I’m taking over…

There used to be a halal Chinese restaurant here probably owned by a Chinese Muslim convert as it had a Chinese name, somebody surnamed Low. I never went to try and neither did I hear of anybody talking about it except once when someone was ranting over the prices he or she was charged there. Eventually, it closed down and now, somebody else is taking over…

Keripan Cafe Sibu

I don’t know what that name means – the closest word in Malay that I know is lipan, centipede.

I guess they inherited everything that the previous owner had for her restaurant so generally, it looked like a nice place…

Keripan Cafe, inside

…though when we were there at around 11.00 a.m., I thought the place needed sweeping and the Italian-tiled pavement outside was in dire need of mopping. They had ashtrays…

Ashtray

…but it would be nice if they could do a little bit more than just the mere disposing of the butts.

Luckily, it was raining that morning so it was nice and cool. I did not see any fans inside, just a few outside above the pavement while inside, they had those air conditioner vents, obviously from the previous restaurant, but I doubt they would switch those on, seeing that the place was quite open.

Well, I have had conflicting reviews of the place – somebody went and had their nasi kerabu and shared the photograph on Facebook and he said, “Biasa aje!” (ordinary/nothing special). Then, I heard a friend raving about it saying that it was nicer than the ones that we would go for here. Like I have always said, one man’s meat is another man’s poison – to each his own so I just had to go there and find out for myself.

I had the nasi kerabu

Nasi kerabu Keripan Cafe

…with ayam percik (RM12.00)…

Ayam percik Keripan Cafe

…and as one can clearly see, they were not very generous with the special gravy or sambal and the sprinkling of the fish/grated coconut combo and I did not see any air budu either. The kerabu/ulam-ulaman or the raw vegetables could have been cut finer and they did not have some of those they had at that other place – like the ulam raja, for instance, that has its special fragrance and taste. The sambal cili was kind of diluted but one saving grace was that they had this stuffed chili…

Stuffed chili Keripan Cafe

…that they do not have at that other place. As for the chicken, it was over-tender, not very nice and too soft for my liking like the ones they had here, probably those cheaper frozen ones and for that very reason, I never went back to the latter again. Likewise, I am in no hurry to come back here and if I do, I certainly would not bother ordering the chicken the next time around.

My missus had the fish (RM7.00)…

Nasi kerabu ikan goreng Keripan Cafe

…and she did not say anything about it so I guess it was all right. This was more expensive that the ones with fish or chicken at that other place, just that it had the little bit extra – the stuffed chili so all in all, if it is nasi kerabu that we are looking for, I would much sooner go back to our regular place. The one here, this much I would say, is nice enough should one happen to be in the vicinity on a weekday – they only serve this on Saturdays at the other place – but unless you are all right with that kind of chicken, perhaps you should give that a skip and go for the fish.

Moving on from the post proper, I really must thank my cousin and his wife for the lovely traditional goodies…

From Ah Lek & Saliah

…that they went through the trouble of getting and giving us for Chinese New Year and also to my blogger-friend, Angeline, in Taiping Perak, for the card…

From Angeline

…that she sent and last but not least, thank you also to my ex-student, home from Penang for Chinese New Year, for the very nice acar

From Pek Hong

…that his mum makes and he never fails to give me some every year.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

22 thoughts on “I’m taking over…”

  1. Angeline’s card made it to you in time for cny! They seem to give a lot of rice and not enough special gravy for the rice.

    Yes, only a few days to go! NO, they just had the usual amount of rice, just that they scrimped on the gravy – so very little. When it is not enough, the rice is…just rice plus the blue colour, nothing much else to eat. 😦

  2. At least you give this place a try. Never try, never know. Now you can make comparison. πŸ˜‰

    Lovely card from Angeline. And so are the goodies from your cousins and ex-students. Lucky you. ^^

    Indeed, always so lucky, so blessed with all the wonderful people around.

    Yes, good to try and see. Conflicting opinions from friends.

  3. Not a good first impression. If that’s what they show to the public, imagine the hygiene in the kitchen (which is generally hidden from the public so most likely even worse). I may not have even sat down.

    They have an open kitchen and it looked clean, not a problem but yes, not a very big place – they can make an effort to come early to clean up and make the place look presentable. The toilets are clean but I think they need a little tidying up. This is just the beginning – imagine if it is after some time, all that neglect would surely make the place look quite miserable. For one thing, I did notice the boy spraying some disinfectant or what on the table and wiping it clean each time some customers vacated a place.

  4. Nice colour of the rice, not too blue. Looks good though it is not up to your expectation. Lovely CNY card & goodies. That bottle of acar is to die for. Yumzzzz

    Yes, this ex-student’s mum makes really nice acar, just like the ones my MIL used to make. I will usually keep in the fridge, will take out to eat with rice when there is nothing much to eat – will make one want to eat more!

  5. I know!

    It’s the one diagonal (kinda) to the Huai Ann Church e.g. beside Pos Laju in the sense that you’ll drive past this ex-Chinese Muslim restaurant when you turn right? I remember it had a yellow signboard and said something like “Chinese Muslim Restaurant” or “Halal Chinese Food” or something to that effect. I wondered how it was doing coz there wasn’t anyone there and I wondered if the Muslim population in Sibu is enough to sustain a halal Chinese restaurant. You can hardly do it in KL, except in niche places, not really enough demand, a few managed to get by though so I don’t see it being successful in Sibu coz Muslims are the minority so they’ll probably get government or police business at most.

