Married…

My nephew (my wife’s brother’s son) and his wife tied the knot in Chiengmai, Thailand on the 18th of January. Some of you may know the couple, the two in the Sangkaya coconut ice cream franchise business venture.

They came home for the Chinese New Year celebration here so we were able to take time off for a simple all-in-the-family tea ceremony…

Tea ceremony

…and a wedding banquet at this restaurant in town which started off with this…

Yee Sang

– they managed to get this for the dinner in conjunction with Chinese New Year and my niece carted home all the cans of abalone to add to the dish.

Then, the dinner proper started with this dragon boat loaded with goodies…

Dragon boat

…followed by the unmentionable soup which was nothing to get upset about though as I could not find a single strand in it – despite the price of a table. I heard it was around RM600-700…and for that price, I certainly would expect a lot more.

Β The steamed fish…

Steamed fish

…was very nice and there was enough in that huge slab for us to go for seconds and thirds.

The roast chicken and duck combo platter…

Roast poultry

…was all right though the duck was a little on the tough side.

Then came the broccoli dish…

Broccoli

…which was a bit more special than usual with all that abalone, mussels and everything in it other than the usual mushrooms with oyster sauce.

This was a disappointment – the butter prawns…

Butter prawns

The crustaceans looked so impressive – they were huge but unfortunately, they were bland, rather tasteless and not sweet at all.

Dessert was a fruit platter and this…

Dessert

…which, of course, I enjoyed very much as I loved the crackers with the lotus paste filling, pandan this time around…

Pandan lotus paste filling

It was a great gathering, all the family members from my wife’s side and it turned out that some the younger ones were my ex-students too! What a pleasant surprise. Small world indeed!

Congrats once again, John & Ivy. May your life together be blessed with abundant joy and overwhelming success in all that you two do together. God bless always, cheers!!!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

13 thoughts on “Married…”

  1. What a lovely couple. Congrats to them! The food looks fine. As always it is about celebrating the couple, the food is just a bonus.

    Thanks. True, very true. I love weddings, all that happiness and love in the air. My MIL was so happy, smiling the whole time – her grandson getting married.

  2. A double celebration & great gathering for the family. As always food looks good especially the steamd fish & broccoli dish. Congrats to the lovely couple. God Bless.

    Thank you. Very hectic, the wedding celebrations and all plus Chinese New Year at the same time. I think I will have two days’ open house and then, close shop. Wanna rest, old man, not so energetic.

    1. According to wong da xin at Hong Kong said is not so soon, got to wait till next year summer, what….

      Oh? Next summer? Time flies, will be here in no time at all. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  3. Congrats to the couple. Ooh, my friends in KL were raving about their ice cream when I was there.

    Thank you. Yes, generally very well-received…but I have yet to try it. 😦

  4. Congratz to the newlyweds. So nice to have a family gathering especially during the festive season. Gong Xi Fa Cai!! ☺️

    Thank you. Very very nice but so very hectic, so many things to do, so little time.

  5. The bride is so pretty! I had that unmentionable soup too at dinner yesterday evening πŸ˜€ Same as you, there was hardly any sharks fin, mostly crab but it was good all the same.

    A rip off. Crab meat and egg in cornflour starch soup. I would ask for that to be omitted, it will make quite a bit of difference in the total price.

  6. Congrats to the newly wed… Good that they still keep to the tea ceremony tradition, my cousin has do away with the tea ceremony, no tea ceremony…

    I would want to do away with it too. In fact, we Foochows do not practise this, not our tradition – we just bow three times and collect the ang pao. Easier. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

