You got it all…

Well, not really! According to my cousin, they do not have an Indonesian place in Brisbane, Australia and just one Malaysian food outlet called Little Nyonya Kitchen or something or is it Singaporean…and then, there is that kampua noodle place that started off in Perth but she doesn’t think it is all that great – the son and daughter-in-law drop by quite often though, she said. It is AUD9.50 a plate there, AUD8.50 in Melbourne and AUD7.50 in Perth (and the chao chai hung ngang is AUD13.50 a bowl) so even without conversion, it is VERY expensive compared to RM3.00 or less here especially when they make their own noodles, not imported from here or anywhere else.

That was why I thought I made the perfect choice in taking them here for dinner on their second night in Sibu. I had not been here for quite a while myself for no particular reason other than the fact that somehow or other, we just did not drop by.

I ordered the sets to share…

cabeijo lalapan set

– one with the fried chicken (RM9.50)…

cabeijo ayam gurih

…and the other with the deep-fried bawal/duai hitam or black pomfret (RM16.50)…

cabeijo lalapan duai

…and the third one, the ayam bakar (barbecued/grilled chicken), RM12.50, and I stressed in no uncertain terms to the young and handsome waiter that I would not want it overcooked, dry and hard and yes, it was absolutely perfect this time – very nice, just like when we had it the first few times we were here. The skin was burnt though and I had that – it was extra-fragrant with the caramelised marinades on it and I was glad it was just the skin and the rest of the chicken thigh was fine. I’m afraid the photograph turned out blur and I did not take one of the sup tulang or beef bone soup (RM13.50)…

cabeijo sup tulang
*Archive photo*

…that we had either but it was pretty good.

I also ordered the Sarawak Melanau delight, the umai (RM15.00)…

cabeijo umai

…and the kerabu paku or wild jungle fern (RM10.00)…

cabeijo kerabu paku

…instead of the midin as we had that for dinner the night before and I thought they would welcome the change. Hooray!!! They are no longer using those cheap small and thin ikan bilis with the beady eyes that they had before, the ones that they are using for their nasi lemak here – unless they too have switched as well. I would give them a pat on the back for that!

They do charge that 6% GST now – I am not so sure but I think they did not do that on my previous visits but it was all right. Everyone enjoyed everything and our visitors from Down Under were full of praises of the unique and delightful cuisine and they absolutely enjoyed the three sambals, the prominent feature in this place – they would not be able to find anything like this back home.

It sure was lovely having the two of them around – so many things to eat, so many places to go to and so little time. I hope they will come again soon and will stay a little longer next time.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

15 thoughts on “You got it all…”

  1. Good to hear that your guests love the food that you have ordered. Shows that you have taken great care to choose the dishes. You are the perfect host! 🙂

    The food here is very good, just that after barbecuing the chicken thighs, they lined them up by the side of the grill so they got dry – not so nice. Not sure if they still do that as I’ve touched on this in my posts a couple of times before…and now, they’ve put up something so one would not be able to see so easily – used to be in the open at the back. At least, they no longer use those cheap ikan bilis so that’s a thumbs up in their favour.

    Of course, anyone who cares to come and visit our little town, I would bring them to enjoy the best we have to offer. That is why I prefer to go to places where I know people – they will do the same.

  2. U made the right choice to take your guests to this sort of place, I rather this than 8 course banquet. We have nice Indo food here n my kids did it as a language subject in school, their teachers are very passionate about their culture n end of semester sometimes will organise a dinner in the authentic restaurants for the students n some sell lovely ‘changs’too similar to nyonya said…

    Me too, this kind of cuisine is a whole lot more fragrant and tastier than others – with all the ingredients used (will be talking about that in my rendang post, coming up real soon), I would enjoy it a lot more and the best part, of course, would be there is none of that msg overdose that you find in a lot of Chinese places.

