Grease…

I saw the movie in KL many many years ago. I think it was 1978 and an embarrassing thing happened.  I managed to find my way to Bukit Bintang and there I went looking for the Cathay Cinema. I walked and walked but there was no sign of the place and I decided to stop a young Indian girl to ask where the cinema was. She stared at me with that strange look on her face, turned and walked away. “Gee!” I thought, “KL girls sure are unfriendly!”

I continued walking and just a few steps away, there it was! The cinema that I was searching for. No wonder the girl reacted that way. She probably thought I was trying to be fresh or something as the cinema was right round the corner. Well, I got to watch the movie for the first time there…and yes, I watched it again when it came to Sibu and a lot more times after that…and never failed to enjoy it again and again.

Fast forward to 1994, I managed to get to watch the stage musical at the Dominion Theatre at West End, London…

Grease at West End, London 1

It was truly an unforgettable experience. Everyone knew the words to the songs and were singing along and many even got up and danced…

Grease at West End London 2

Debbie Gibson was Sandy in that one – those of you who are older (though not as old as I am) would remember her in “Lost in your eyes” that was a hit around here in the 80’s.

Well, Fox did a remake of the musical on Sunday, January 31st (Monday, 1st February here) and the live telecast certainly was very well-received with a whole lot of raving reviews in the mass media. I have not seen the whole thing but as far as the songs go, I personally feel that there are a few hits like this one…

…and this one that made me want to get up and dance (…as if I still could! Sobsss!!!) and this was very good too…

Unfortunately, when it was time for the song that I liked best in the show (one of my regular karaoke favourites)…

…the sound was a little off but I still enjoyed it a lot.

On the down side, I like Frankie Valli’s rendition of the theme song a lot more than Jessis J’s and I did not think Boyz II Men did a better job than Frankie Avalon while this, in my opinion, paled in comparison to Sha Na Na’s livelier rendition of the song…and I prefer Travolta and Olivia’s to this one…

…plus the fact that the lips were totally out of sync with the lyrics of the song sure did not help one bit but I would say that Julianne Hough sure made a really pretty Sandy, as pretty or maybe even more so than Olivia…and by the way, fans of Mario Lopez would be delighted to see him in the show as Vince Fontaine. I wonder if he would make a better Danny Zuko.

We do have a couple of Fox channels on our satelite tv here but I don’t think we could get to watch this here. Well, if they ever get to show it anytime soon, I sure wouldn’t want to miss it. What about you?

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

9 thoughts on “Grease…”

  1. Oh what wonderful memories! I can’t count the number of times I watched that movie as a kid! It’s a classic that still holds much fun. I still enjoy the songs and yes, I love the “Greased Lightning” car scene too.

    Same here. Anything this good never dies, they go on and on and on…

  2. I just watched this yesterday! 🙂

    It is very nice, it’s the second (I think) “Live” musical “event”. TV stations are starting to do these events now since traditional scripted shows are not doing very well, reality TV is also loosing market share to on-demand services like Netflix (and downloading of course).

    That’s how I got Grease Live too! It’s a 4 GB download, but the quality is very, very good. 720p, if you want the link just buzz me and I can send it over.

    There’s no spoilers to be given since you already know what Grease is all about, the casting is very good and the live nature of the filming makes things very unexpected too – there was a part where the audio was a bit wonky coz they were filming outside and it was raining.

    Gotta love these live TV events, the previous one was Sound of Music Live, also very good, hopefully there will be more musicals done live on TV in the future.

    I managed to get to a few links but one would have to log in first…so I did not bother. Yes, there were some technical hitches during the live telecast so the sound was not good for Hopelessly devoted to you and Born to hand jive, read that in the reviews…and then, there was the rain outside. Actually, I’m more into the songs and Fox uploaded all of them onto Youtube…except Born to hand jive, probably the sound was really bad.

    My cousin downloaded The Sound of Music and burned the cd, wanted to send to me but I was not keen. Carrie Underwood is no Julie Andrews, that’s for sure – I actually thought Lady Gaga did a much better job at singing the theme song on one of those award shows – she was good!

  3. I’ve never seen this movie, even though it’s shown on tv every now and then – probably because Olivia Newton-John is Australian. The stage production also appear every so often, but I’ve also never seen this.

    I love musicals. Guess it’s because I am so into songs, so I enjoy the movie too.

  4. It has been ages since I last watch movie. Though English educated, I seldom watch English movie. I prefer to Chinese/Madarin movie to English & same goes to the songs.

    I’m more into English but when I was young, I saw a lot of those Shaw Brothers’ movies – my grandfather owned a cinema in town so I got to go and see all of them free. I also listened to Chinese songs…and Malay songs and movies too…and Hindi ones as well. All rounder, eh? 😀 Not so much these days, not all that fond of the current ones. They don’t make them as they did in the past anymore.

  5. Love the evergreen Grease.. it is still showing in Astro 702 every now and then… I watched countless times already, from the original movie in the cinema to the video recorder, TV and now Astro… even my kids love this musical show ever since they were young…

    Runs in the family, eh? Yes, it’s such a fun show, very entertaining!

  6. Happy Lunar New Year to you and your family… Just in case, i didn’t online…

    Same to you and yours. Wahhhh!!! So busy, grand celebration kah?

  7. Never seen or heard about this movie, may be not from my ‘era’?? :p

    Oh? That’s around the same time as Saturday Night Fever, but guess you dunno that too then.

  8. Oh yes, I remember Grease! Sure got me tapping my feet that one 🙂

    Yes, real good fun, so enjoyable. In fact, I liked it more than Saturday Night Fever – around that same time – the movies.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