    Someone mentioned it was expensive too, he had gone before for a corporate meal and it wasn’t good to boot. Now it’s a new place with reasonably decent looking and priced food.

    You got the restaurant right but not the location – this one is at the corner opposite the RHB Bank corner – the SIB and Catholic churches are a little up the road,, on the other side. Yes, somebody was complaining about the shocking prices – that was why I never bothered to check it out.

  6. I wonder can just order the nasi kerabu only ya? without anything chicken or fish?

    Didn’t take note of what else they have on their menu, but my impression is that there’s not very much. I saw a lot of people having their nasi lemak but I can’t say it looked so good I would want to go back there again to try that.

  7. i guess the new management has to do something to really spruce the place up instead of just taking over and serving mediocre offerings. πŸ™‚

    on a side note, love what you did to your home, the CNY decor. πŸ™‚ saw it on fb, superb! all i did was paste two chinese new year red angpaos on my front door.

    There is beauty in simplicity…like when there is a lot in the ang paos that you give out. Hehehehehe!!!!!! I’m still at it, not quite done yet, the decorating and I still have a few days to go. Old man…do a bit, rest…do a bit, rest… So kesian! πŸ˜€

  8. I don’t appreciate Nasi Kerabu, Nasi Padang, Nasi-whatever… don’t seem to understand what’s good in these dishes LOL i guess i’m Malaysian-sesat

    You definitely are. I’m your exact opposite – would go for these anytime…rather than those that you go for. By the way, nasi padang is Indonesian, my dear, obviously named after a place there. Not only Malaysian sesat, your borders stretch much further than that, it seems.

  9. Nasi kerabu seems to be very common where you are. I think it’s hard to get even in Singapore. Impossible here.

    Originates from Kelantan. Not very common here as well. So far, only one place having this and only on Saturdays but you can find a lot during Ramadhan – especially the stalls outside the army camp, wives of the soldiers from the peninsula.

  10. thank goodness the cafe is named keripan and not lipan! heheh πŸ˜€ hmmm, the texture of the grains of the nasi kerabu looks not quite satisfying enough … but hopefully they will improve with time πŸ™‚

    Ya, I certainly hope so – wouldn’t mind going for nasi kerabu on weekdays, not just on Saturdays. I wonder what keripan means.

  11. I haven’t taken nasi kerabu before so not sure how it tastes like. Yes, it is a bit dry, with more curry, the rice could be finished in no time.. I heard my friends like the nasi kerabu near my place but I have yet to try.. not into spicy food so much..

    Wahhhh!!! You’re so near Kelantan, can easily get very good authentic ones there. Not necessarily spicy, depending on the sambal cili. Very healthy wor…all those raw vegetables!!! πŸ˜‰

  12. Thought Angeline card will reach you earlier, as same in Malaysia, although West and East Malaysia, as i receive earlier than you… Thought Singapore will be longer as different country…

    Sigh!!! Can never tell, these people. Be thankful that I got it…and it was in time for Chinese New Year, not weeks after…or worse, never! 😦

  13. Ahh。。。i saw nasi kerabu!!i like it πŸ™‚
    and wish you and family happy chinese new year in advance in case i no online after this….. πŸ™‚
    btw,your blog templete very got cny feel, nice~

    I enjoy nasi kerabu too, very much. Wahhhh…going to be so busy, no time to go online? All the young pretty girls queue up to meet this handsome young man, is it? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Qong Xi Fa Cai to you and your loved ones too, all the best in the Monkey Year!

  14. Ahh…i like nasi kerabu, yummy~
    wishing you and family happy chinese new year in advance in case i no online after this, gong xi fatt choi and angpow post come, lol πŸ™‚
    and your new templete very got cny feel, nice~

    Ahhhh!!! Duplicate comment, dunno why they had to await moderation. You have not dropped by to comment, that is why, I am sure. Hehehehehe!!!!

  15. Th gravy looks little there on the rice . I don’t think it taste great though I’m curious how nasi kerabu tasted like. Anyway , good that you patronized it and try it once and don’t come back again till they improved.

    You can give it a try – I love it, kind of Thai influence, I would say. Hopefully, they will improve.

  16. The acar sure looks good. Craving for some but too lazy to make!

    I have three jars, given to me…four, but we finished one already. Hehehehehe!!!! If you were in Sibu, I could spare you one. πŸ˜‰

  17. When I was expecting Amanda, I was craving for the nasi kerabu we get from Desa Wira. I asked a colleague to buy for me together with other colleagues. The next day was so excited waiting for the nasi kerabu. Lo and behold, she bought everyone else’s order but my nasi kerabu. I bawled my eyes out in the staff room and everyone panicked at the sight of an 8 months pregnant lady crying like a small kid. Lol!
    Someone offered her nasi kerabu and in between sobs, I told her, I want the sambal nyior. Huhhhu

    Muahahahahahaha!!!! That was so tragic. How could they forget!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

