Wrong one…

I got word from Annie, my friend in KL, that according to her mum, the mee mamak guy here had come back and as the morning shift fella had gone off on holiday or something, he would be there in the morning to do the cooking so the other morning, my missus and I dropped by there.

According to another friend whose longhouse is further away in that direction across the bridge on the other side of the river, the pao (steamed bun) here was very good too. She must have had those when she stopped by for a bite en route home or coming back from there. That was why I ordered these and two sio bee (meat dumplings)…

Joystar paos and sio bee

…to try.

I think the sio bee (RM1.00 each)…

Joystar sio bee

…was not very fresh – one could guess from the rather unsightly blistered skin that they had been over-steamed, maybe over and over again and the filling was rather hard and not to our liking.

The char siew pao (RM2.00)…

Joystar char siew pao

…was nice but the ones here would win hands down. They were smaller and did not have egg inside but they were only RM1.80 each though my guess is the price would have gone up by now, probably RM2.00 for one as well.

The chai (vegetable) pao (RM1.50 each)…

Joystar chai pao

…was different from any vegetable pao that I had had before. It tasted like bak pao (steamed meat buns) except that there wasn’t any meat inside and there was egg which I would say was rather unusual for vegetable buns. I actually liked it very much and I sure would not mind having these again.

My missus had their Foochow fried noodles (RM3.80)…

Joystar Foochow fried noodles

…and yes, it was quite good except that they had chicken in it, not pork and comparatively, they did have quite a lot of ingredients in the dish unlike some at a few other places around town, not even for RM4.00.

Of course, I ordered the mee mamak (RM5.30)…

Joystar mee mamak

…with a special request for added sotong (squid) since they did not have prawns that morning. Yes, it was very nice, bursting with flavours and had lots of ingredients in it but it was a little too sweet for me. Still, I would say that this one here is a lot nicer than the same that I had had before at a lot of other places in town.

I don’t know if it was the right guy or not – he was quite fair and quite good-looking, quite tall but not as tall as I am…and not thin. Ah well…never mind whether it was the right guy or the wrong one, I subsequently received word from Annie that according to her mum, it was the mee goreng and not the mee mamak that her twins liked a lot – she never went there with the boys, just the doting grandma. LOL!!!

Never mind! We would be back there soon enough, I’m sure. It’s not far from where I stay, parking is a breeze and it is free.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

12 thoughts on “Wrong one…”

  1. I thought mee goreng cooked by mamak is mee mamak. No?

    For all I know, if it has chili sauce, on the sweet side, then it is mee mamak. Tastes different from the regular mee goreng. Can’t remember ever having it at the mamak places over at your side…other than the maggi mee goreng I had once at a roadside mamak stall in PJ, not nice.

  2. feeling so cheap everything over there, plus so delicious! i love dai pao the most.

    Compared to many other places in the world, I guess it is cheaper here but not all that cheap either these days.

    You mean the ta pao, the giant ones? These were big but no, they were not as big. I love those big ones that I had in KL too. Actually I ordered the bak pao, the meat ones, same as the ta pao, just smaller…but the waiter got it wrong. Will try that next time.

  3. I only know char siew pao has egg in it but not chai pao, very unsual. Both plates of noodles looks good too.

    No egg in char siew pao either, never seen before…but I love it! I love eggs in paos!!!

    So far, at this place, I would rate the mee sua in ang chiew chicken soup as the best of the lot. Met somebody I know – she does not live all that near here…and she was there with her whole family – parents and sisters…and they were all having the mee sua. Must be quite popular around town.

  4. Love bak paos. Over here, I find mainly char siu paos, not that I’ve been looking very hard though.

    We have lots of bak paos here, not so much char siew paos but I would say most aren’t anything to shout about.

  5. Mee mamak is one of those dishes I’ve never learned to love or appreciate … I like regular ol’ mee goreng fine, but I’ve always found mee mamak to be an unnecessary variation … All the mee mamak lovers will throw rotten eggs at me, right? 😉

    I’m with you on this – I do prefer the Malay mee goreng though I quite like mee mamak sometimes for a change, provided they go slow on the bottled chili sauce and it is not too sweet…and I would prefer either one to the Chinese ones here, dry fried – they pale in comparison in terms of flavour or taste.

  6. I loves sio bee, can eat lots of it, hehe…

    The ones here, not nice. We do have others, so much nicer, elsewhere.

  7. Looking at these, I wanna eat dim sum tomorrow morning! The foo chow noodles is pretty tempting too… but not the mee mamak, like you, I don’t like anything too sweet especially in noodles.

    You’re more into anything that’s Chinese, that I know! 😉

  8. Gosh…reading this post had me craving for bak pau LOL!

    You would have some nice ones there – I loved the tua pao, those giant ones…the oily gravy trickling down your fingers as you eat. Sluurpssss!!!

  9. its very hard to find halal dumpling here… If only i were in kch dumpling is my fav~!! at least its a must have once a week. huhu

    I don’t think there is any here. Halal pao’s, a lot – there is one very popular stall at the kampung here – go a bit later, all sold out but dumplings, I don’t know of any. There used to be a halal dim sum stall at Tun Jugah food court in Kuching, the dumplings were very nice – dunno if it is still there, have not been for so so so long. I hear there has been a facelift, not quite the same anymore. Will go and check it out the next time I go to Kuching.

  10. Yeah, the sio bee looks a bit blue and black bruised. Haha. Oh, I haven’t eaten this type of radioactive orange char siew pao in a long time. It’s old skool but I kinda miss it.

    Yes, very old school. I remember the one at that Ang Kao kampua coffee shop that I grew up eating when I was little – loved it so much. 😀

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

