Same but different…

The restaurant was the same but this time around, we had different dishes, those that we had not tried before.

This was sometime last week when my in-laws called asking us to join them for dinner. No, there wasn’t any special occasion, different from the many times we got together in the past, but my brother-in-law and his wife in Bintulu were home for two days during the Gawai Dayak Festival so that was reason enough to go out and eat. Hehehehehe!!!!

We had the chicken…

Tung Seng three-cup-wine chicken

– if I am not wrong, they called it the three-cup-wine chicken which was very nice though I did not think I could detect the wine in it.

I did not find out how much that was nor this huge bowl of sea cucumber soup…

Tung Seng sea cucumber soup

No worries, none of the offensive stuff in it even though it did look quite like it.

But RM20.00 for this plate of cangkuk manis fried with egg…

Tung Seng fried cangkuk manis with egg

…was kind of shocking and so was the tofu

Tung Seng tofu

…RM25.00 for that!

The fish head curry…

Tung Seng fish head curry

…was all right, only RM45.00 for that HUGE thing and it was very nice just that it was served last by which time we were all very full so we were not able to finish all of it and my in-laws had to tapao what was left of it to take home.

These cheese and butter prawns…

Tung Seng cheese & butter prawns 1

…were very reasonably charged, very cheap, in fact, at only RM30.00 for one big plate…

Tung Seng cheese & butter prawns 2

…and it was very nicely done. The prawns were very fresh, very firm and succulent…and those this size would cost at least RM45.00 a kilo at the shops.

The servings were huge, so much for only 7 of us altogether – I would order for maybe, four or five people only and I am pretty sure there would be enough to go round. I did not get to see the itemised bill myself – all the prices stated above were from hearsay and according to my sister-in-law, the overall total was over RM180, inclusive of rice and drinks and GST, which wasn’t all that cheap, about the same as here, but we had fresh fish and prawns plus we sure enjoyed everything here a lot more so between the two, this one would be a much better choice, if you asked me.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

15 thoughts on “Same but different…”

  1. The price for that huge plate of prawns is a good price whereas the price for the cangkuk manis fried with egg is high so I find it weird. If I know this, I would order the prawns and not the cangkuk manis, hehehe. Meeting with your brother-in-law and wife can be considered a special occasion that needs to be celebrated with good food since they do not live near.

    Indeed, RM20 for a local vegetable dish is very very expensive – it used to be so cheap. Wouldn’t be so bad if it had been imported, like asparagus or broccoli fried with prawns or something. I wonder if other vegetables are just as costly, hopefully this is just during the current dry spell we are experiencing now. Yes, I guess everytime my Bintulu brother in law drives home is reason enough to go out and eat – 3-4 hours away but they do not come back that often, usually only during public holidays and long weekends.

    1. Knock! knock! πŸ˜€

      Oooopppssss!!! Missed it, sorry! Rather busy these few days, running here and there. πŸ˜€

  2. I also do this often, esp if i like the service and the food of or the place ambiance, i usually go back and try different dish, goal is to complete the menu. πŸ™‚

    I love to try the chicken. πŸ™‚

    Yes, it was nice.

  3. I was shocked too when I bought a small bunch of cangkuk manis for RM6.20, which usually would cost only Rm2-3. Only then, I ask the seller how much per kilo. Was told RM13/kilo, would you believe that? So I guess that is the reason why it cost a whopping RM20 for that plate of cangkuk manis.

    Shocking indeed!!! Yes, I did hear that the prices of vegetables are shooting up sky high. They say it’s because of the El Nino, the extremely hot and dry spell we’ve been experiencing. Terrible! RM13 a kg, might as well buy chicken. 😦

  4. Is that pork floss over the prawns? All the dishes look very good.

    Not pork, egg – straw-like egg floss garnishing. You get that with butter prawns at Chinese restaurants but some may omit this, maybe they do not know how to go about making it.

  5. Nice! I love sea cucumber soup. The cangkuk manis at RM20 and tofu RM25? Compared to the prawns, that can’t be right, can it?

    We could not understand it either.

  6. Glad you enjoyed the meal. Many relationships are rekindled over meals. I’d love to try the prawns.

    Not bad…but I still love their prawns in thick rich gravy served in a coconut – very nice and the only one in town.

  7. Delicious. A very enjoyable meal to me.

    Yes, it was good, heaps nicer than the one all of us went to not too long ago.

  8. Too bad the fish came a tad too late, this dish goes well with rice anytime! The prices for the tofu and cangkuk manis are quite steep, as you said…but the prawns is another matter… so cheap!! Cannot get this price over here for a big portion like that…. anyway, very nice dishes I can say….

    Oh? I wonder how much those prawns would cost there. Maybe they would be cheaper in Taiping? (See Hayley’s comment in my previous post)

  9. Tung Seng is one of my family’s fav dining places in Sibu. They used to make very nice wu wei tang but has since stopped selling it when the guy who would make it left the job. Nevertheless, their signature Tofu that you had was so expensive!

    Ohhhhh???? No more ngor mee th’ng? I loved it, definitely the best in town. Didn’t order that night so I didn’t know. Sighhhhhhhh!!!!

  10. Those cheese and butter prawns are one of my favourites back in KL, even though in some places they were expensive I try to get them.

    Oh? Were they? Don’t think I ever had those there. Not too cheap here either.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

