He said…

My missus said that her brother, my bother-in-law…oopsss…I mean, my brother-in-law (Hehehehe!!! Just joking!) said that the Hokkien mee here…

Ban Chow Fook

…was very nice. I was here once before sometime ago for the freshwater prawn noodles but I had not been back there since.

Well, my missus and I dropped by the other day to give it a try but unfortunately, it looked like some people had not completely swung back into action after the long Chinese New Year break and the guy told us that the people making the bigger Hokkien noodles had not resumed their regular daily deliveries so if we did not mind, he would just use the eyew mee – our version of the yellow noodles that is not so yellow and minus the alkaline thing and the smell.

We said it was all right so this was served (RM3.80)…

BCF Hokkien mee 1

…in no time at all and if you think that looked exactly like our Foochow fried noodles, you are absolutely right. It even tasted like it…

BCF Hokkien mee 2

…and since usually, lard is used in the frying, the presence of the pork fat crusts…

BCF Hokkien mee 3

…did not make any difference in the taste.

I am pretty sure that even with the right kind of noodles, it will still taste more or less the same – like Foochow fried noodles and not like KL Hokkien mee and considering that it tasted pretty good, I would not mind dropping by again if it is Foochow fried noodles that I want but no, this is not where you should be heading to if you are craving for some decent KL Hokkien mee.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

13 thoughts on “He said…”

  1. You are right, the sauce/gravy is too watery to be like KL dark hokkien mee. But do give it the benefit of a doubt and return to try again when the yellow noodle is available. Who knows, maybe the yellow noodle may absorb the gravy and thicken it.

    I may do that some day but I seldom venture to that area usually, in the other direction from my place, not on the way to town but no, I’m not getting my hopes up too high.

  2. I prefer Fuchow fried noodles to KL Hokkien Mee anytime. But then again, the only Fuchow fried noodles I’ve eaten are those from Sitiawan. I don’t know if they are any different from the ones in Sibu though.

    I think I saw some pics somewhere and it looked very similar, not their kampua mee or kompia though – those two were very different. Hopefully, I will get to go to Sitiawan myself one fine day and try all of theirs myself.

  3. oh yeah, from the looks of it, the kl long-time residents would glance at this and say, nope, not hokkien mee. but it’s amusing how i was actually first introduced to penang hokkien mee before kl hokkien mee, so part of me will always think of hokkien mee first as prawn mee instead 🙂

    My first time was at Tunku Abdul Rahman, 1984, in one of the back streets and my first impression was – eyewwwww….it looked like a plate of very dark, big fat worms! 😀 😀 😀 Tasted very garlicky, not really to my fancy. I stuck to the very nice Cantonese fried after that – loved the one at PJ Old Town, that kind where they deep fried the noodles till crispy first and then pour the wat tan hor- like egg sauce with all the ingredients and veg over it. Can’t get that here either.

    If I’m not wrong, Singapore Hokkien mee is another different thing as well.

  4. Only pork crusts and vegetables with no other ingredients?

    There were pieces of meat. You can ask for extra ingredients, of course – can go for the one with the giant freshwater prawns – click the link to the old post to see that – but of course, you will have to pay a lot more and be forewarned that with these extra ingredients, especially the prawns, the taste may come out a little different – not quite the same as the regular ones…and if you are all for the original taste, sometimes, it is best not to rock the boat.

  5. Ermm, the noodles looks good though without much ingredients. Say NO to pork fat crusts..I would pick them & leave at the side.

    That was EXACTLY what I did! Not all that fond of the taste and smell. Seems to be an attraction in KL, Penang…they have those in their char kway teow too.

  6. Looks alright… just like the plate of Hokkien Char I had for yesterday’s lunch but yellow noodles + vermicelli noodles were used instead.

    I like it when they mix the noodles – they do that with Singapore Hokkien mee too.

  7. Happy Lunar New Year, Arthur! I miss KL Hokkien mee. We used to have them at Kheng Hock before they downsized their kopitiam. Not sure if they still have them now. Can’t beat the KL ones but better than none, just to ease the crave…

    Thanks, and the same to you. Have not been to Kheng Hock, only once. Not too fond of that loud-mouthed guy there. Dunno of any place here with really good Hokkien mee, those that I’ve tried, just ok, not great.

  8. You are right, the big fat noodles (tai look mein) has the alkaline smell.. Agree with you, the taste is more or less the same even if we use normal yellow mee or “sang mein”.. Most important is the gravy/sauce and pork lard 😛

    …and they say the fire and the heat of the wok too, for that wok hei fragrance. Otherwise, not nice.

  9. Usually i will put the lard aside, i don’t take lard…

    Wahhhhh!!! So healthy, and all that zumba! Must be as fit as a fiddle!

  10. KL Hokkien mee is very dark. There’s a good one behind my office but it is getting really pricey. One packet for something like RM9.00.

    Wow!!! Here, tapao RM6.00 and I have enough for the whole family! Not much meat and veg though, oodles of noodles.

  11. So noti of you, huh… does your wife read your posts? 🙂 I guess she does not, right? My two kids never read my posts… only one does.. About the plate of noodles, the portion looks small.. enough for me though…. with the lard, I am sure it is very tasty!

    You like? It was good…for one but we skipped lunch after that. Getting old, not eating that much these days.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

