On Sunday…

…after the morning service in the church, I was thinking of having something light as I did not have anything for breakfast prior to leaving the house that morning. I was thinking of the roti canai here but the stall was closed probably because it was Hari Raya Haji the very next day and Janggut’s stall was not open either – well, I did notice that his was always closed on Sundays.

In the end, we adjourned here

Sri Pelita

…as it is located a couple of minutes’ walk away. That nice and friendly Indian guy looks like he has put on a bit of weight and is much more handsome now. Hmmm…Sibu sure is a great place to live, eh? LOL!!!

My missus had their mee mamak (RM3.50)…

Sri Pelita mee mamak

…which was way nicer than what she had here and so much cheaper too, a difference of RM2.00!!! Even if you have to fork out the parking fee of 40 sen for half an hour around here, it will not come up to that much.

My girl did not want to eat anything as she wanted to save her tummy space for my mum’s birthday lunch at my parents’ house later but when we got there, she saw that they had dosai or tosai and she could not resist ordering one (RM2.20)…

Sri Pelita tosai

It came with this special dip…

Sri Pelita tosai dip

…and yes, she liked it a lot and sure enjoyed herself. We do not get this a lot here, maybe just at one other place, if I am not wrong.

She also helped herself to the very nice curry dips…

Sri Pelita curry dips

…that I got for my orders.

I was a little slow in walking from that other shop and by the time I got there, she and the mum had already placed their orders and I was not aware that she had asked for the dosai. That was why I requested for one roti canai (RM1.20) and one roti telur (RM2.00)…

Sri Pelita roti canai & roti telur

…and I had to finish both all by myself. Personally, I thought the roti canai was nicer – more fragrant, crispier and I enjoyed it a lot more than the other one with egg.

We had not been here for quite a while now, no particular reason, but looking at how we enjoyed our little breakfast, we certainly would be back again…soon.

FOOTNOTE:
It’s the 16th of September, the actual day in 1963 when all the states in the mainland peninsula, then-called Malaya, and Sarawak and Sabah across the South China Sea on the island of Borneo came together to form the Federation of Malaysia along with Singapore which left on August, 9th 1965.

Happy Malaysia Day!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

13 thoughts on “On Sunday…”

  1. The mee mamak looks good but a tad greasy. Do you normally get one dip with the dosai? Over here, we get a few dips; the ubiquitous yoghurt, sometimes sweet mango chutney or coconut chutney etc. I like the roti canai and its not greasy (We can only get frozen ones. The dough is thick and it sits in your belly). Don’t they do string hoppers? Our string hoppers are available frozen and dried. One can get white or red ones (it has a nutty taste) and frozen grated coconut without the brown bits from Indian/Sri Lankan shops.

    One dip only here, it seems – not sure about that one other place – only available from 4 p.m. so I never bother to go and check it out. In the morning, they only have roti canai. There was one other place, local owners, Indian chefs – very very nice and we went there often for their paper thin dosai – three types of dips: https://suituapui.wordpress.com/2008/06/16/here-there-and-everywhere/
    I heard the chefs were not happy with the way they were treated by the owners and left – some other people running the place now, no more Indian delights.

    We have putu mayam here:
    https://suituapui.wordpress.com/2010/10/17/where-did-the-good-times-go/
    …but they’re from the Malay kueh stalls.
    We do not have many Indians here – there are more in Kuching. That is why we only have two Indian coffee shops, West Malaysian Indians, with a little bit of this and that and one Indian-Indonesian restaurant…so when in Sibu, one can’t expect to find the whole works, not much really.

    In fact, I am quite ignorant of a lot that is in Indian cuisine – I was so ignorant once that I asked on a radio show what they call that thing with the bihun, nice local delight with grated coconut and sugar on top, and the West Malaysian deejays had a good laugh before telling me it was not bihun! *face palm* Well, I guess I am a little wiser now but still, I had to google to see what string hoppers are – idiyappam, not sure if it is anything like our putu mayam that is all white – never seen any red ones – white with grated coconut on top and a sprinking of brown sugar…or here, they pre-mix the coconut and the sugar, you just put on top, roll and eat.

    1. Our string hoppers are akin to the ones in Sibu but rather small, about the size of a child’s palm. I think the Sri Lankans have it with curry or spicy sambal. I have mine with sugar and grated coconut, something familar from bygone days.

      I have never had a bad dosai here. The dosai are paper thin and are stuffed with spiced potatoes. In my view, the dips and sambals are condiments that enhanced the eating experience. The tamarind sambal and the hot lime pickle, when well made, are something to look forward to.
      Sadly, we don’t have appam here. Do you have appam in Sibu?

      Yes, Sibu is a small town. But from what I have seen on your blog, it’s a pearl. So are other smaller towns with its culinary delights, handicrafts etc awaiting to be discovered.

      No appam here but I did have it once long ago, can’t remember where now – same fermented taste like dosai…and I did not have the acquired taste at the time so I did not really like it. So the way you eat those string hoppers is exactly like how we eat putu mayam here and no, ours are not much bigger either, like a kid’s hand too unlike the ones I used to enjoy in my young days.

  2. My preference order: tosai, roti telur, roti canai and mee mmk. I eat them at least once a week.

    Happy Malaysia Day to you and your family! Any plans?

    Not really fond of roti telur as it comes across to me like an omelette, except for one here where the lady makes it very thin and crispy, very nice.
    No plans, just making the most of the remaining days of the school holidays before sending my girl back to her school in the jungle on Sunday.
    😦

    1. Roti telur has more dough and much less egg than an omelette so the texture to me is never like an omelette though I like to eat both equally. Roti telur is more like a roti canai and egg sandwich. πŸ˜€

      To each his own.

  3. Happy Malaysia Day!!!

    Usually if i eat Roti Prata, i will have one plain and one with egg, like what you had…

    That would be what we call roti canai here, I think – this one is more like naan…but they do not cook it in the traditional stone oven and call it prata.

    1. Yes, I have some Malaysian friends here, and they call it roti canai. In Singapore we call it roti prata. Took me a long time to get used to calling it canai.

      I never had roti canai here before, not something we can get here at the time. I first started eating it in 1973 in Singapore and of course, I called it roti prata then. Canai came into my life much later and now it is everywhere all over town.

  4. Am in sibu for about 2 yrs now…they serve one of the best thosai…should try their egg thosai with mutton curry or chicken kurma…really awesome.

    Thanks for dropping by and for the tip off. Coming from you, bet that must be really good. Gotta try that soon.

  5. ah, it has been a while since I went to morning church services.

    the roti canai does look good, classic. I am always on the hunt for crispy ones, as I feel those tastes the best.

    Thy sins are forgiven. Go, and sin no more. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Yes, they did it really well, very nice.

  6. Ooo I wonder what’s the special dip that came with the dosai. At first glance, it looked like a ketchup, but at second glance, the colour does look different – and ketchup wouldn’t go with dosai! πŸ˜‰

    At first I thought it was the nasi lemak sambal but no, it was something else, dunno what. Tasted great with the tosai.

  7. Mee mamak for me. Though am not much into Indian food but once in a while I will have roti canai or roti telur.

    Happy Malaysia Day!!!!

    My girl is more into tosai with its unique fermented taste. I quite like it too but I think I would prefer the paper thin version. I guess you are not all that adventurous in your eating – we are willing to try anything! πŸ˜€

  8. The roti canai looked good. Mee mamak. It has been a while since I had one. We had Malay food this morning. Will blog on it soon

    Looking forward to that.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

