Times…

This is new (2.291548, 111.828176)…

Cakes Times, Sibu

…though I really wonder whether there is a need for the s in the name as the meaning then would be quite different. It is located among the blocks of shops along Brooke Drive on the left if you are driving towards town, just before the bend into Kpg Nyabor Road that will take you to the Sibu General Post Office on your right.

My guess was that it would be another of those coffee places that are sprouting all over town like mushrooms after the rain…

Welcome

…and this one has an upper floor…

The way up

…so one can choose to either sit upstairs or downstairs and enjoy the coffee…

Coffee poster

…which does seem a little cheaper than most here…

Menu

…and pick the cake…

Oreo cheese cake

…or whatever…

Sandwiches

…one would like to choose to have…

Tarts and buns

…to go with it.

I did not have any of those though as I only dropped by that day to buy a few of these…

Curry chicken & chicken potato pie

…home to try – the curry chicken pie and the chicken potato pie (RM2.50 each).

My girl preferred the chicken potato…

Chicken potato pie

…but I felt the curry chicken…

Curry chicken pie

…was a little nicer – no, not a lot nicer, just a little.

However, though I thought both were good, I would not be rushing back for more, that’s for sure. The nice ones here are bigger and a whole lot tastier but those are getting more and more expensive – RM3.80 at the moment.

ย Sighhhhhh!!!!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

17 thoughts on “Times…”

  1. RM2.50 seems like a good price for the chicken pies. How big were they?

    Photo 1 looks like a scene out of a comic book with the bright yellow and the modern facade of the cake/bakery/cafe shop.

    Not big, maybe 2 inches in diameter. I do see that size usually at bakeries. The one that is very nice is much bigger, 4 inches and the taste is a cut above these and all the rest in all the other bakeries so RM3.80 is actually very reasonable.

    Yes, the horrendous lemon yellow. When I first saw the shops here painted in such bright gaudy colours, I was telling myself that the paint shops must be having a sale and they are using those colours on clearance, old stock. It seems, however, that this is the trend here – apple green, bright sky blue, bright orange, blood red, pink…and there are some that paint the rectangular frames of the windows in different colours looking quite like National Geographic. I’m old school – will stick white or to the most, light beige, soothing pastel colours.

  2. This place looks like a nice place.. I would love to have a slice of cheesecake, mushroom or beef pie and a cup of strawberry milkshake.. But I saw the grilled sandwich looks good too.. Aiya, you didn’t take the sandwiches? Wana ask what’s inside, coz I see tomatoes.. I guess there’s grilled cheese inside too..

    Dunno, did not ask about the sandwiches. A rather slow not-so-young lady, who was helping out at the place, served me and I had to be somewhat patient…and a young guy, probably the baker – son of the old lady was attending to some other people, and both spoke Mandarin. I was not in the mood to struggle with the language so I did not ask much – only spoke what was necessary…and even so, the old lady was kind of confused with the order and the calculation of the money. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Sandwiches, can always make our own at home, add anything and everything according to our whims and fancies.

  3. I always thoughts that places like nursery or daycare centre are painted with rainbow colours but now a popular trend with shops too. Nothing comes cheap these days. Though both types of pies looks equally good, I still prefer the potatoes. Sandwich looks great too.

    Both were ok, so so…will take a lot more than that to make me wanna go back again for more. Sandwiches, I can make my own at home. I guess Rumah Hijau in Kuching is in a ghastly green colour? ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. This place, good for chit chat over a cup of coffee and cake…

    Yes, it is. Wanna drop by? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. It seems like a place for dessert and cakes , more for tea time and for a good chat with friends over coffee and cakes or pies.

    It is. Looks like quite a decent hangout place for anyone thus inclined.

  6. sibu definitely isn’t immune from the craze of contemporary cafes serving pastries, cakes and coffee! ๐Ÿ˜€ hmmm, i like how the pies are quite well stuffed with meat and potatoes … i dislike pies that have too much crust, heh ๐Ÿ˜‰

    No, it isn’t…and at way over RM10.00 a cup, it’s a wonder that they are always packed!!! These young people today are really so very rich. My time, I could hardly afford to loiter at the coffee shops. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  7. I’d prefer pies to cakes any time, even though the cakes look good. But 2 inch diameter pies are a bit tiny! Will have to eat several.

    Yes. they’re Asian size, very petite. Hehehehehe!!!! The ones at the bakery that I like a lot more – those would be the regular size that you would be more familiar with, one would be enough…or maybe two. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Many small cake cafe mushrooming in Kuching too. Sometimes really dont know what is good till someone recommend in fb etc.

    Nothing cheap nowadays. Pastries too.

    If it is anything that will blow your mind away, so so so so very nice – then perhaps it is worth going for it once in a long while but generally, I do not think they have anything to offer that even comes near to anything like that. That is why I do not bother to check them out, almost all of them – I really don’t have that much money to simply throw like that.

  9. There are many coffee places coming up at my area too. Too many of them, I wonder if they can make money.

    Maybe that is why the coffee is so expensive? They can just have a few customers, enough to get by already so if they can pull in a crowd, they would make quite a bundle, I’m sure.

  10. Well at least at 2.50 a pop it is pretty reasonably priced.

    It is. The prices of pies and stuff at such places can be quite shocking, nothing below RM5-6, some a lot more. I would not even bother to think about getting one to try. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  11. I think I will go for the curry chicken pie as well, they sure are tasty

    Not these. Just all right, nothing to shout about or to get me rushing back for more.

  12. Oh, didn’t know they serve coffee and tea and drinks there. I thought it is just a normal bakery shop. My mum did tell me about it, said something is nice there. But i am not interested so didn’t go in.
    Ya, that sandwiches looks good.

    I wonder what your mum thinks is nice there. The cakes don’t look good – just this oreo cheese cake that I snapped but I am not a fan of cheese cake.

  13. I love poppies and have made my own versions of the ones you mentioned above. How was the crust? I like my crust to be light, flaky and the hint of a buttery flavor… and that’s the type of crust I prepare for a pot pie.

    That is one minus point, no buttery fragrance unlike when I make my own shortcrust pastry – another reason why I would not be going back for more. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  14. I guess is matter with the places also, depends where you bought it, like same thing that sell at morning market one is always cheaper and nicer, hehe!

    Some people actually do that! Like those bak kut teh shops and stalls – they do not make their yeu tiao themselves – bought somewhere, cut it up, serve in a bowl…and charge you double for it.

  15. Oh, they have the mochi buns here too. I’ve been eating a lot of them lately, makes for a good breakfast if I’m lazy to drive out to eat.

    Where did you get yours from? The best ones are at Apollo, the other side of the shops across the road from Su Lai primary school – I think I bought some for Ling once. Yet to come across any elsewhere that come close.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

