A little bit different…

That day, my girl wanted to drop by here again for lunch and she wanted the exact same things that we had the last time around. Sighhhh!!! I don’t mind actually as we enjoyed the food that we had then but if we keep going for the same things, I would not have anything new to blog about.

I have had the pretty goodย kueh chap…

Chopsticks kueh chap
*Archive photo*

…from this stall…

Chopticks kueh chap stall

…at that same shop before but I never noticed that they had this…

Mixed kueh chap platter

– a mixed platter of the meat, intestines, egg, tofu puffs and so on, the chap without the kuehย (RM8.00, serving for two). I did not think it was all that exceptional though – minus the soup, it was just so-so but the very nice sambal dip saved the day and at least, I could enjoy the sauce with my rice as we did not order anything with any kind of gravy.

We had the kiam sor hu phee, the salty crusty/crispy fish fillet…

Chopsticks kiam sor hu phee

…again which was a little bit different from the last time. It tasted nicer, just that the batter was a tad too crusty or hard for my old gums – my girl and the mum did not complain so I guess the problem was with me. I noticed that my girl enjoyed the fried onions very much – that would be something one would usually find in burgers and stuff, right?

Instead of the cangkuk manis fried with egg that we had the last time, I ordered the midin (wild jungle fern)…

Chopsticks fried midin

They do not have the belacan (dried prawn paste) version here and I did not want it with our traditional Foochow red wine so I asked for it ching chao, fried plain with garlic and yes, it was very nice.

We had the same soup again, the chao chai (preserved vegetables) with prawns and I don’t know why each of the crustaceans’ heads had the much coveted kor, the thick and very tasty orange stuff…

Lovely kor in the prawn's head

…inside whereas the ones that I buy from the market never seem to have much of it. Tsk! Tsk!

Yes, the soup…

Chopsticks chao chai prawn soup

…was good and we sure enjoyed our lunch again this time around.

All in all, I paid RM38.60, RM3.60 for 3 plates of rice so it was only RM35.00 for the food alone and we had prawns! I must say that was very reasonable, very cheap. Personally, I would prefer eating such things for dinner though but I don’t think this place is open at night.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

19 thoughts on “A little bit different…”

  1. I prefer to have the above food for lunch Very reasonable price indeed. I think the prawns you bought may be males so that is why no roe (eggs). If I were Melissa, I would also want to eat at this place too, hehehe because the food is so tasty.

    Gee!!! I wonder if there is a way to tell whether they’re male or female…and I get to buy the males all the time. Maybe they have a special arrangement with the sellers – they will reserve all the females for them and hence theirs will always have the nice orange stuff in the heads.

    I do not think it is the roe or the eggs – those you will find in between the legs, nothing great whether there are any or not, not like this rich and tasty orange thing…but they say all the cholesterol is there, the body is actually cholesterol-free. Sighhhh!!!! All the good stuff is always not good for us. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. I prefer to have the above food for lunch Very reasonable price indeed. I think the prawns you bought may be males so that is why no roe (eggs). If I were Melissa, I would also want to eat at this place too, hehehe because the food is so tasty.

    Oopsss!!! Duplicate comment. Never mind, the more the merrier. Hehehehehe!!!

  3. Yes, I prefer these kind of meals for dinner too. The bill is very cheap. No way we can get something like that here. Seriously, no way.

    Ahhhh!!!! You’re like me then. Actually, we usually skip lunch, have brunch instead…or a heavy breakfast…and a good, not too heavy dinner – can’t eat a lot to for dinner, can’t sleep and will have nightmares.

    Yes, I am glad there are still some reasonably-priced, more affordable places around here or else I would not be able to go round and enjoy the food anymore, not with my miserable pension. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

  4. It is something like how the Kuching pork leg rice is. A plate of all the mix stuff, another plate of rice, a bowl of curry, another bowl of black soup, and a saucer of spicy dipping or two (belacan).

    Your chao chai soup is good and appetizing. Hmm. Now I know what for breakfast later with my mum. Haha.

