My woman, my woman, my wife…

I wonder how many of you know this song…

– one of my old-time favourites! I love the pleasantly soothing melody and the beautiful lyrics in particular.

Well, if you’re wondering about the relevance, it was my missus’ birthday last Friday and of course, we had to have the longevity noodles, the mee sua, in chicken soup with our traditional Foochow red wine…

Birthday longevity noodles

…first thing in the morning and no, Ken, we did not miss out the eggs and I had TWO of them! LOL!!!

I went out and bought a cake for her…

Birthday cake 1

…from this bakery – I wanted the Black Bavaria that my friend gave me for my birthday once and it was very nice but they did not have it that morning so I settled for this one…

Birthday cake 2

…something with hazelnut, lots of that in the cream in between the layers.

Our girl was coming home that afternoon and we waited for her so my missus could cut the cake with all of us together, singing the birthday song and all. It was very nice – not sweet at all and very light and since it was small, maybe a 6-inch square only, we did not have to struggle to finish the whole thing.

That evening, we went out for dinner here…

Ming Mei Shi Restaurant, new premises

This used to be one of our favourite Chinese restaurants in townΒ – they have moved to their new own-owned premises now but that will have to wait till the next post. Stick around!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

18 thoughts on “My woman, my woman, my wife…”

  1. Happy belated birthday to your wife! So sweet of you to celebrate her birthday with her by cooking the longevity mee sua and buying her a birthday cake. πŸ™‚

    Thank you. I did not cook the soup – she did it the night before, she does it better. I only heated it up first thing in the morning, cooked the eggs and the mee sua. Loved it, very very nice!

  2. The comment box has moved! Took me a while to find it, but here I am. Please pass on happy birthday wishes to your wife. πŸ™‚

    Thank you. Oh? Has it? Didn’t notice that. As long as everyone can locate it and comment, it is ok. Some, I know, are having difficulty logging in and some say they can but can’t comment. I don’t know what’s going on. Sighhhhhh!!!!

    1. Yes, sometimes I think the web has a mind of its own. πŸ˜‰

      Can be quite stressful for an old man like me, pulling all my hair out when problems crop up. πŸ˜€

  3. Happy belated birthday to your missus.

    As matter of fact, I know this song. I love it too.

    Thanks. Yes, it’s a very nice song, isn’t it? And I love the lyrics too.

  4. I am drooling looking at the cake! I am very familiar, and love, Dean Martin and his songs but this particular one escapes me. Thanks so much for sharing. πŸ™‚

    Yes, this is one of his lesser known songs…but I would say of all his songs, it is my favourite. I think originally, it is a country song, by Marty Robbins, if I am not wrong.

  5. Happy Belated Birthday to your missus.
    I am zero about songs but definitely I know mee sua & cake. Love them heaps.

    Thanks. Yes, I know you do not listen to songs so much, English ones especially, right?

  6. Two biji? Betul… barulah balance….

    Ummm…maybe. One seemed a little bigger than the other but that’s normal, right? Hehehehehe!!!!

  7. A belated Happy Birthday and Happy Mother’s Day to your wife. Looks like you spoilt her on her big day πŸ™‚

    Not really, nothing grand – just a simple celebration within our own family.

  8. Happt birthday to your wifey & Happy Mother’s Day too πŸ™‚ Eh I thought got butter cake, hehe..

    Thanks. We did not want that this time – had an overdoes the last time – we bought one and my niece bought another one, so much to finish so we are staying away from it for the time being.

  9. That’s a lovely birthday cake you got for your missus. You had two eggs, eh? That’s what I would do too because one egg is not enough! πŸ˜€

    Wowwww!!! You’re not shaped like me, are you? Muahahahahaha!!!!

  10. A very very very happy belated birthday to the missus!!! :))) I don’t know that Dean Martin song … I actually know very few Dean Martin songs … He’s really old school, even before Elvis!

    Thank you. LOL!!! I’m an ancient relic, remember? So so old! πŸ˜‰

  11. A belated Birthday wish to your wife. Red wine mee suah looks so good. I only boil eggs for the boys on their birthdays.

    Thank you. Eggs only? Aiyor!!!! Must eat mee sua, long life! πŸ˜€

  12. Happy birthday to Lucy. I also got eggs for my birthday..hahah which an unusual thing my parents did for me.

    Black Bavaria…nice name for the cake. Love the layers of cake with the cream in between. Looks delish!

    Thanks. This one wasn’t the Black Bavaria – I think that one was nicer. This one was nice too but with hazelnuts – there were crushed nuts in the cream and I did not quite like that. Otherwise it was a very light cake, not sweet – can eat a lot, no problem.

  13. Happy belated birthday to Lucy!! So nice and sweet of you to cook her mee suah and eggs on her birthday.

    AH! So this is the cake shop that you told me. Ok, will note it down for my future reference. But the name hmmm..it sound like cake name more than cake shop’s name. hahaha

    Thank you.

    Yes, like a name for a matcha cake, like blackforest. I never went to check it out before…because of the name until my friend bought me the cake last time.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

