The garden…

These came from my garden…

Ladies fingers
*Archive photo*

– the ladies’ fingers that I planted sometime ago and so far, the labour is great but the harvest are few and I would only have enough to boil and eat them with sambal (pounded dip)…

Ladies fingers, ulam
*Archive photo*

However, the other day, I managed to collect enough to fry and these were the ingredients that I pounded…

Ingredients for pounding

…- a shallot, three cloves of garlic, a bit of ginger, kunyit (turmeric) and lengkuas (galangal) and of course, a chili.

Ah yes, I did add some belacan (dried prawn paste)…

Belacan

…too, toasted lightly on a non-stick pan.

I soaked a handful of hay bee/udang kering (dried prawns) in water to soften and I pounded those too…

Ingredients, pounded

…and I did get a stalk of serai (lemon grass) from my garden, bruised at the end, as well for the added fragrance and taste.

I sliced the ladies’ fingers thinly…

Ladies fingers, sliced

…and yes, it did not look like much but I had quite a lot of the udang kering – the sambal would go great with rice, with or without anything else. I was wishing the whole time that there was something in the fridge that I could add to it, like baby corn or four-angle beans perhaps, but unfortunately, I could not find anything that would be compatible.

Ok, time to start cooking…so I heated up the oil in the wok and added the pounded ingredients and once, that had turned brown and fragrant enough, I put in the serai, followed by the udang kering. It took quite a while as I only used a little bit of oil but at the price of cooking oil these days, one will have to make do with a lot less and anyway, I guess that is, in fact, a healthy thing to do. Once the sambal was done, I pushed it aside and broke an egg into the wok and scrambled it. I was thinking that this would help make sure that there would be enough to go round. Lastly, I added the ladies’ fingers…and a bit of water sparingly to cook it. Ah yes!!! I did add a teeny weeny bit of soy sauce – my missus said it would make the vegetable less sticky or gooey but don’t add too much, just a little bit will do…or it would be too dark and the end product may not look as nice.

Once it was done, I dished it out and served…

My ladies' fingers, fried with sambal

Well, it did look kind of nice, don’t you think? I know self-praise in no praise but I would say it tasted great and there was more than enough for the three of us (along with a fish, ikan bawal hitam/black pomfret that I fried) for dinner that evening.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

15 thoughts on “The garden…”

  1. I love this!! Fragrant, appetizing and great with rice. Fried pomfret. Just had it last night.

    Had a big one! I wish my missus would go to a fishmonger who would clean it first though – had to do it all by myself. Tsk! Tsk!

  2. Bravo! More self-harvest plants in the future I guess?

    None, just ladies’ fingers, reaping the harvest of what I sowed. So much work, not about to venture into any others.

  3. A nice plate of ladies fingers. I fried my ladies finger with sambal only like the way you did it but never add any egg, soy sauce or water. I did sprinkle a bit of salt to the hot oil to prevent it sticky. If freshly pluck from the garden, I prefer it steamed & eat with sambal/cincaluk.

    Yes, I like it best steamed and eaten as an ulam too. Otherwise, I would like it this way – with sambal hay bee.

    No water, I pushed the sambal and egg aside, sprinkled drops on veg and let it sizzle away, would cook faster…and then mixed everything together. Soy sauce is my missus’ “trick”, just a couple of drops too…and yes, it was not all sticky. Seemed to work! Somebody said add drops of white vinegar. Add salt to the oil? There was hardly any oil – I’m learning to do with a lot less, no salt and no msg too.

  4. is it easy to plant ladies fingers? Hmm, i love it when its cooked with sambal .. need to learn how to grow it too.

    So very easy! I bought a packet of 10 seeds. Just poke a hole in the ground, put a seed in it…and cover and wait. Will appear very fast…and now I have so many plants, enough to harvest and eat and enjoy. So far so good, no pests so no pesticide needed, fingers crossed.

  5. I stay pigeon hole, no garden, if not, can try to plant it too…

    Can plant in pots. The people at the shop planted in pots and theirs had the ladies’ fingers too…and they had brinjal too This variety, the plant is small, not like the ones at my girl’s school in the jungle.

  6. Wow, your dish looks really good! That’s what I like, loads of the sambal to eat with rice.

    Can’t go wrong with sambal udang kering, eh? VERY expensive now, our straight Rajang ones, RM120 a kg. The small curled up ones aren’t so nice.

  7. It certainly looks great! Never thought of adding an egg to it, next time I must try putting an egg inside too… makes your harvest a larger portion now…! hahahaa..

    Same thing when I fry French beans with sambal…or paku. I would add an egg sometimes but not necessarily to make sure there is enough to go round – just for the added taste and extra ingredient to enjoy. I like it this way.

  8. This is a good stuff. I would not bother to pound the sambal belacan but just throw in some garlic.hahha. So nice you did it yourself. Looks so delicious!

    Never did it that way, just belacan and garlic? Should be nice too, can’t go wrong with belacan.

  9. Your homegrown okra looks so perfect! I hope I can grow them too, we use this vegetable a lot

    It was so easy, all from a packet of seeds that I bought. I was pleasantly surprised myself and very pleased. 😉

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

