It’s true…

…what my missus said that the fried kway teow/flat rice noodles from the Muslim stall here

Choon Seng fried kway teow, Muslim stall

…was very nice. I loved it – very flavourful and very spicy too, anytime nicer than those at the Chinese stalls where what you will get usually is nothing more than the noodles fried with garlic and soy sauce plus bits of some green vegetable and/or taugeh (bean sprouts) and egg and lots of msg…like what my missus had once from the stall at the back (RM3.50)…

Choon Seng char kway teow, Chinese stall
*Archive photo*

…but there was a bit of meat in this one.

If I am not mistaken the ladies are actually Melanaus…and they have been around at this shop for as long as I can remember. I had the special (RM5.00)…

Fried chicken wing

…that day though personally, I thought it was not really worth it, an extra RM1.50 for one fried chicken wing, not anything to shout about. The biasa (ordinary) is only RM3.50 and you get one telur mata kerbau, literally translated as buffalo eye egg, with it. At the end of the day, it is the taste of the kway teow that makes it stand out over most of the rest that I’ve had around town.

I also ordered their murtabak special (RM4.50)…

Choon Seng murtabak special

…to try and it turned out to be roti canai on the outside, a layer of egg and some bits of pulled and minced chicken inside. I did not think it was all that special – I would much sooner go for their roti telur (RM2.00)…

Choon Seng roti telur
*Archive photo*

…at less than half the price. I enjoy that a lot more, I think.

Judging from the crowd at the place, it is pretty obvious that the shop is doing very well…and yes, I certainly would want to drop by again sometime.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

6 thoughts on “It’s true…”

  1. All the food looks fab. Another winner from a Malay eatery.

    They’re Melanaus actually, the old ladies, Melanau Muslims. I heard them conversing in the language.

  2. Not worth to add extra RM1.50 for the wing as there isn’t much meat in the wing. Good enough to have just one fried egg & lots of greens for me.

    It’s cheap though, just that I do not see anything special in one fried chicken wing and the meat in the drummet is like breast meat. I think they are going for at least RM2.00 each now elsewhere.

  3. I love eggs…and, as you know, I love chicken, too! Your photos are lovely and are making me hungry. 🙂

    You would enjoy this, I’m sure but the regular, not our extra spicy version – the way we like it.

  4. If very spicy then I cannot take it. If I ask for less spicy, do you think it will still taste as nice?

    No, you have the option. Also very flavourful unlike at the Chinese stalls, all soy sauce and msg, nothing much else. It’s just that my missus likes it hot and asked for extra spicy so extra spicy it was. We love it that way!

  5. I agree that the extra money paid for a chicken wing is not worth it. Isn’t it great that the specials are not so special? That way, we spend less and be contented with the regular 🙂

    I suppose there are people who love fried chicken, not me so I would much sooner go without it and pay RM1.50 less. If it had been curry or masak hitam like what they will give at some places, I would not mind.

    They have nasi campur here so next time, maybe I can ask for one of the dishes instead of the fried chicken wing – I love their rendang hati (lembu), had that once – so very nice. The ladies are very nice and friendly – I am very sure they would not mind.

  6. I’ve wondered why they started calling it telur mata kerbau – it could have been telur mata lembu, telur mata kuda or even telur mata ayam 😀

    It’s bull’s eye in English, right? The sunny side up. But kerbau is buffalo. It is called lembu or sapi as well, I think…cow. There’s no specific word translation for bull, I guess.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

