All at once…

There was quite a bit of excitement a while ago when somebody came out with the idea of serving three different versions of kampua noodles on a plate and at the time, I did see the photos shared on Facebook and everyone was asking where one would be able to have that. Well, it so happened that they gave the wrong address and since I was there that day, I thought I might as well give it a try only to be told that it was not at that specified location but some place else. The nice guy told me where I could get to eat that…and he also told me that I would be able to find it here (2.312026,111.846263)…

TOTO Cafe

…which is actually round the corner from my house, among the shops right behind the Delta Mall here..

I have been there a few times before –Β here and here, for instance, but I am not all that fond of going there as it is always very crowded and one may not be able to get a table. To me, the main attraction would be a stall in another section to the left of this coffee shop, the one that I always ordered from on my previous visits. I, for one, had never tried anything from the kampua stall…

TOTO Cafe kampua stall

…where there was one nice lady running the whole show, all the cooking, serving and everything.

No, I did not go there purposely that morning in search of the tri-colour kampua noodles, not at all. In fact, I went to another place but I was told that the people at one particular stall there had gone off some place on holiday and then I drove to another one but it was closed, probably their off day for the week…and since this place was close by, I thought it would be a good time to drop by and check the kampua combo out.

I ordered the drinks which came in a jiffy, our kopi-o-peng (iced black coffee)…

TOTO Cafe kopi-o-peng

…and I could not believe my ears when I asked how much the two glasses were. Being unsure that I had heard correctly, I gave the boy RM5.00 and got RM2.60 change. What??? That was only RM1.20 a glass. Good grief!!! It is already at least RM1.80 elsewhere in town.

Actually, I thought my missus would order some of the things that I like from that other stall but no, she decided to go for the pian sip soup from the same kampua stall…

TOTO Cafe pian sip soup 1

…and that too was so much cheaper here – only RM2.50 a bowl…

TOTO Cafe pian sip soup 2

…while it is already RM2.80 mostly at coffee shops all over town and some have gone up to RM3.00 a bowl even! I noticed from the price list at the stall that it was the same for one plate or the regular kampua noodles, only RM2.50.

Ok…and now the moment of truth! Β This was what my three different varieties of kampua noodles all at once…

TOTO Cafe tri-colour kampua 1

…on one plate looked like. There was the mee pok (the flat noodles), slightly red as it had been tossed with chili sauce…

TOTO Cafe tri-colour kampua 2

…and the dark version – the noodles tossed with dark soy sauce…

TOTO Cafe tri-colour kampua 3

…and of course, there was the regular kampua noodles, tossed with light soy sauce…

TOTO Cafe tri-colour kampua 4

…and was thus, white.

So how much did this cost? That Facebook page gave the price as RM5.00 but what I had here was only RM3.50. I wouldn’t know if that is what they will charge at that other place – I’ve never been there to try. Incidentally, I saw somebody sharing a photo of his plate of tri-colour kolo mee going for a whooping RM7.00…at one kolo mee place in Penang!

As for the taste, it was like any other kampua noodles anywhere else, nothing really spectacular…and I did see the lady adding a generous scoop of msg to somebody else’s order so I quickly put in a special request for her to cut down on it in ours and I guess she did as we requested so what we had was fine by us, no msg overdose.

And now the million-dollar question! How do you think I ate that? Did I just toss all the noodles together and ate through the mashup of flavours…or did I eat each of the three one by one…or did I go spoon by spoon, one at a time, going round and round? LOL!!!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

23 thoughts on “All at once…”

  1. I think you ate each of the three one by one πŸ˜€

    Oh? What makes you think so? Because you think I’m very organised, very regimented? Typical of teachers? πŸ˜‰

    1. Yup! Africa is a goodie! It’s hard to believe it has been that long! Music really ages us doesn’t it!? LOL

      Yes, but like us, good music goes on and on. Can’t say the same about today’s songs though, quite forgettable most of them.

  2. Yes, like what Merryn said, I feel you ate them separately… The piansips look very nice la!!!

    Ahhhh!!!! Another one who thinks I’ve OCD. Hehehehehe!!!! Keep the guesses coming. Will reveal the answer eventually. πŸ˜€

  3. I need two glasses of that iced coffee this morning. Just a tiny splash of milk on top and I’ll be a happy girl.

    No milk for me. I guess it’s psychological but milk makes me sleepy… πŸ˜€

  4. I guess you eat each of the three one by one. Looks good. I would want to try it – 3 tastes in one plate.

    One more. Gee!!! I must look real boring, dead set in my ways, going one by one. LOL!!!

