All dried up…

This is pian sip, the soup version of the meat dumplings…

Pian sip, soup
*Archive photo*

…the way we grew up eating them.

When I was young, we seldom ate out. Our house was not within walking distance and we could only get to town on a bicycle or by bus. Walking was completely out of the question. That was why we only got to eat at a coffee shop after the Sunday service in church and most of the time, we would go for the once-a-week treat of kampua noodles so the pian sip, soup had to take a back seat.

I did ask for the pian sip for a change on a few rare occasions and I can remember how hot it was and how I invariably ended up having to endure a burnt tongue the rest of the day. Perhaps that was why somebody came out with the idea of serving the dumplings dry…

Pian sip, dry
*Archive photo*

…or maybe they had them that way before, just that we did not know of it then.

Called kiaw in Kuching, ours are different from the wanton dumplings elsewhere – the skin is different. These days, you can buy it any day anytime at the wet market in town from the stalls selling tofu and taugeh (bean sprouts). I remember going to buy it once at a shop opposite the fire station here and one would have to buy by the kilo…and obviously, that would be a whole lot of skin! I don’t know if it was available at the market or not then but what I do know is at that time, one could buy the dried version of the skin…

Dried pian sip skin

…to cook at home and that was what my mum did quite regularly.

I have not eaten that for a long, long time now – ever since I got married or ever since we started living on our own. Maybe my missus never used to cook that – her house was a couple of minutes from the town so I guess whenever she felt like eating pian sip, she could just walk to the nearest coffee shop for that – no need to go through the hassle of cooking one’s own, those days when kampua noodles was 50 cents a plate, 30 cents without meat and my guess is a big bowl of pian sip at the time would be 50 cents as well.

The other day, I felt like cooking that so I went and bought a packet…

Dried pian sip skin, one packet

…from the shop near my house and no, it is not all that cheap at RM3.20 a packet, considering that you can get a pack of 5 packets of instant noodles for just a little bit more than that, less than RM4.00.

First, I boiled some water in a pot, half-filled, before adding 3 cloves of garlic and some meatballs…

Garlic and meatballs

…and when it had resumed boiling, I added a bit of chicken stock cube (in place of msg) and two tablespoons of fish sauce (in place of light soy sauce – we do not have that in the house). I let it simmer for a while to let the taste of the meat and everything come out and go into the soup…

Meatballs and soup

…before turning off the heat. Of course, there is no way of wrapping the meat in the skin so this is the only way one can go about cooking it.

I chopped some spring onions that I had growing outside our house and fried some sliced shallots in a bit of oil till golden brown…

Garnishings

…and put those aside for garnishing later. I also drizzled a bit of the shallot oil onto the soup for that delightful fragrance. Of course, it would be great if I had used lard instead of our regular cooking oil but I did not have any.

My mum would cook the dried pian sip skin in the soup and it would be all right come lunch time, still a lot of soup but we usually had one big pot of it and by dinnertime, it would have all dried up and all we had left to eat would be the skin and the meat, no soup. That was why I boiled the skin separately till soft and then place it in a bowl before adding the soup and the meatballs and garnishing…

Dried pian sip skin soup 1

There you are! It sure looked great, don’t you think? Well, take my word for it – it tasted great too…

Dried pian sip skin soup

…especially for someone like me who would enjoy anything in nice clear bone-stock soup.

Incidentally, I found that I had to boil the skin for quite a while. Initially, when it had turned soft, it would still be a little chewy, something along the same line as kueh chap, not quite like pian sip. Cooked pian sip skin is so very very soft and smooth one can just swallow without much chewing – just let it slide down your throat.

Of course, now that fresh pian sip skin is so easily available, one might as well go for that and wrap the meat inside, the way it should be. These dried ones would probably be good for sending to people elsewhere, especially the ones overseas who may happen to be craving for it…plus this would be a lot easier to keep for use.

