Better this way…

I blogged about their chicken rendang

Adabi beef rendang
*Archive photo*

…not too long ago and I said it was very good but we also tried their sup kambing (mutton soup) and did not like it as it was very salty and we had to dilute it quite a bit, after which it was very much better. If I remember correctly, I also added water to the rendang as it was somewhat dry and I wanted the gravy to eat my girl’s own-made naan with and we loved it! Perhaps that was why it was not that salty that day, just nice.

My girl said that she had tried the lamb curry…

Adabi lamb curry 1

…and she said she liked it. That was why I went out and bought a couple of cans. I did not really like the first one I tried as it was, like the rest, very salty as well.

For one thing, it was very oily…

Adabi lamb curry 2

…so what I did was to pour out all the oil first.

In the meantime, I went and peeled a potato and cut it into big chunks…and I boiled that in water…

Potatoes

…till cooked/soft before I added what was in the can of lamb curry. I love potatoes in my curry and the ones in the can are usually kind of overcooked and way too soft and the taste of the curry or whatever in them tends to be rather over-powering till there is hardly any taste of the potato left.

Once the potatoes were done, I poured everything in the can into the pot and mixed it all together well and after bringing it back to boil, it was ready to be served…

Adabi lamb curry 3

…and yes, I enjoyed that very much.

I am never a fan of all those curry and stuff that come in cans but I quite like this one…

Adabi lamb curry 4

Of course, I would not go as far as to say that it comes anywhere near what one would be able to dish out from scratch but this is good enough and it sure is very convenient especially when one feels rather lazy to cook anything that would require a lot more work.

We’ve tried the chicken kurma and it was good too though I cannot remember now whether it was too salty and we had to add water or not. I would never buy all those canned stuff with the exception of a few like luncheon meat, corned beef, sardines…and sweet corn for soups and peas and once in a long while, the button or straw mushrooms. Oh yes! I would buy the canned satay peanut sauce as well to cook our own version of satay beef or chicken and the AMOY clams in soy sauce, as and when necessary, or the stewed pork chops for my fried bihun and the oysters for my Foochow-style tofu soup.

Well, considering that these aren’t too bad, I sure would not mind stocking up my pantry with a few cans on standby for one of those days when there is nothing to eat in the house.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

12 thoughts on “Better this way…”

  1. Good to stock up on canned food for rainy days or post apocalypse days. Oops, sorry I have been watching too many of these movies. I love potatoes in curry too. So this Adabi canned curry got your stamp of approval though not perfect!

    There is currently this thing about NASA saying that there will be 15 days of of darkness or is it going to begin on 15th November or something…so if you believe that, time to stock up on lots of food. 😀 😀 😀 Yup, good enough for when there’s nothing to eat in the house…and when one is lazy to cook anything, anytime nicer than the rest.

  2. You made me missed Malaysia once more. All the delicious canned food. We dont get them here.

    However not a fan of canned curry. Somehow their flavours are very different compared to the cooked one.

    Yes, that is why I never bought those canned ones – they have that not very pleasant canned food smell. I find this one all right, not like the rest but still, nothing beats cooking one’s own even if one is using those instant curry pastes. Good enough to stock up in the pantry for “emergencies” and it may be even nicer than some of those at the shops and stalls – they may not be as nice, not all of them.

  3. I have never seen chicken and lamb curry with potatoes in a can! 🙂

    No Malaysian brands there? They do export overseas – would see them in Australia and New Zealand but if it is not this brand, then it may not be as nice. I do not buy them, would rather cook my own.

  4. I have never bought any canned food from this local brand. I went to few supermarkets near my area, none selling this brand. So other than the kari ayam dan daging that I used for my chicken curry, I do not use any adabi products. Hehe

    The curry powder, you mean? Yes, it is very good – my mum would use that those days when she was still cooking but one would have to prepare all the other ingredients from scratch. Nicer, of course, but such a hassle. These days, I would just use the instant curry paste – try A1 Mountain Globe, you would never want to go through all that trouble again. The rest are ok too, but this one is the best.

    Here too, it is quite hard to find anything from this brand. May find one or two, usually chicken curry. That day, I found this lamb curry at the supermarket out of town, Ulu Sg Merah – can’t remember where I got the rendang from. All different places, dunno why they all do not stock up on this brand. Lots from Yeo’s but I am not into theirs.

  5. Cooking from scratch is always much tastier and healthier.. tin cans can be stocked for emergency use.. I for one, seldom stock up, only eggs… hahahaa…

    I’m surprised. For somehow who does not cook that much, I would expect you to stock up on canned food. I guess you would choose the better option – just drive out and eat out, no need to clean up afterwards even.

  6. I do stock up some canned stuff on standby too.Talking about canned satay peanut sauce, I wonder whether the Wee’s brand satay sauce is still on sale in Supermarket. It has been quite a long time I have been looking for it & can’t find. The Adabi lamb curry looks fiery red, spicy? A1 Mountain Globe Curry paste still the best.

    Yes, no more Wee’s, it seems. These days, we use SUNSTAR – very nice. Give it a try! And for curry, meat or fish, it is A1 Mountain Globe. No others better. Nope, despite the colour, it was not spicy. Would love it more if it had been so.

  7. I also use the curry pastes that comes in jars. Some of them are locally made here and can be quite good. I haven’t noticed that brand of curry in cans in the shops here, but then again, I don’t usually buy canned curry.

    In jars? I do not see any here – other than tom yam pastes, no curry. Ours are all in foil packets. Not easily available here, much less there – this brand.

  8. that is a lot of oil on the surface of the can! luckily you poured it out, heheh 🙂 i guess with a relatively respected brand like adabi, the flavours and manufacturing process is well-tuned enough that they know what will keep most customers satisfied … the final result of the curry with potatoes looks appetising! 🙂

    I think it goes across the board – a lot of oil in most, if not all. I would pour it all away…or I may leave in the fridge till the oil has hardened and then I would remove with a spoon. So far, I like what I’ve tried, this brand, except that they are all too salty so I would have to dilute with water. Good in a way as the gravy goes well with rice.

  9. Nowadays i stock up some canned foods, only on standby when nothing left in the fridge to eat or on rainy day…

    Yes, we do the same too, not like those in the rural areas, in the jungle, especially when they do not have electricity/refrigerators, they will have to depend a lot on canned food and preserved foods.

  10. I will be sure to try this Adabi canned curry. Strange that I’ve not seen them over here.

    Not easily found here too. They need to look into their marketing section and improve on that.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

