What a shame!…

My girl was so looking forward to having lasagna for lunch that day when we made our way here (2.307624,111.848184) specially for that – the only place in town serving that Garfield’s favourite food, other than the miserable seafood one with imitation crab sticks at that franchise pizza place. Unfortunately, we were told that they were out of whatever ingredients so it would not be available that day. What a shame!

Well, since we were already there, we thought that we might as well order whatever that they had and of course, we just had to pick their very nice spinach egg pizza aka theΒ Bracio di FerroΒ (RM28.00)…

Bistecca & Bistro Bracio di Ferro 1

…our favourite among all that they have on their menu. The egg was not all that well done that day, a little on the raw side, a bit runny…

Bistecca & Bistro Bracio di Ferro 2

…but it did not matter really as it was, as always, very very nice and we sure enjoyed it heaps.

We have never ordered their spaghetti carbonara (RM16.00)…

Bistecca & Bistro spaghetti carbonara

…before as we aren’t all that crazy about the creamy sauce but that day, we decided to give it a try. It turned out pretty good, not as ultra-rich as some, so creamy that one would hardly want anymore after a spoonful or two…and my girl loved the bits of ham in it a lot. Still, we thought we would prefer their aglio olio that we would order usually.

We did not order anything else as my girl had something on that evening and she did not want a very heavy lunch so we just finsihed off with dessert – their very nice panna cotta (RM8.00)…

Bistecca & Bistro panna cotta

…which, needless to say, everybody enjoyed.

Well, that was a very nice lunch despite the fact that my girl did not get to enjoy her lasagna. We do hope they would get the ingredients and will be serving that again soon and we certainly would be back…for that!

Service was great as usual – the very sweet girl who served us the last time I was there with the guys from Kuching and I loved the lovely songs they were playing that day, including this one…

That’s really very nice, don’t you think?

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

21 thoughts on “What a shame!…”

  1. oh, you know i love runny eggs, so i’d happily eat that slightly raw yolk πŸ™‚ am also a spinach fan – when i was very young, i would eat spinach and pretend to be popeye by trying to lift the chairs and tables at home πŸ™‚ and yup, love eva cassidy’s songbird … such a shame that she passed on at an early age!

    You’ll love this, I’m sure. The name, Braccio di Ferro, actually means Popeye the Sailor. πŸ˜€ After they added this to their menu, we never bothered about all the rest! No plans to hop overseas (South China Sea)? Can have this and more! You’ll love it here in this little town, I’m sure – very different from over at your side in more ways than one. Hmmmm…looks like we do share similar tastes in music, eh?

  2. Too bad the lasagna was not available that day but the pizza kind of made up for that. I like spinach on anything so yum yum!

    Yes, I personally prefer this pizza to lasagna by a mile…bolognese, all tomato.

  3. Regarding the pizza, I would actually love it that way, the egg I mean with the runny egg yolk. Yums!

    We love it this way too, just that I did notice…the white was not quite all white yet. Can’t have it all, I guess.

  4. The pizza looks very good, and I have had spaghetti carbonara several times, it is so nice! πŸ™‚

    We’re not crazy about the rich creamy sauce. Once in a long while is fine.

  5. I’ve never had a spinach and egg pizza. It sounds as thought it would make a good breakfast.

    I’m surprised. It’s actually pizza fiorentina with slices of ham added. Not unique to this place only, I’m sure.

  6. Yes, my choices, spinach egg pizza & dessert. Nice lunch & lovely song.

    Not into carbonara too, eh? We neither. Just thought we would give it a try, something different for a change. Not bad, very nice but still not our favourite.

  7. Ok. I go and dig out my post and take a look at my carbonara.

    http://kuchingnite.blogspot.my/2014/02/love-it-at-first-taste.html?m=1

    Now I think yours was much better presented although rather unusual. Haha. I remember it was creamy but lack of seasoning.

    Hope the next round you guys are there, they would have lasagna.

    Hopefully. Yes, we thought the spaghetti was on the light or mild side but there was a bottle of parmesan at the table that we could add. We didn’t. We actually liked it like that especially with the bits of ham in it, salty enough for us. Not all that fond of the creamy sauce though, but something different for a change. We still prefer aglio-olio.

