A little better…

If you’re thinking that I have not been cooking all that much these days, I must say that you are quite right. I don’t know if it is the same with other people but I do find that the older I get, the lazier I become.

However, I still cook something very often in the morning for breakfast especially when there is nothing much in the house to enjoy…and also when I find a lot of leftover rice in the fridge like this char siew (barbecued pork) fried rice that I dished out not too long ago.

Char siew fried rice

…with thinly-sliced long beans, in place of the usual frozen carrot, peas and sweet corn, and egg.

Then there was this mee pok

Mee pok kolo kampua mee style

kolo mee or kampua noodles style, tossed in oil that I had used to fry some thinly sliced shallots and garlic, light soy sauce and chopped spring onions plus a spoonful of my missus’ blended chili and garlic dip. Of course, minus the lard, there was that missing link but it was good enough for me and was a hearty, satisfying enough breakfast.

My missus had gone and bought 1 kg of the noodles and there it was, the whole bag of it sitting in the fridge so I took some to cook once…and I took some more to cook twice…

Bovril mee pok

…in my very nice tossed-with-Bovril style and there was at least a third left. Gee!!! 1 kg of the noodles sure go a very long way so one can imagine how many plates those at the stall can dish out with that and at around RM2.80 a plate, imagine how much they can make in a day!

I did try my hand at frying some kway teow (flat rice noodles) too…

Char kway teow 1

I loved the pad thai I had at Mary’s place

Flavours Thai Kitchen pad thai
*Archive photo*

…and I noticed that theirs was different from our local kway teow that is very thick, very white, not translucent and not so fine…

Sibu kway teow
*Archive photo*

…That was why I asked her where she got hers and she said those would be the packet ones, available at the shops and supermarkets here…but she did say that some die-hards here are not all that fond of this type and would ask for our own local variety.

I did try one once, one of those dried Vietnamese pho available in packets – I think it did not have a colourful wrapper and no, I did not like it. It came across like flat bihun, the same as the dried kway teow that I bought once…and my missus bought again as she did not remember we had tried it before. Yes, a cousin of mine in Kuching liked a very nice one once, instant pad thai with the flat rice noodles and all the ingredients inside but it was very expensive plus I thought it was a bit too heavy on the msg so after I had tried it, I never did go back for more.

I’ve seen one with a red-coloured wrapper that I have yet to buy and try but the one I had this time around was green in colour – I did not take a photograph of it though nor did I check the details on the packet. It wasn’t too bad, a little better than the one I tried before but still, it was not quite there, not really like the nice kway teow in the northern parts of the country that I love a lot – some told me that they would call it hor fun but I wouldn’t know for sure.

I managed to find some prawns in the freezer – my missus bought them quite a while ago and thankfully, they were still very nice, very succulent and sweet, just that they were not all that big so they were not expensive like the rest. There wasn’t any taugeh (bean sprouts) in the fridge but I had some green vegetables that I bought sometime back and there was a bit left so I just used those, only the stalks though…

Char kway teow 2

…as the green leaves were sort of withered and did not look all that fresh.

It tasted really good though the texture and everything of the kway teow wasn’t quite there, unfortunately. Perhaps I would try those in the red packets next time…and I must make sure that I remember to take a photograph of it. Old people have this tendency to be forgetful at times. Hehehehehe!!!!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

12 thoughts on “A little better…”

  1. Since you cooked all the food that you have shown above for breakfast, you are definitely not lazy! 🙂

    Either that or go hungry. Hardly cooked anything for lunch or dinner. We have something to eat outside later when out and about, no lunch and my missus will cook something for dinner in the evening, our regular routine these days.

  2. It’s funny, but I have always preferred rice over noodles, even as a little girl, and now that I am 59 this has not changed. Barbecued pork fried rice sounds delicious! 🙂

    The old folks here MUST have rice every day like my dad, for instance – that was why my dad got quite upset whenever he went overseas, no rice and any sides would not be done the way he liked it, so hard. That was why he would be delighted whenever he spotted a Chinese takeaway – fried rice, like heaven to him! On the other hand, it sure seems that the kids here prefer noodles, my girl for one. When she was small, she would grumble, “Rice again??? Why must we eat rice every day?” I’m fine with noodles…or rice.

  3. Love your breakfast. I seldom that adventurous when it comes to breakfast. Simple sandwich or American breakfast would do.

    Holiday is here. Can go food hunting with your girl. ^^

    Happy weekend.

    You too! Yes, looking forward to that. She just came back from Kuching yesterday – went for a course and she did have the kolo mee at Choon Hui, right next to the hotel – the Anthony Bourdain’s favourite Kuching laksa was sold out by around 11.00 a.m. but of course, she’s not like the dad – here, there and everywhere…even on a short trip. 😀 😀 😀

  4. I strongly agree with you on this…..as we aged we tend to get lazier cos I am one of them, hahaha!!!!…Like you, I cook less these days unless there are leftovers rice or anything not to be wasted. Mostly cook for dinner only. This does not only apply to cooking but household chores too. Sometimes,feeling no strength at all to do….SIGH!!!!….

    Same here, just don’t want to waste anything in the fridge, cook something using those for a nice breakfast. Luckily, I have my missus around, she’ll cook dinner…and she’ll see to most of the chores in the house but just the two of us in the house, can just close one eye. We’ll do a bit here and there when we feel like it…slowly, both retired so we have all the time in the world.

    I don’t mind cooking in the early morning when it is nice and cool, come afternoon, so hot – hard to enjoy cooking in that kind of condition.

  5. My favourite is the bovril one. Looks really good.

    Yes, it’s very nice. You can give it a try, good with those packet instant egg noodles too – I am sure they sell those there, easily available.

  6. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again (and again and again!) … Your cooking looks delicious! The char siu rice ………. !!!

    Thank you, thank you…and coming from you, that’s a HUGE compliment. *takes a bow* 😀 😀 😀

  7. All looks good above… you can really fry koay teow very well… If I do it, I might get them all crushed and in bits.. it has been many many years since I last fry koay teow, meehoon is easier cos they are not so sticky and messy. Not everyone can fry a good plate of koay teow without crashing them to bits.. hahahaa

    Maybe your kway teow there is so very fine, hard to fry. No problem with the ones here. I only have that problem with the Thai bihun, the finer version – all pecah. I don’t like the China ones, very smelly.

  8. I have not baked and cooked for so long. I wish to have some projects in the kitchen on this coming Hari Raya holiday. I believe you will have plenty.

    Not really! Usually when my girl is home, we will go out, round to all the places to enjoy the best in town to make up for the time she spends at her school in the jungle, so deprived. Wouldn’t want to spend our precious time slaving it out in the kitchen.

  9. Your fried rice and fried koay teow sure look delicious! I’m actually feeling hungry right now 😀

    Come, come! I’ll cook some for you! Hehehehehe!!!!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

