previous evening and for dessert we had the amik melon that I got from my young friend, Justin, and yes, everybody loved it – so sweet and so juicy and it did not have that green taste and smell of the honey dew and the other melons that I am not all that fond of.

It wasn’t as elaborate as what we used to have in previous years but there was more than enough to go round and everyone enjoyed the lunch very much and of course, it was great to have them around, my in-laws.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

11 thoughts on “Usually…”

  1. Arthur, speedy recovery to your mom. I hope she’ll be able to eat and drink again so she can be discharged.

    It is my first time reading about the fish not to be eaten all and to be kept for the next day. We usually will finish up all the fish as reheating it will make the flesh dry and not too nice anymore.

    Thank you, dunno how long she has to stay at the medical centre. I guess as long as she does not make an effort to eat on her own, she would not be discharged.

    I did hear about leaving a bit of the fish since sometime ago, something about having in excess, lots of leftovers and extras in the year ahead. Deep fried isn’t too bad, just do not over-reheat but if it is soaked in sauce like sweet and sour or steamed, it will not be nice anymore the next day. Edible, I guess…but not nice. 😦

  2. Good spread of dishes. I would love the natural essence of chicken too. Yummsss!!!!

    You do? I would usually drown my rice with it – my girl seemed to enjoy it a lot.

  3. How is your mum now?? Discharged from hospital?

    Nice lunch treat prepared by your missus. I hardly cooked during CNY. Only opened my kitchen on 4th day! Wahahaha.

    No, and it does not look like it is going to be all that soon – not unless she makes an effort to eat and drink on her own.

    Wahhhhh!!!! Off for so many days! But you had so much food to enjoy!!! So nice, no need to cook and the food kept coming. Hehehehehe!!!!!

  4. Very lau juak, our family is small so we don’t usually cook a lot too. Just eat out… usually at malls and established chain restaurants.

    Own homecooked is always nicer…especially with folks coming all the way home just for mama’s cooking. Malls and restaurants, can have anytime anywhere, even those a whole lot nicer.

    We are not all that traditional though – stayed with an old couple in Singapore in 1973 – the old lady would cook EVERYTHING but the children did not come home much, maybe just once and ate a bit…so she would ask me to eat…every meal, so so so much food when on normal days, the two would have such simple meals. Quite a waste actually but I guess that was the tradition old folks would observe faithfully at the time.

  5. That is a very luxurious lunch for me, especially the pineapple prawns. Your wife is such a good cook.

    She is, no holds barred. No scrimping on the ingredients, no shortcuts, nothing – not like me! That is why you would not find me cooking for special occasions – good enough for own consumnption only. 😀

  6. Tell me is that ngor hiang similar or the same as the Filipino kikiam? http://www.angsarap.net/2013/04/05/kikiam/
    And those prawns looks so huge, I know its expensive there but here a size like those would cost you an arm and a leg

    Yes, I think they are the one and the same thing. Over in the peninsula, they call it lor bak.

    These prawns are expensive here too, RM50-60 a kg but one can get more than 10, this size. The giant ones, RM75 or above, you may get less than 10 and the meat may be harder, not as nice plus the head is very big so it is not really a good deal – just huge and impressive.

  7. Speedy recovery to your mom, Arthur… one day we all grow old too and what we would look forward is seeing our kids no matter how near or far they may be…
    Your homecooked food indeed looks so sedap, they taste so much better than those in restaurants at this festive moment…

    Yes, sad that many can fly here, fly there, go on a holiday abroad but they can’t go home to see their lonely old folks. No need to be around Chinese New Year, can plan ahead, check the long weekends.

    I most certainly would agree. Nothing beats home-cooked especially round this time when all of them are doing set orders, cooking in bulk for people to take home…and having to eat the same things reheated over and over again sure does not appeal to me.

  8. Your niece takes nice food pics too – the photography skills must run in the family! 😉

    She’s got the new Huawei P9 or whatever. Somehow I thought she took nicer pics in the past with her iphone, maybe still getting used to it.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