FOOTNOTE:
Gee!!! This is my 3,000th post…with over 1,900,000 views and over 80,000 comments. Not too bad, eh? For a small-time blogger from a small town where nothing much ever happens. Thank you all for your support – keep dropping by and do feel free to comment…anytime. Always love to hear from you…and yes, a very Blessed Easter to one and all!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

10 thoughts on “All dried up…”

  1. Congrats on your 3000 posts! Keep on writing!

    Looking at your photos, I could almost taste the clear soup and meatballs and smooth skins in my mouth. Delicious!

    Blessed Easter to you and your family!

    Thank you, I most certainly intend to. 😉

    Yes, we enjoyed it but we prefer using fresh skin – with the meat wrapped inside. Somehow, this is kind of different – the taste is there, the eating is not quite the same. 😀

    Thanks and to you and yours too!

  2. Good morning & Congratulations, Arthur 🎉🎉🎉…..3,000th posts, not bad at all & keep moving on……

    Hmmm…my 1st time seeing pian sip done this way. As long as the taste is there, I won’t mind doing without wrapping the meat in the skin. Makes it much easier. Love it heaps.

    Blessed Easter to you & your loved ones.

    Thank you. Sure will keep going on and on.

    Yes, the taste is definitely there, just that the meat is on the outside. Would be good to store a pack in the pantry, can take out anytime to cook when you feel like it, no need to rush to the market to buy fresh skin. Very convenient.

    Happy Easter to you and your family too. Son is home for the long weekend, I guess. My girl has one extra day holiday tomorrow so we are in no hurry this week to send her back.

    1. This long weekend, son is not back as he is taking over his friend’s weekend shift. His friend is going back to hometown Perak due to his grandma’s passing. I think this is your girl first time applying for extra day holiday, rite?….hahaha. Ok, enjoy your extra day makan makan ya.

      No, she did not apply – the school has taken the day off. I think the divisional office has standardised everything so all schools will have to do so. I’m asking her to take Ching Ming off but she does not seem so keen. 😦

  3. Congrats on your 3000th post. What an achievement. Keep on going, STP.

    Happy Easter to you and family.

    Lovely meat soup. Like you cook the skin and meatballs seperately.

    Thank you and yes, a Happy Easter to you and your family too.
    It was nice and if you’re a fan of pian sip or kiaw in soup, you would like this too.

  4. Congrats on your 3000th post… 🙂 I do enjoy reading your blog very much… Keep on going…

    Blesses Easter to you and your family…

    I loves pian sip, can eat many of it…

    Thank you, thank you…and a Blessed Easter to you too!
    Can get pian sip everywhere here – every kampua stall would have pian sip, good or not – that is another question.

  5. The dried pian sip skins remind me of lasagne sheets. I am not sure whether we can get it here. The packaging looks a little familiar – I must remember to check next time I go to the Chinese shop.

    I think this is a Sibu brand, they make very nice mee sua too. But I found out there are cheaper brands, these dried pain sip sheets, only RM2 plus a pack. 😦

  6. New style of cooking it ya. LOL

    Congratulation on your 3000th post.

    Not really, simple Foochow style. Had these dried sheets even in my younger days and my mum cooked like this.
    Thank you.

  7. Blessed Easter to you, Arthur.. a bit late today… too much to do during the daytime with my kids… now only got time to sit down proper and do some blogging work… hahahaha… I like your style of cooking piansip… clear and nice… no oil and heavy flavours… LIKE!

    Thanks, and the same to you and your loved ones. Yes, Foochow cooking, simple…and nice!

  8. Oh, the dumplings can be cooked with the meat and skin separate! I did not know that. I guess it can be called deconstructed pian sip 😀

    No choice, the dried skin is hard and cracks so you cannot use it to wrap the meat. Maybe you can cut into squares, stick them together using the dried skin and cook. Then you will have something like…what do you call them now, ravioli or tortellini? 😀

  9. Oh, I didn’t know they have dried version. Will get that next round when I am home.

    You didn’t? You can get the fresh ones from the wet market and wrap your own, keep in the freezer, can keep for a long time, not a problem. These dried ones, you can’t wrap.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

