No excuse…

Some people say that they do not know how to cook anything other than instant noodles. Well, if they can boil water and do that, they really have no excuse whatsoever to insist that they cannot cook.

They can easily boil a slab of meat in some water till it is cooked…

Pork, boiled

I had cut it into three chunks so it would be easier and faster to cook on the inside. After that, they can do what my mother used to do – add a pinch of salt and msg and toss like what I have shared in this post sometime ago.Β However, if they would rather go without those seasonings, they can slice the meat and eat it plain with sambal belacan

Sliced boiled pork with belacan

…or simply with soy sauce and sliced fresh chili.

In the meantime, I had peeled some potatoes and cut them into wedges and boiled them in another pot. Once the meat was done, I poured the stock into the pot with the potatoes…

Boiled potatoes

I also diluted the stock with a bit of water as I would prefer a lighter clear soup. They can add a pinch of salt if they want it saltier but actually, it is already nice on its own with the sweetness from the meat and the taste of the potatoes. Pepper would be optional, and they may add if it so pleases them.

These are optional too – chopped spring onions and fried sliced shallots…

Chopped spring onions & fried shallots

…to use as garnishing for the potato soup…

Potato soup

…and I assure you that those would bring the taste to a whole new level.

I remember when I was small and my mum cooked this soup, she would always add tang hoon (glass noodles) and I loved that to the max. I wonder what it is about kids and noodles – they always seem to love it so much! My girl loves tang hoon too – a must-have everytime we have steamboat at home but I did not add any that day as there wasn’t any in the house plus it wasn’t the weekend so my girl was away at her school and not at home.

There you are! Sliced pork and potato soup to go with your rice – anytime nicer than just instant noodles.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

20 thoughts on “No excuse…”

  1. I love to eat potatoes! Your knife must be very sharp to slice the meat so thinly and cleanly. Eating this meal is so much healthier than eating instant noodles with MSG.

    Sharp? Hmmmmm!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Indeed, no added salt and msg other than what is in the belacan or soy sauce, if you are having the meat with that.

  2. Simple but tasty and healthy. I guess where there is a will, there is a way.

    Me for example. Never cook till I have family and see how far I go. Of course I am neither a good cook, but at least my family eats what I cook. Haha.

    What? I see the things you cook, real pro!!! Mine will pale in comparison! I hardly ever cooked at home but I did help out in the kitchen from young – peel this, cut that, chop that…keep an eye on the rice (no rice cooker then), those things…not until I was posted to teach in Kanowit.

  3. I love Tang Hoon too, the Korean Tang Hoon is yum too!

    I don’t mind that. Here, we also have fried tang hoon, dried sharks’ fins style…very nice! We call it fake sharks’ fins, not a very flattering name.

  4. I really don’t like people, especially girls, saying that they don’t know how to cook.. Sounds very manja and it really pisses me off.. Don’t tell me they don’t even know how to fry an egg, boil rice in the rice cooker, and steam something in the wok/steamer.. Most of the time, I think they (girls) know how to cook, they just wana act manja and say they don’t know how *arrrrghhh*.. My mum does EXACTLY the same thing as you too, she boils the “sam chang bak” in the soup, take it out from the soup, cut into chunks, and we dip into cili+soy sauce, eat with plain rice (with soup), very sedapppp..

    Yes, nice eh? Can taste the unadulterated sweetness and flavour of the meat, not drowned out by all the marinades and sauces and gravies and what not.

    Oh? You’d be very very very surprised. I know my girl’s coursemate blew up the microwave in NZ…TWICE, first time when trying to cook an egg.

  5. This is so simple and sounds delicious enough, how can I not heard of this before? Seriously, never had meat eaten like that with sambal belacan and potato soup this way. Going to try the soup soon, and my girl loves tang hoon, too! My family does not like fried shallot but I do. πŸ™‚

    My girl does not like it too, fried shallots – would pick it out one by one, dunno why…since small. She called it ka-ka…and the name got stuck to this day. Kids!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Braised/stewed pork leg/pork belly or siew yoke with sambal belacan is also very very nice!!!

  6. Cannot cook is a vey lame excuse. I like this type of clear soup. Mostly, I use 3 layer pork, of course, very lean one. After the soup was done, take out the pork & thinly sliced & dipped into cincaluk. Olaa…olaaa…so nice. Simple, hassle free & yet tasty. For soup, I just add spring onion, celery or fried onion & a little bit of seasoning. Yummmssss!!!…

    Yes, very much nicer with the leaner pork belly, the texture of the meat is different and it is also tastier. Did not have any in the freezer that day. Yes, cincaluk dip is good too. I did not add any seasoning to the soup, nice enough on its own with the added spring onion and fried shallots.

  7. Indeed…boiling soup is easy. My boy never like pork, so i substitute with chicken. I often throw in some chicken legs for the extra gelatin.

    Chicken feet? Eyewwwww!!!! LOL!!!

  8. You said it right! No such thing as not knowing how to cook if one can boil water. Oh…I love potatoes πŸ˜€ Just simply boiled like that is also very nice not to mentioned mashed potatoes. I like the idea of just boiling meat plain and eating with dipping sauce. So did you manage to get budu?

    No, have not gone round to look for it. Seen it somewhere and I have a fair idea where. Will get it when I happen to be around there. Me, good boy – don’t go out so much. Hehehehehe!!!!

  9. you really make it look simple. Ok lah! this time I make boiled meat for my family la.

    Good luck! About time you learn how to cook, poor missus has two boys to take care of now…and cook for you some more? Some people’s lives are so so good.

  10. Your potatoes is nicely sliced, if me slice, sure the size different, big and small…

    No leh? Some big , some small, some thirds, some quarters.

  11. Well, the reality of the matter is, even though I may know somewhat how to cook, you’re still 10 times a more effective cook than me! So I better leave the cooking to you, for everyone’s sake, heheh πŸ˜‰

    Muahahahahaha!!! Smart, eh? I had colleagues like that when I was still working – they moaned and they groaned and said that they did not know how to do this, how to do that, and asked others to do all those things for them and the admin would not ask them to do anything knowing that they would mess it all up. So they would enjoy life, sitting there shaking legs day n and day out…and drawing their big fat pay at the end of every month. Tsk! Tsk! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  12. That’s certainly my kind of comfort food.

    Yes, sure is nice…and a welcome change if one has been going round eating the rich or heavy stuff.

  13. Wow, my favourite. I like pork cooked that way.

    So simple and yet so nice. None in the freezer that day but I would prefer a chunk of pork with a bit of fat though. Slurpssss!!!! Btw, Happy Teachers’ Day to you!

  14. Very nice and tasty stock… Normally I will blanch the meat with hot water for awhile to get rid of the “porkie” smell.. learn it from my late mom.. hahahaa…

    Smell? What smell? Wouldn’t that steal away some of the taste and sweetness? Pork here, no offensive smell. The only time I came across anything like that was when I bought some in Kanowit – I could not eat it but my housemate was fine with it and he ate it all. I never bought pork there ever again. They say the pork in Australia had a horrible smell too but some say it is all right now. They did not know how to slaughter it in the past, that was why.

  15. Meat and potatoes! Reminds me of a meal I had in Ireland. They actually just boil the meat and serve it like that. It was a little tasteless but it was some kind of festival where they ate like their ancestors used to.

    It would be nice with pork belly or meat with some fat – the texture and taste of the meat is different…like the difference between eating chicken drumstick and breast, can eat it on its own. Otherwise, you would need a dip of some sort. This is very old school home cooking, probably something your grandma would cook – simple but very nice.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

