This way…

I bought 1 kg of noodles for RM2.50 from my regular kueh stall at the kampung here the other day. I am not sure but it may be a little cheaper or the same elsewhere but anyway, with that amount, I would be able to cook a whole lot of noodles this way…or that, depending on how I would like it.

The first morning, I fried around half of it the lakia (Dayak/native) mee (noodles) style. It seems that they all call it mee mamak these days but I do feel that those would be very different with a whole lot of chili or tomato sauce used. Usually, outside, it would just be fried noodles, dry, with lots of fresh chili added while those at my school canteen before had bits of belacan (dried prawn paste) in theirs. I may have blogged about my own versions before but when I fried it that morning, these were the ingredients that I had…

Lakia mee ingredients

– one shallot, peeled and sliced, three cloves of garlic, peeled and chopped, some chilies, seeds removed and sliced thinly, some chopped spring onion, two eggs and some fish balls. Prawns would be nice but there weren’t any in the fridge and I would have added some taugeh (bean sprouts) but there weren’t any either. My missus had some pounded sambal belacan in the fridge so I decided that I would add a bit of that too.

This Malay version of the noodles are a little bit different from the Chinese ones here. They are thinner and firmer but no, it is not because of those not-too-desirable additives as there is none of that alkaline smell of yellow noodles that puts off a lot of people. Probably they add a bit more egg, I wouldn’t know.

I tossed the noodles with a little bit of soy sauce, mainly for the colour and a teaspoon of sugar…

Noodles, tossed

In the old days, I would hear people saying that the Malays used sugar in their cooking and never added any msg but these days, it seems that they have acquired the practice as well so sometimes I would get put off by what they cook especially when they add too much – just like at those Chinese eateries.

The process of cooking was pretty much the same as how I cooked most everything else – I fried the shallot and garlic in a bit of oil till golden brown before adding the fish balls and the chilies plus a teaspoon of the sambal belacan. Then the noodles went in and I mixed everything together thoroughly, adding a little bit of water periodically along the sides to let it sizzle and cook the noodles. Once done, I added the eggs and before dishing everything out, I threw in the chopped spring onion.

There you are! The noodles…

Lakia mee 1

…garnished with a bit of the sliced chili and the chopped spring onion that I had saved for the purpose.

Yes, it was very nice…

Lakia mee 2

…but I would love it a bit more spicy so I must add more chili next time. Other than that, I could not detect the sambal belacan so I would need a lot more of that as well.

I fried the remaining half of the noodles with the very nice lap cheong (Chinese sausage)…

Fried noodles with lap cheong

…that my friend, Annie, gave me and yes, it was very nice too.

Yes, there was enough noodles in that 1 kg for at least, 8 to 10 plates of what one would get outside so that would work out to around 50 to 60 sen a plate. At the rate the prices of those fried noodles at the stalls are shooting up – generally around RM4.00 or more, it certainly would make a lot more sense to just buy a kg and keep in the fridge and fry one’s own this way…or that.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

10 thoughts on “This way…”

  1. Are the noodles made by the seller? That sure seems like a great deal for house made noodles.

    Yes, homemade, small-scale cottage industry, pre-packed in 1 kg bags…but once open and with the strands loosened/separated, there is really quite a lot. I had to divide into two and cook on two different occasions…with a lot left over to share with others in the family.

    Very lucrative business, really. An old Malay lady was spotted with a bag full of cash at the bank – she wanted to deposit it all, her earnings for the day. My guess is she supplies her noodles to all the shops and stalls in town and if that is what she earns in a day, it is obvious that she actually earns a lot in a month!

    Very good really, the community service centre in the residential areas. They conduct courses for the people in their area teaching them to make noodles, dumplings, steamed paos, bread…everything! With all the unemployed and unemployable grads these days, they should think of going into something along these lines…and not just sell burgers by the roadside, all of them. 😦

  2. Your stir fried noodles look way way better than those sold outside. From your calculation, it makes absolute sense to fry your own noodles however you like since it is more delicious and much more too and you do it so well.

    Yes, but the thing is everyone must want to eat noodles. Outside, they can order their own thing, not everybody eating the same thing.

  3. The lap cheong is a nice touch to your second batch. (The first lot looks very good too.) On the rare occasions that we do home made pizzas, lap cheong is always on them together with chorizo or pepperoni.

    Never tried lap cheong with pizzas – my girl would frown on it, she’s such a purist. Can’t get chirozo or peperoni here though – the simple regular ham, bacon or sausages that we have here are mighty expensive, would need to think twice if we want to make our own pizzas. 😦

  4. Is this the mee jawa noodles you are using? For fried noodles, I always use the dried one in packet (Lee Fah mee), never try this type. Definitely going for the second batch of fried noodles as I love lap cheong.

    Yes, they use those for mee jawa, mee rebus and fried Malay mee or mee mamak but according to my relatives in Kuching, they do not like the yellow noodles there, same as elsewhere – have that unpleasant alkaline smell. So when I go over, especially around Chinese New Year, they would order at least 1 or 2 kgs each.

    I know the Chinese fried noodles in Kuching – they do not use this kind of mee and they deep-fry till crispy first and then pour the tomato sauce gravy over it, same as with the kway teow. But I have seen people sharing photos on Facebook of the Foochow-style fried noodles in Kuching – for those, they would have to use this type of noodles, that’s for sure. Look so good in the photos, nicer than here – lots of ingredients!!!

  5. Not bad .. You are getting better and better in your culinary skills. Can open stp shop already !

    If only I were younger…and looking at the amount of business those mediocre places get here, I would have been a millionaire already. πŸ˜₯

  6. Gosh, your fried noodles look scrumptious! Reminds me of my grandma’s fried noodles. Oh, that smell of yellow noodles is alkaline? I like the smell. Oh dear πŸ˜€

    I’m ok with the smell – have had it when I had something with yellow noodles over in the peninsular or some place, fine by me but it seems a lot of people do not like it. My main concern is whether the alkaline used to make the noodles firm is all that safe or not.

  7. I wish i could cook as well as you…

    Don’t bluff!!! You are definitely a lot better, just that you do not blog about it much. πŸ˜‰

  8. So delicious, and you have inspired me to cook again. By the way, I am going to Beijing Next week and I will try to post as much good food as possible.

    Have a safe and delightful trip. Bring lots of warm clothing, I hear it’s pretty cold in the temperate zones this year.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

