Rise…

I googled and found out that bangkit in Malay means rise and this is what we call kuih bangkit

Kuih bangkit
*Archive photo*

If I am not wrong, it is made from sago flour and the quality of the flour is of vital importance in order to make really good ones. Those days when they used to make it at home, some might not be so white, sort of yellow or brown in colour and some might have a not-so-pleasant smell to it. Other than that, there is also the question of how much santan (coconut milk) is added, how thick and rich it is.

My missus bought these…

Made-in-Singapore kueh bangkit

…at a supermarket here, made in Singapore and it was not expensive. However, I could hardly taste any of the much desired coconut fragrance in it, far from being anything like the real thing.

In my younger days, my mum and aunties and also my maternal grandma would make our own. We would all converge at my grandma’s house and all of them would work together to make the most delightful kuih bangkit. They would make the dough and use a brass mold to stamp out the flowers and I would help clip the “designs” on top using these brass pincers…

Brass pincers
*Archive photo*

…and once ready, they would be baked painstakingly to perfection in this brass oven…

Antique brass oven
*Archive photo*

…over a hot charcoal fire with some of the embers placed on top of the thing as well. Of course, the connoisseurs would tell you that the ones these days, baked in an electric oven, would come nowhere near the ones that we used to enjoy so much a long long time ago.

A few years ago, I heard that the ones at the nyonya stall at one of the leading shopping malls in Kuching had very nice ones…

Kuching kuih bangkit
*Archive photo*

I think the stall is still there though I have not heard of anyone dropping by to grab their Chinese New Year cookies lately so I do not know if they are still making them.

Meanwhile, here in Sibu, I stumbled upon these…

Payung Cafe kuih bangkit 1

…very nice ones…

Payung Cafe kuih bangkit 2

No, they did not make them themselves. I was told that they were only helping a friend out, selling them  for him or her.

No, they do not look quite like the ones we used to make…

Payung kuih bangkit 3

– the shape of the flower mold is not the same and it does not have the clipped patterns on top either. Obviously, they have used a flower mold and that was it!

However, they are very nice. The moment you open the jar, the whiff of the rich santan fragrance will sweep you off your feet, definitely a lot nicer than the ones my missus bought from the supermarket and nicer than some that I have had, available here and there at any time of year. They do not come cheap though – RM22.00 a jar and if you buy 10 jars, you will get one free! Well, if you are interested, you can drop by the café where they have samples for you to try and you only need to buy only if you think it is really that good and value for money, no obligation whatsoever…but you’d better hurry before it runs out – they’re selling like hot cakes, so to speak. LOL!!!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

16 thoughts on “Rise…”

  1. I have forgotten what they are called in Cantonese or Mandarin. I used to just pop them into my mouth and let them melt – just so yummy!

    Does it have names in Chinese? We just call it kueh bangkit.

  2. I used to help my mum to clip the design too. This kuih bangkit must be rich in santan then it taste great. I also love kuih sepit, kuih S & lek tau ko. Nowadays, I never see people make lek tau ko. These few are my childhood CNY cookies.

    Yes, that is why everyone who has tried says it is so good, very nice. My missus bought kuih sepit made in Kuching, mini rolls…not bad, quite good. We never buy lek tau ko though I quite enjoy those. I think there is a bakery in town selling that, nice also. I love their…dunno what you call it…big ones with fried shallots inside.

  3. I often wonder if all of those biscuits actually get eaten?

    They do! Everyone that drops by will pick from the selection and help themselves. Of course, the nicer ones will finish very fast. If the bottles are not 100% airtight, leftovers will have to be thrown away after a couple of days, replenish with new ones. Cakes, of course, will be replaced with fresh ones in a day or two, will not be good after a short while…so best not to put out too much, will all go to waste.

