Killing time…

The next day, Sunday, after the service in church, we picked up my cousins at the hotel but their flight was around 6 in the evening so we had a lot of time to kill.

I took them here for the old lady’s celebrated kampua noodles

Kampua mee

…and yes, there was a general consensus that it was much nicer than what they had here – somebody took them there for that soon after they had landed in Sibu…and yes, her very thick and rich meat ball soup…

Meat ball soup

…won their praises. They certainly enjoyed that!

There is a new Malay stall at that coffee shop now, right in front…

Diandianlai Cafe Malay stall

…and my missus had their nasi lemak special with chicken curry (RM5.00)…

Diandianlai Cafe nasi lemak special

…while my girl had their Sarawak laksa (RM4.00)…

Diandainlai Cafe Sarawak laksa

…which they said they did enjoy and were quite good…and yes, THIS is how we fry eggs…

Diandianlai Cafe fried egg

– that’s the way I like it!

After that, we drove here and there for this and that and yes, we did drop by here for the coffee

Choon Seng coffee
*Archive photo*

…and yes, they agreed that the coffee is nice again and is worth dropping by for when in town.

Before I dropped them off at the Sibu Airport, I took them a little further up the road to the Sibu Jaya township. They were impressed by how nice it looks now. We dropped by the ethnic section of the market there and I did manage to buy a kilo of buah emplam (more on that in tomorrow’s post), half a kilo of groundnuts – my girl loves those, boiled till soft with a little bit of salt added…and four not very big ikan buris for RM20.00. I cooked one in the oven this way…

Buris panggang daun kesum
*Archive photo*

– my girl loves it a lot and the rest, following our traditional masak kunyit recipe

Ikan buris masak kunyit

Yes, they were good – both ways!

After that brief but fruitful visit to the market, I dropped them off at the airport for their flight to Kuching. Bye bye, cousins – it was real lovely having you all here. I most certainly had a great time, so do come again!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

12 thoughts on “Killing time…”

  1. From the photos, the fish cooked using the traditional masak kunyit recipe looks more delicious. Hope your cousins will visit you again soon or you can go and visit them.

    Both good, one had the sweetness of the fish enhanced by the daun kesum and the other had the fragrance of kunyit and the sour taste of the asam keping. My girl liked the first as the taste of the fish was not overshadowed by the kunyit.

    No worries, they’ll come again, love the good stuff here.

  2. That Kampua must be good with the pork belly.

    Ikan buris. I like it grilled more but any style would do for me.

    You know ikan buris too? So lemak, the flesh so smooth…so sweet, so very nice! Not cheap these days but then again, nothing is cheap…anymore. 😦

  3. The meat balls looks great & that’s the way I like my the fried egg to be. Was taken by surprise when I saw sliced chillies in the laksa. Usually only mee jawa have those.

    Malay stall, I guess that is a common practice of theirs.

  4. There used to be a stall at Taman Jurong Food Centre selling Sarawak Laksa, and i like their Sarawak Laksa, but sad to said, they ends their business end Oct, sobssssss….

    I sure would love the taste any Sarawak laksa there, to see if it is actually the same or not. Even here, lots around – not quite like the real thing, most of them and some are not even nice.

  5. I love the way you cooked the fish in the oven. I should make full use of my oven too..hahah

    No cooking oil required – good thing to do now that the oil has gone up in price by over 50%! Tsk! Tsk! No msg too!

  6. Ah yes, that egg with frilly crispy edges, only with a good old wok!

    …and a lot of oil and with the current price for cooking oil, I’d opt for hadrboiled – that should be the standard condiment for nasi lemak, not fried.

  7. Sibu is a nice place for food, that is for sure!! Your cousins will surely come again very soon… LOL…

    I am very sure of that, they are always looking out for long weekends and cheap flights.

  8. I don’t think I’ve had ikan Buris before … I really like the presentation for your second recipe, the kunyit preparation – very elegant! Like a chef’s masterwork!

    It’s a river fish, oily – all the Omega 3 and very very nice. Plenty around this part of Sarawak long ago, dwindling…not that easy to get anymore these days. Yikes!!! I was trying to think of how I could hide its ugly face. LOL!!!

  9. I like the look of the first photo, the kampua noodles. It reminds me that I haven’t had one for quite some time.

    Costs a bomb over there, once in a long while will be fine.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