    Oh? Your pasta was just served like that on a plate. Usually, they would use those plates with a bowl-like hole in the centre, like an upside-down Mexican hat or sombero, and the pasta goes in there – looks like there’s very little.

  8. Pasta portion loos small.. Not enough for me, hehe.. I’m a big big fan of carbonarra, love the creamy cheesy sauce, can lick the plate clean too after that πŸ˜›

    Not a fan of carbonara, all of us. That is supposed to be one serving, for one person…but it was enough for the three of us. I can imagine my shape and size if I were to eat like you…already like King Kong! Will end up looking like Godzilla 😦

  9. Runny eggs? Why not? Panna Cotta looks good but i always have a hard time in finishing the dessert myself

    I love runny egg yolk but I would like the white, white – I spotted a bit that was still translucent.

    Hard time finishing that dessert? Why? Too sweet? This one is not sweet at all, just nice with the strawberry syrup – could have done with a bit more of that actually. As for the size, I could have finished it in one gulp, very small…but the three of us just shared one. No worries! I can always finish it if for you if you have a problem doing that on your own. Hehehehehe!!!! πŸ˜‰

  10. I like the dessert, me sweet tooth, hehe…

    Yes, it is nice. Not sweet but very nice, I would order this here whenever I feel like having some dessert.

  11. Spinach egg pizza? That was so healthy pizza I guess. Hehe. My daughter sure won’t touch that pizza. She is a veggie hater. Sigh…

    Same as me when I was small. My mum would put the servings of the vegetables on my plate beside the rice…and the rotan beside the plate. Boohuuuuuuu!!!!!

  12. Spaghetti looks like a small portion, may be I will need another plate of dish :p

    It was enough for us – especially considering that we are not all that fond of carbonara sauce. If the aerving had been bigger, we probably would not like it after a while – the law of diminishing returns, jelak! I would have ordered something else, another dish, at least, to share – usually, I would order 3 or 4 but that day, only 2 as my girl wanted just a light lunch – did not want anything too heavy…but I did insist on having dessert. πŸ˜‰

  13. Spaghetti carbonara, not for me. I cannot tahan the parmesan cheese 😦

    This was all right, just a little sprinkling on top, and if there was any cheese in the sauce, it did not stand out – very light and mild (and perhaps that was why Rose said they forgot the seasoning or what, when she had that) but even so, we still have not changed our minds about the creamy carbonara sauce, the same as how I am not into those very rich cheese cakes.

    I felt exactly the same way as you before regarding parmesan though – very smelly, I told my friend in Auckland. Here, we can only get the powder form in those plastic bottle shakers, apple green label – Kraft, I think and I never liked the smell – I am quite sure that was what they had in the bottle at every table and that was why we did not bother to add any to the pasta.

    My friend gave me one block of that from New Zealand and boy, that was so very nice! We loved it so much! Only thing was one would need to grate to spread on one’s pasta or whatever. All gone now, of course! Perhaps you can get such nicer ones at the cheese counter at one of the more upscale supermarts at your side, none here…unfortunately. 😦

  14. That spinach egg pizza looks interesting, so interesting I wanna make them at home. Never tried one yet ever.

    Would be so easy there – can get everything from the supermart – the pizza crust, the cheeses, the ham and all. Can’t get the crust here, and the ham and any kind of cheese here would cost a bomb. Best to just eat out and be done with it.

  15. I made a spaghetti carbonara recently from a recipe on the Japanese Youtube show “Cooking with Dog”. It did not use cream and was very nice.

    Oh? No cream? Gotta search for that and give it a try. My girl loves these pastas and stuff, not a fan of rice. 😦

    P.S.:
    Is this the one? Got cheese and milk, I see. Will bookmark & try soon. Love the spoken English!

    1. Yes, that’s the one. I don’t really like cream in food, too.

      Good for a spoonful or two, any more than that I would feel like throwing up. Same goes to those very rich and creamy cheesecakes, no, thank you.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

