Like no other…

Last Saturday, we dropped by here…

Payung Cafe table decor

…again for lunch…

Payung Cafe floral decor

…as we did not get to enjoy their green chicken curry (RM16,with rice)…

Payung Cafe green chicken curry

…on our previous visit and I wanted to take my girl there for that before she went back to her school in the jungle the following day.

Of course we had to have other things to go with it so I ordered the Payung rojak, small (RM10.00)…

Payung Cafe Payung rojak

…and the ikan bilis special  (RM8.00)…

Payung Cafe ikan bilis special

– note how they have had all the heads and insides removed unlike some places here…and also the mushroom roll (RM8.00)…

Payung Cafe mushroom roll 1

…and here’s a glimpse of what it looks like inside…

Payung Cafe mushroom roll, inside

…in case you’re wondering.

It so happened that the boss, Peter, celebrated his birthday the day before, September 16th – Malaysia Day…and he treated us to a slice of his birthday cake…

Secret Recipe - Chocolate Indulgence

I guess most everyone would be able to tell what cake that was – the Chocolate Indulgence from Secret Recipe which was nice, very sweet…and would come nowhere near the cakes here made by Marcus who, as you can see, has an eye for detail…

Marcus' cake - icing 1

…and is really good with his hands in the decoration of his cakes…

Marcus' cake - icing 2

…and this blueberry one that we got for my girl…

Blueberry cake from Marcus

…who celebrated her birthday the following day, 17th September (and hence our little celebration, the simple lunch that afternoon – she was going for a wedding dinner that evening, her good friend’s brother got married that same day), is no exception – of course, it was very very nice, like no other, true and true.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

18 thoughts on “Like no other…”

  1. For a small portion, the Payung rojak appeared to be generous So was the ikan bilis special. What was in the latter?

    Who is Marcus? His cake decorations were well executed. Pity we do not have a close up picture of the sliced cake.

    Looks like I always take snapshots of his cakes on the outside…but yes, I did have one of his black forest here:
    https://suituapui.wordpress.com/2013/12/10/another-day-another-year/
    Our favourite is his plain butter cake:
    https://suituapui.wordpress.com/2010/12/04/beautiful-day/
    I only know of one other person who made cakes like his – in Kuching, somebody we used to call Miss Ting. Dunno where she is now, dunno if she is still making.

    Dunno what is special but everyone says that they try to cook their own at home, not so nice. Yet to try it myself.

  2. Wow ikan bilis special is special indeed.

    I actually like Secret Recipe’s cake as they are easily available. Always my last minute option if I have a celebration to attend and am tasked with the cake 😂

    SR is ok, but can’t expect much from a franchise cake shop – nowhere near what is made with so much love and passion…and they do not come cheap. This lovely blueberry cake was only RM44, try getting one below RM80 at SR.

  3. Happy belated birthday to Melissa! The food at Payung looks delicious as usual. Long time I didn’t buy one whole cake from SR. I like to eat blueberry cake. Melissa’s cake looks so pretty.

    Thanks. Yes, the best anywhere – he’s over 50 now, been at it for a long long time, even made my wedding cake. If he retires, there will not be anymore – none like his around. If only he would take in an apprentice, then there would be somebody to carry on.

  4. Happy belated birthday to Melissa.

    A nice celebration in your family’s facourite place. Everything was delicious.

    Thank you. Yes, it was a nice quiet celebration, just us. My girl’s not keen on big elaborate parties.

  5. One look at the 1 & 2nd pix, I know exactly where is this place. The rojak & mushroom roll gives me more clue. I am right, hahaha….

    Everything here looks great. **Happy Belated Birthday to Melissa**.

    Thank you. You know the place so well now. Too bad you never hop over to try, sure you would want to come back for more. 😉

  6. Quick, bring Melissa to the muscular guy so you can attend her wedding dinner soon LOL!

    So easy kah? You think I can bring her to Penang or not? 😉

  7. The first two shots of the flower display are beautiful. Especially the second one, which is so colourful.

    The second one is their centrepiece. That day, it was a little simple. Sometimes, they have really impressive arrangements.

  8. Your friend Marcus is incredibly talented! Look at those piped roses, gorgeous! So I see that Melissa is also a September baby 🙂

    She is.

    Marcus has been in the business for many many years now, made my wedding cake. Not my friend, a relative actually – he’s my uncle, my father’s cousin.

  9. ikan bilis special I wonder what this is? Wow I LOVE that birthday cake…:)

    It’s dried anchovies, fried till golden brown and crispy with sliced Bombay onions and dunno what else. With a squeeze of the calamansi lime, it tastes really good.

    Yes, the cake sure does impress, doesn’t it?

    1. And I truly love those gorgeous flowers too

      Yes, I love how they use those simple every day flowers for their decor instead those somewhat pretentious expensive (imported) ones at the florists. This way, it is a lot more natural, very much nicer.

  10. First of all, Happy Sweet Birthday to Melissa! Secondly, the food in Payung is always making me drool.. the rojak sauce looks fantastic and the popiah.. hmm… something really different from over here… Best in Sibu? 🙂

    Thanks for the greeting. Well, they won an award…but I do have a few other places that I do like a lot! Variety is the spice of life or what the Chinese say, can’t be eating fish all the time, sometimes prawns will be good.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