    Interesting options, they have, at the unis there – I don’t think they have such things here. 😦
    They have chang too? I’ve noticed in my Filipino & Indonesian blogger friends’ blogs that we do have a lot in common, just that maybe they call them by slightly different names. I wonder what they call chang there. Here, the Malays call it ketupat too and they make very nice ones – they are always so good with their hands, small and very even. The ketupat daging (chicken, of course) with a hint of ketumbar, so yes, theirs a little like our nyonya chang, was RM1 each and the red bean, 50 sen – both nice!

  3. There’s a Malaysian restaurant on the Gold Coast where my sister lives. It’s very popular but tastes like no Malaysian food I’ve ever tried. 🙂

    I guess when you’re overseas, you just make do with what you can get but I do know of many who have learnt to make and cook their own at home and needless to say, anything you do yourself would usually beat anything at the shops.

  4. The fried chicken platter looks like fish to me at first sight.. Very deep fried looking.. I like the kerabu paku.. I’ve eaten it here, they serve cold with lots of onions and lime juice, tasted sweet too, sedap 😛

    Yes, the paku here is nice…and the midin too, same recipe, almost the same taste – just the difference in the type of ferns used.

    The chicken looked over-fried to me at first, and the fish too so I was initially quite upset (plus the burnt skin on the ayam bakar) but when we started eating, no, they were nicely done, just right. Maybe it was due to the batter and the marinades used, very nice!

  5. All deep fried & barbecued/grilled together with the sambal sure taste great. The paku kerabu is a welcoming dish anytime but umai I give it a pass. A plus point for them for not using the cheap bilis. Bet they have read your post regarding that.

    You do not like umai? You eat sashimi? The frozen salmon, air flown can’t be all that fresh despite what they say, having travelled so far…but of course, fresher than those sold in the supermarts and places. Those, dunno how long already.

    I would not go for the umai at the Malay stalls either, they use the frozen fish fillet, not fresh fish. Here, they use fresh duai/bawal – same as that not-very-cheap restaurant in town. They all enjoyed it – for me, a little bit too sour but ok if eaten mixed with rice.

  6. no indonesian restaurants? that should definitely be rectified! it’s a bit sad, ya, how indonesian food has not managed to break into the spotlight, considering that thai and vietnamese restaurants are popular everywhere … the ayam bakar looks tasty 😀

    I don’t think I know of many in KL either. Of course, there are the ayam penyet, the bakso and those things all over but not many full-fledged Indonesian restaurants or not many there that bloggers have blogged about. Maybe they are not as popular compared to the western and Italian or the Japanese and Korean places, for instance, so all of them have taken a back seat. I so loved the nasi padang at some of the restaurants in Singapore way back in 1973, so very nice but even then, it was not cheap so I could not go and eat all that often, student days. Sobssss!!!!!!

  7. See it makes me crave for it…

    Indonesian cuisine, lots in Singapore. I so loved the nasi padang that I had. Slurpssss!!!!

  8. Indeed you made a perfect choice! Those food are so local and I am sure your cousins love them to bits! Sibu really has a lot to offer … yummsss!!!

    Well, you’ll never know for sure until you come again… 😉

  9. Yummy! I love all that. Indonesian food suits my taste too. Definitely a lot cheaper over here compared to Australia. I cannot imagine eating at those prices.

    I guess it’s like us eating western here – RM40-50, it’s around AUD10-20 so to them, they think it is so very cheap! But of course, their western would cost a bomb as well, nothing cheap there.

  10. Added to my checklist. ✔️ Nasi Ayam Penyet is always my favourite dish.

    There’s a place in Kuching, Bumbu Cabe – I saw the photos on Facebook. Looks like one very very nice place that I would love to check out!

  11. I like the look of the fried chicken leg and the pomfret very much and I’ll bet they were good! Love pomfret.

    The one here is good. I know places where they use the frozen ones, the meat is sort of mushy – not nice at all, the texture and the taste. Same with the chicken.

  12. Maybe you can request them to stay much longer next time, so can let them try all the nice food around Sibu.

    Of course I did but they would want to make many stops here and there to visit family and friends.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

