Forever as one…

Last week, right before the year drew to a close, I was invited to another wedding…

Wedding bells

…my ex-student, Ryan’s, now a doctor in his own right, to his colleague in that same field, Crystal. He wasn’t actually my ex-student – he was in another school but I was conducting free Literature lessons at the time for any student in the town who would be interested in taking up that extra subject, in my effort to keep it alive and he joined the class for a while but eventually, decided not to go on with it. In the meantime, we’ve kept in touch and when he was studying abroad, everytime he came home on holiday, we would get together like here or here, for instance, and also after he had graduated and started working.

Somehow this photograph…

Ryan & Crystal

…projected onto the screen in the church reminded me of Rhett Butler & Scarlett O’Hara. You probably would be familiar with those two romantic icons of the silver screen…if you are as old as I am. LOL!!!

There he was…

Ryan

…the tall and handsome young man waiting for his bride to walk down the aisle…and after their exchange of vows and rings…

Rings

…and a kiss for luck…

Kiss

…they were pronounced man and wife.

The wedding reception…

Wedding reception

…was held at this restaurant in town…

Restaurant
*Archive photo*

…and yes, the place was very nicely done…

Reception desk

…including the stage with its backdrop and the main table…

Stage and main table

…and for the door gifts for the guests, there were these lovely pairs of chopsticks…

Door gifts

 Food was very good but this awesome first dish alone…

Mixed platter

…was so substantial that after that, I was already full! LOL!!!

Of course, I did not take snapshots of all the dishes just this one…

Brocolli sea cucumber with abalone

– note the whole abalone on top and we also had one of those exclusive worth-its-weight-in-gold upriver fish, steamed…and there was also this one…

Sotong balls and whatever

– I loved those sotong balls, could bite into the whole bits of squid in it, very very nice…and we had my favourite or nee (yam paste) for dessert…

Yam & red bean dessert

There was, of course, the toast and the bride had difficulty opening her bottle but never mind, here came her knight in shining armour to the rescue…

Opening the bottle

…of his damsel in distress. Harder, Ryan, harder! LOL!!! It sure is good to have a man around, right? Hehehehehe!!!…

Pouring the drinks

To Ryan and Crystal, congratulations once again, thank you so much for the invitation and here’s wishing the two of you endless love, everlasting happiness and showers of Blessings in the years ahead. Cheers!!!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

9 thoughts on “Forever as one…”

  1. Congrats to the lovely couple! The 1st dish is really huge! Gone with the Wind is a classic so I guess young people would know it too. 😉

    Thank you.

    You reckon? Not here, of that I am pretty sure, not the present generation…and if there were to be a remake of the movie, chances are it will never be screened here. Les Miserables, for example, never made it to this little town – no market for the classics, just the slash and kill and the horror ones. Much would depend on the home background so there would be few and far between, if any – even before I retired, some 10 years ago…the students did not know who Jack and Jill were…and why Old Mother Hubbard went to the cupboard, nursery rhymes we grew up singing and reading and reciting.

  2. Congratulations to the beautiful couple! I think it is great that you have lots of contact with people and that you are so well loved. Your photos are lovely, thank you so much for sharing! Happy New Year to you, dear friend. 🙂

    Thanks. Yes, some do keep in touch, so very nice and sweet of them – not many, but there are some…and thanks for the compliments too.

    Happy 2017 to you as well.

  3. weddings are always nice to attend 🙂

    happy new year Arthur!

    Thanks, same to you and your loved ones. I love weddings too, all the good vibes, the love and joy in the air.

  4. Congrats to the newly-wed couple. Beautiful set up & nice door gifts. The dessert??..I thought it was lor mai kai.

    Thank you. Hmmmm…need to go and get your eyes checked now but now that you’ve mentioned it, there is no lor mai kai here in Sibu, or no good one, that’s for sure…and anyway, now, we will not be buying and eating that – there is soy sauce in it. 😦

  5. Congrats to the newly weds…

    I was scrolling and looking at all the pictures and looking out for you in the pictures, but can’t find any picture of you with the newly wed, sobssss…

    Thank you.

    No, I did not have one taken with them. What is so nice, looking at one big and fat and ugly, grumpy old man?

  6. Handsome and pretty! Congrats to the newly wed. Over here a neighbour had his wedding on 31st!!

    Nice spread of food too. Especially the sotong balls. I had it once, in Sibu if I am not mistaken.

    Thank you. I’ve another one around Chinese New Year. Yes, the sotong balls were really nothing like those rubbery ones sold at the supermarkets, I do not enjoy those at all.

  7. Another wedding! Splendid! Yes, I do remember Gone with the Wind and the “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn” LOL!

    Hahhhh!!! You must be as old as I am. Yes, frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn!!! Love that classic line! Clark Gable, every woman’s dream at the time! I like the sweeping theme from the movie too, Tara’s Theme. Epic! They sure don’t make movies like that anymore. 😦

  8. Congratulations to the lovely couple. That was one luxurious dinner you had. Abalones! 😮

    Thank you. Yes, it was pretty obvious it was definitely not cheap, extra special.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