    1. What’s the point of ordering this plate of 3 tastes in one if one is going to mix all together? Cannot taste the individual taste.

      LOL!!! I can imagine the mess! πŸ˜€

  5. looks like a pretty good idea, a sampler plate, where you get to try all three, and the next time you are around you will go for the one you like the best.

    They have things like these too, but what particularly took my attention is this beer sampler. Try all the different types of beer in small shots, and order the one you like best :D, not that I always drink beer though.

    Good, good. Can live without that stuff. I have not touched a drop for some 10 years or so now, no beer, no alcohol, not even wine…just good ol’ plain water.

    Yes, exactly what this would be great for – for people who have never tried kampua noodles before, to let them try all and see which one they like best. Other than that, it’s just a gimmick. Don’t think it will last very long.

  6. Lol. They must recognised you as the food ambassador and gave you special price.

    Don’t think so. The price for kampua is stated as RM2.50 on the menu at the stall.

  7. Very interesting to see the tri-colour noodles. For me, I would eat them portion by portion to get the taste of each and I bet you did the same. Now in trend, a stall at Stutong Market does it this way too but have yet to try.

    I think it is just a gimmick…or for those who cannot make up their minds or people on a short visit and want to try them all at one go.

  8. Toto cafe? Aiya, I see the word Toto only I think of Toto 4D, haha.. Today is Tuesday, hmm, dunno got “special draw” or not, kekekeke.. I like the piansip soup, the piansips look so so loaded, full of “liew”, less skin, more “liew”, the way I like it.. Ok, let me guess how did you eat your noodles – one by one.. Correct? πŸ™‚

    Nope, no special draw today…next week! Unfortunately, despite the number of times I’ve gone to eat here, it did not bring me any luck, not at all. No windfall.

    Same as everybody else, eh? One by one. πŸ˜€

  9. The taste was fine but the portion was too big for us, not bad for a change though

    This one’s not all that big. More or less the same small amount, the servings…each done in three different ways, not three plates or servings served as one.

  10. Wow…trio kampua noodles. Love it. I think I will like to eat one type at a time.

    Bet you’re a neat and organised person…like me. πŸ˜‰ Not somebody with OCD. πŸ˜€

  11. The cafe name, when I first see it or heard it, I only can think of the gamble one, hahaha!!!

    Ahhhhh!!!! Like Princess Ribbon, typically Malaysian. The full name is actually Sports TOTO. Americans like Jennifer would think of the rock band. So far, nobody has mentioned the dog in The Wizard of Oz, maybe nobody that old around here…like me. πŸ˜€

  12. I think you will at least sample it one at a time at first. Then maybe out of curiosity or adventurous you might toss them up and see how it taste like .. hahha

    I did wonder what that would taste like but no, I did not do that. πŸ˜€

  13. If you mixed them all up together, there’s no point in having the tri-colour kampua noodles. To get the individual taste, you have to eat them separately…nothing to do with OCD! If didn’t strike anything after eating here….better go consult Anong the monkey (only an hour’s drive from your place)….hee…hee! πŸ˜€

    Oh? You read about that somewhere? For the number of cars it has been jumping on, the only people laughing all the way to the bank would be the owners of those betting shops. But being down on my luck for so long now, maybe I should drive there one of these days. Who knows? Hehehehehe!!!!

    Ya, I would not mix them all together, that’s for sure. Dunno if they are all that compatible or not – not like different noodles cooked together – like some noodles fried or in soup/gravy with bihun added. Seems some people like that!

  14. I would eat them one by one, no mixing for me. Not sure about you la.

    Now the question is – which one first and which one last? Decisions…decisions!!! πŸ˜€

  15. Let’s see, if that were served to me, I would mix (kiau-kiau) everything up together and eat it. I’m guessing you did that πŸ˜€

    Oh dear! That would mix all the flavours together – may be nice, I wouldn’t know but it may work the other way, who knows? No, I didn’t try eating it like that.

  16. Decisions????…..Regular kampua, mee pok, dark version, my wild guess.

    Can’t remember which order I went but I tried a bit of each first, all ok, so-so…and then, I ate one by one till it was all gone.

  17. Personally, I’d go one at a time. Which first? Don’t really know!

    I think I tried the red one first, then the black and lastly, the white. Why? I don;t know, just did it like that. πŸ˜€

  18. I can’t remember when was the last time I had a drink for RM1.20. Even iced barley now cost at least RM1.50 in KL!

    That’s cheap. Generally iced drinks would be RM1.80 and above here!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