    Chao chai hung ngang, eh? Must be a woman’s thing – my girl and the mum love it, the more sour the better. I’m just ok with it. ๐Ÿ˜€

    I would love that braised meat platter with porridge, nice!

  5. I love boiled eggs! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Those would be hardboiled, cooked in the broth together with the stewed/braised meat and hence, the brown colour on the outside.

  6. Price is cheap, I won’t mind eating here again and again.. Never mind about not having anything to blog, you can always blog about your fried rice and Bovril noodles, I never get bored of them too ๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh no!!! I’ve been cooking and eating those but I never blog about them anymore. I am sure everybody else would be so bored by the mere sight of those – everyone in the house is already bored with them, will eat…for the sake of eating something for breakfast, no excitement anymore. ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. Koay Chiap? No thank you.

    Any in Penang? Don’t recall seeing it. We did not have it here before either, not a Foochow thing. Used to eat it in Kuching – probably that’s Hakka, Hokkien or Teochew.

  8. If i eat kueh chap, i will tell me, i do not want ็Œช็šฎ and ไธ‰่พฐ่‚‰…

    I do not read Mandarin but my guess is the one with the 3 or ไธ‰ would be the three-layer pork or sa chan bak, what people call pork belly.

    1. I will tell them…

      Yes, not tell you yourself, like some sort of self-discipline. Hehehehe!!!!

  9. I love all the delicious food & of course, the price too…..yu pi yu chi yu tua lap ni…hahaha

    Indeed. Most places, I would have to fork out over RM50 these days, some places even more. Best to go to such cheaper places, old retiree – mesti jimat sikit…and the best thing is the food served here is nice.

  10. give me those crunchy deep fried stuff.. :D.. not a fan of mushy soupy dishes. ๐Ÿ˜›

    You’re obviously not a Foochow. My father is a true blue Foochow, he MUST have soup every meal…and rice. ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. Very nice kway chap. I fancy the dry one though, even if you said it’s not as good.

    It would be nice if it had been better braised/stewed like when my missus cooks, she will simmer till it dries up so all the flavours and the thick sauce would stick to the meat but when sliced, the sauce has not quite gone into the meat, just a bit. I love it that way. This one is a little too mild for me – you can see that the sauce is rather watery, not all that flavouful.

  12. If the food is good, I tend to want the same thing too and then like you, I end up with no new material. Those fried onions are nice, I always love fried onions for the sweetness and great flavor.

    Yes, and people will simply accuse me of having a share in a certain restaurant and what not. Tsk! Tsk!

    I seldom eat the onions, maybe just those bits stuck to the fish or meat and I would just leave all the rest on the plate.

  13. The only kueh chap I can find around here is one that’s served at a Thai place, not terribly popular at all this dish. I need it!

    Oh? I wonder if it tastes the same – I would not think it is anything like the usual stuff in Thai cuisine, more Chinese…but then again, there are Thai Chinese too.

  14. Actually the food looks more suitable for lunchtime fare for me … Why do you feel it’s better for dinner, ya? ๐Ÿ™‚

    I usually have something lighter for lunch – noodles…or if rice, it would be chicken rice, char siew rice, nasi lemak or chap fan, all dumped in one plate. A heavy lunch makes me sleepy – would want to go and nap. Dinner, I would have rice and a few dishes to go with it like this.

  15. I bet you know already that I’m going to be eyeing off that wild jungle fern. Malaysia has so many nutritious greens – love them all.

    Yes, I love going to the tamu here, the ethnic jungle produce market. So many nice stuff, fresh and green and 100% organic.

  16. aiiyoh im so jealous food your end is so cheap.. or maybe you just know where to go ๐Ÿ˜‰ Anyway the soup looks fab for a rainy day.. and this kiam sor hu phee is now on my list as I have not tried it. Is the batter very MSG laden??

    One reason why I do not mind eating here is the dishes do not give me that lingering msg taste that I may get elsewhere. I hate that and any place like that, I will not go again or if I do, I would make it a point to tell them – no msg or less, when ordering. Actually, when you have nice ingredients like the prawns for instance, you do not need msg at all. Yes, this place is cheap, cheaper than many others and yes, we do have some expensive places here too – I would avoid those.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