  4. Kuih bangkit!! Very traditional cookie you could find around.

    I agreed with you. Mostly outside sell those either too hard or tasteless. Hard to find good and fragrant one. Which remind me, need to buy some cookies this weekend. Havent really start shopping. Lol. Dont feel the mood here. Dampen by economy and maybe busy with schools etc and cny is coming too fast!!

    Hurry! Hurry! It will be here before you know it – time flies. Economy no good? Ok lah, just don’t buy things that are too expensive – keep it simple. Anybody going over to Kuching? I can send you a jar or two of the very nice kuih bangkit. Cannot send by bus – may reach you in powder form, eat with spoon. 😀

  5. Kuih Bangkit is nice, once pop into the mouth, can’t stop eating, keke…

    Not cheap these days, these very nice ones, have to eat very very slowly. 😉

  6. My mom used to make this herself. I will help her put a red dot on each and every one of them. RM22 per tub is very reasonably priced. Some homebaker sells at RM40 a tub. Though I wish to help these homebakers, I feel it is kind of a ripoff selling at such exhorbitant price 😦

    RM40!!!! OMG!!! And I thought 22 is kind of pricey already but worth paying since they are so very nice. Red dot? Never had that before, never seen it actually. Our red dot would be our kuih dahlia – butter cookies, flower shaped…and we put a tiny dot of chopped cherry in the middle.

  7. Yes, in the good old days, my mother and female relatives would get together to make these kuih bangkit. And whilst they were at it, they made pineapple tarts as well.

    Same here, we would make the pineapple tarts too. They used the Sun Valley orange cordial bottle cap to stamp out the base in the pastry, then they also cut the pastry into strips for the side to wrap around the ball of jam placed on the base. Then we would clip the sides with those same brass pincers. Last step, we would use the leftover pastry to cut into very thin strips to make designs on the jam. Mine, of course, would be a big A…and I would claim ownership – all those with A would be mine, nobody else could eat. That was so much fun, those wonderful days long gone past.

  8. Looks like you redesigned your blog. It’s red background now. 🙂 Perfect for welcoming the Chinese new year.

    You mentioned about your mother, aunties, and maternal grandma gathering to make these yummy treat. The passage reminded me of the old days when relatives gather together with our grandparents. Now the grandparents are gone and so is the family gathering. Sad.

    Yes, so sad. Those were happy times, the days of the extended family. Everybody would get together on such occasions for this and lots more. Those days are gone now.

    Yes, the red colour is for Chinese New Year, symbolic.

  9. So it is around Rm20 per jar if you buy 11 containers… Yes, I do miss my younger days, each year, my late grandma made fragrant ones, it melts in the mouth with a heavy aroma of santan… warms up the whole mouth if you know what I mean… nowadays they are more on sugar and less santan… hard to find really authentic ones like I had during those years… I bought one in Penang recently, yet to try, it is homemade… Because it is properly sealed, I have not open it yet… as yet.. hahaha…

    Yes, I wonder why there is that a little warm sensation in the mouth while eating this kuih bangkit. I gave my girl a tub to take to her jungle school – now her housemate wants to buy. She likes it a lot! Will have to go again.

  10. My mom like to eat this.but not me. Too powdery.

    Nowadays not cheap oh these kuih bangkit

    Same here. I’m ok with bangkit, just so so, but my mum loves it – will even ask for it even though it is not Chinese New Year time – have to go and buy those not so nice ones from the kampung stalls. My girl and missus love it too.

  11. Kuih bangkit was one of my late grandpa’s favorite cookies. As a child, I liked to put it in my mouth and let it melt. So nice. And they came in various animal shapes like rabbit, tortoise and fish.

    Animal shapes? You’re sure they were not lek tau ko? They have the special wooden chuan for those, all the animal designs.

  12. New template? I think i’d prefer your old one 😛

    p/s: sorry, was away for a short trip

    Me too, but it’s high time for a change. Maybe when I’m free, I will look for some other template, hopefully, will find a nicer one.

    Ya, I know you came home looking like a grilled lobster. 😀

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

