Pleasantly surprised…

It so happened that we were at this mall the other day and my missus bought a few things from this stall…

Medan Mall stall selling Foochow delights
*Archive photo*

…there. This was where I used to buy the very nice kacang tumbuk (rolled crushed peanut cake), exactly like the ones I grew up eating and enjoyed so much in my younger days. Unfortunately, for some reason, the people making those have ceased production so I have never stopped by here since to buy those.

They do have some very nice tau sar peah there but since they increased the prices, I decided that I could do without those as well. Other than those, one would find a lot of other things, mostly the local Foochow delights, at this stall but I never bothered buying any of the rest to try.

Anyway, my missus bought their almond biscuits, those big ones with a peanut stuck in the middle. They were not really nice, nothing like the ones that we used to buy in Kuching a long time ago but I was pleasantly surprised to find that this…

Medan Mall phong peah 1

…was, in fact, very good. I had a look at the plastic wrapper and it seemed that this came from the same people who used to make the kacang tumbuk.

If I am not wrong, this is called phong peah

Medan Mall phong peah 2

…and I loved how the skin/pastry was so nice and flaky, the bits and layers dropping off at even a gentle touch.

We used to buy these in Kuching – my parents loved the ones from a shop in Padungan but I was not so fond of those as the filling reeked of heng jin (almond syrup) and I am never fond of that in drinks.

As for this one, I loved how generous they were with the filling…

Phong peah filling

…and the filling was different from the usual. It was something like what we would find in our traditional Foochow engagement cake, our lay peang, and I did enjoy that very much.

I don’t know how much each of those cost though – I asked my missus and she said she had forgotten, probably something over RM1 each…and incidentally, if you are thinking of going to buy the very nice deep-fried stuff at that “hole in the wall” at this mall, don’t bother. I noticed that the place has been closed for quite sometime now so either they have decided to close shop or they have moved some place else. There is a little note on the entrance but I never went over to have a look…but that aforementioned stall inside the mall sure looks like it is still going strong.

P.S.:
In case anyone is interested, the waffles from the stall somewhere opposite this one are very nice, crusty and my girl likes theirs more than the now-very-popular ones here (that you can’t buy home, you would have to eat them there – they would go all limp, not all that edible, not nice at all).

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

11 thoughts on “Pleasantly surprised…”

  1. Is the name on the plastic wrapper – gula gelung? From your description, I believe I would like the taste of this pastry.

    Yes, if I am not mistaken, they press the crushed peanut into one thin piece and roll it…and then they slice. In Hokkien, we call it khong therng, dunno what that means. Can see on the wrapper – 5 bungkus, 5 packets in one pack. I guess they just used the old leftovers wrappers for these phong peah. Nothing goes to waste.

  2. Waffles! My girl would love to give that stall a try.

    Indeed very generous filling. I used to eat that peang as kid. Mum used to buy from the old pastry shop in Kenyalang. Can get it 365 days.

    Kenyalang? Never bought from there – always went to that shop at Padungan. This one is more like a cross between phong peah (https://suituapui.wordpress.com/2011/04/27/ive-got-mine/) and heong peah…with its own kind of filling, not quite the same.

  3. I wonder if that phong peah is the same or similar to another one that I know as “bak teh soh”. My late grandma liked it, it has flaky skin and the filling is sticky, sweet and salty with a bit of fried onion taste.

    Nope, not the same though similar, maybe distant cousins and personally, I prefer bak teh soh – the pastry is a little harder, crustier and more fragrant…and I like the gooey filling. Unfortunately, most that I bought more recently, the filling is hard, not soft and sticky, more solid…so not quite to my liking. The best I had were the ones a friend bought me a long time ago at a pasar malam in Taiping, freshly made (https://suituapui.wordpress.com/2014/08/09/time-changes-things/) The filling was so nice, so soft…like it could actually flow. Never had any like it since.

  4. Oops … This particular post is not targeted toward me, I guess … Since I don’t like tau sar peah, I’m not a fan of almond biscuits, and I don’t live in sibu! 🙂

    Yup, not really for you, more for the local folks. I’m doing the Sibu economy a favour, going round trying this and that…and paying out of my own pocket and promoting anything that I think is nice.

  5. Unlike you, I like the almond syrup smell (and taste).

    Dunno. When I was small, when I had a cough, my dad would make me drink the syrup diluted with hot water. All my life, I don’t quite care for hot drinks…plus the smell of the syrup made my head spin. I don’t mind it in almond jelly and longan dessert though.

  6. Oh yes, I love phong piah & kong tng. Padungan got a few shops selling these stuff. What is the name the shop at Padungan you are talking about?

    Dunno the name, old old school shop, dunno now – round the Kapit Lodging House corner, on the left somewhere in the middle. I will know it when I see it. They used to sell very nice kee chang too, tied with thread. My mum loved those.

  7. I have sweet tooth, i will love it..

    Cheap, very very cheap in your currency, around 50 cents, I think.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

