Go the distance…

That day, when I shared on Facebook the link to my post on the kampua mee place at Pandan Jaya, I did get a lot of responses from friends far and wide – those who have tried it before and they all gave it their nod of approval, one going as far as rating it a 9 out of 10!

I don’t know exactly where it is located but some said it is far from where they stay like my friend, Annie (who’s originally from Sibu, born and raised here), for instance. She commented that usually, she would have to drive all the way to another place that is very far away, this coffee shop in Puchong, to appease her craving for the noodles. Now, THAT is far…from where she stays. It so happened that another friend also mentioned this same one in his comment and shared a photograph of the stall…

Sibu Kampua Mee stall at Double D, Puchong

…and what he ate there…

Double D Puchong kampua mee, pian sip

He said that a lady and a girl from Sibu run the stall and he said the kampua mee is good, pretty authentic…and a few others also came and said that they have tried this one and gave their thumbs up. Good grief!!! Don’t those people do anything else other than going round all over to eat the kampua noodles?

In the meantime, Annie sent me the photographs of the kampua mee

Double D Puchong kampua mee

…and the pian sip

Double D Puchong pian sip

…that she had here…and if she too says it is good, I would take her word for it.

Well, if anyone is interested in dropping by to check this one out, here’s the address:
Restoran Double D
15, Jalan Puteri 2/5 (Bandar Puteri Puchong)
47100 Puchong Batu Dua Belas, Selangor

In the meantime, my blogger-friend, Sharon somewhere in Singapore has gone to try the kampua noodles in the island republic that I also blogged about recently. Do click this link and hop over to her blog to see her post on it – she did not actually say whether she liked it or not but I guess that photograph of her empty bowl says it all.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

8 thoughts on “Go the distance…”

  1. Thank you! I am more familiar with puteri puchong than pandan jaya so if I am in that area I will definitely try the kampua mee.

    I haven’t any clue as to where they are, but I do know Brickfields very well. Was in Lembah Pantai for a year, 1986 – the days of the mini buses, 50 sen anywhere you wanna go.

  2. Does it look like kampua mee? The sliced char siu is so thick & I think the real authentic kampua has very thinly sliced of meat & somebody once say if the fan is switch on at high speed, it will be blown off, hahaha…but the taste is still in the mouth.

    Not anymore! The young ones these days do not have the skill to slice meat so thinly – I know one in my house. Hehehehehehe!!! Plus the knives these days are not so sharp, they do not sharpen like those before…until the knife was so thin and curved like a crescent. Those were the days. People and things are not the same anymore.

  3. I’ve never had actual pian sip – must remember to check if the local kampua shops have that the next time I visit.

    Similar to wantons but not exactly the same.

  4. So far, I have eaten kolo mee aka sarawak noodles in JB…. my girl loves it.. so now Singapore also has Kampua already… hope Ipoh also will have at least one stall selling kampua noodles too..

    There may be one there just that nobody has been talking about it…like how we have Ipoh chee cheong fun here?

  5. I loves the noodles but the pian sip skin is a bit thick, only that i have yet to try the kampua noodle in Sibu , so can’t really tell the difference…

    Hop over, direct flight from Senai, Johore. Do not come around Chinese New Year though – I hear the air fare is over RM1,700 ONE way!!! Absolutely ridiculous!!! Everyone should boycott – refuse to fly!!!

  6. Ooo Puchong is a just a fifteen min drive from my place, so I could go here 🙂 let us know if you find any in sri petaling … that’s where I live!

    Sri Petaling? All the nice food there? Who would want to go out of the way for kampua then? 😀

  7. Ah! Kampua mee is more available over here than I thought. Puchong is not too far for me, so I may pay a visit one day soon.

    Ok, go and try and blog about it. See how you find it.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

