Each step of the way…

*This is not a paid post*

Needless to say, I was thrilled when Jennifer, my friend in the USA, named me as one of the winners in a competition that she was hosting in her blog

Winner

…but I quickly told her to pick somebody else as it would be such a hassle and I was sure it would not be cheap either to send something all the way to the other side of the world but she said it was perfectly all right as the company…

NuNaturals, the company

…was willing to do that and be responsible for the cost and everything. Gee!!! Isn’t that nice? On two separate occasions, I was supposed to have won a bottle of whatever sauce and some samples of noodles from companies right here in Malaysia. They emailed me for the details and I never heard from them again. I do not know if it was because they saw my mailing address and only realised then that I was overseas, over the South China Sea, that is…and they were shocked by the courier charges so they changed their minds instantly…or the things got “misplaced” in the mail. I never got to see the prizes that I was supposed to receive.

The company emailed me to let me know that they would be sending all the stuff and in the meantime, I also received one from the USPS, the United States Postal Service. I clicked the link provided for tracking and that was all I needed to do. Since that first click, I started receiving emails updating me on the progress, no need for me to go and check myself…

USPS

I was indeed most impressed by their efficiency and how they do things there, not like what we have here with our so-called national courier, the poslaju. Here, we have to log into their website, go to the poslaju page and click track & trace. Then, we must type the consignment number in the space provided and then click. Updates, like their deliveries, may not be all that prompt and if we would like to check again and again, we would have to go through the whole process repeatedly including re-typing the number. It is not saved so that it will appear once you type the first letter or number, no such thing.

The local delivery was handled by poslaju though and it looked like the box had to go through customs…

Customs checking

…but it was all right. Everything, listed in the invoice and declared accordingly…

Declared

…and packed very nicely in a box, arrived in one piece.

So what did I receive? Samples of their Stevia products…

NuStevia products

…and recipes that I would be able to use them for…

Recipes

I sure can’t wait to give them a try but I think I would wait till the school holidays around the end of next month when my girl would be home and we could do it together…and I will most certainly blog about it when the time comes.

I am indeed so very very happy and feel extremely privileged to receive the prize, thank you so very much to Jennifer and also to the people at NuNaturals for the goodies…

NuNaturals product samples

…that I have received, safe and sound.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

18 thoughts on “Each step of the way…”

  1. Hi it’s me Mun. Using my fb to login now as it is more convenient. Congrats on winning! Can’t wait to read your reviews on them after you have used them. Good to see all of them have arrived safely.

    Yes, and so very nice of them to send all the way from the US – unlike our own Malaysian companies, chickened out at the thought of having to send from KL even, so near. What a shame!!!

    I think a number do the same, people like Claire. The thing is other readers cannot click on your name in your comment to get to your blog and read and comment there as you do not link it here. I would think that is what most bloggers want? More traffic, more value? So if they genuinely want to visit your blog, they would have to go through the trouble of going via some other ways. Yours, I would need to go through other people’s bloglinks as you always used a dormant blog address, not your active one.

    1. You have a point there. I don’t want to inconvenience readers too but my blog is not in WordPress so if you clicktthe zmun2 link you will see a page in wordpress with a link for you to click.to go to the blogspot blog.

      Yup, been there, done that.

  2. Interesting product. I tasted the “old” Stevia and found it to have a distinctive flavour that I didn’t really like. I wonder if the “nu” Stevia has removed the flavour.

    Yes, I googled and read some reviews about the “old” ones, being watered down, not 100% and what not. This one claims to be above all that. Yet to try so can’t say anything about it at the moment.

  3. It’s nice to hear that USPS was not a hassle. I am not impressed with their service here within the USA.

    I occasionally use NuStevia, the one in the dropper bottle can be used to add a mild flavor to water. I gave some to my father. That’s how he uses the product.

    Yet to try but I don’t think I’d add to water…nor would I use the sweetener with my black coffee – used to having it without sugar already. Will see what I can do with it.

    Yes, I was impressed by the postal service which is a lot more than what I can say about ours. Hmmmmm!

  4. Ooooo, NuNaturals.. I got it last year, won from other blogs, hehe.. I’m still keeping the chocolate syrup.. The sugar syrup tastes weird, but well, maybe it’s just me.. But I think the products I got were a bit different from yours, I don’t remember getting any lemon liquor thingy..

    No sugar syrup, the ones I got, just the little sachets of sweetener which I do not think I will use much – I do without sugar or sweetness in a lot of things these days, get enough of it all over…when eating outside. Anybody wants those, I can give them away. Wondering what I can do with the rest – the vanilla, lemon, cocoa syrups – maybe can use to make cakes and cookies. Will see.

    Did you blog about it? Come, post the link – I would love to see yours.

    1. Nope, didn’t blog about it, coz to be honest, I don’t know what to do with it, except for the sugar syrup.. Mix into drinks or tongsui.. I also got some sugar sachets, cherry liquor don’t know what (smells like cough syrup, I gave to my colleague already) and chocolate syrup (which I think can used to bake, but it’s so watery)..

      Ok, no sugar syrup in my loot, just sachets of sweetener – already booked, so will send to him. I’ve had those sweeteners they provided at hotel buffets, not quite the same as sugar but made my coffee sweet, ok by me. There’s liquor in yours? Gee!!! How healthy can that be?

      Dunno what’s mine like, not open yet – wait for my girl…and they did send me a whole lot of recipes, can pick and choose from there and just follow.

  5. Some sort of healthy syrup right? like it sweetens up the whole bottle of drink with just one drop?

    I haven’t the slightest idea, haven’t tried. I only know that one little sachet of the sweetener is equal to two teaspoons of sugar, read that somewhere…probably on the box.

  6. Nice package of goodies from Eugene, Oregon, a place which has special memories for me as one of my sons had his ill-fated first marriage there!

    Pretty common thing over there, I guess…and here too these days.

  7. Congrats STP. That was a nice prize. Now you can go healthy with stevia. πŸ˜‰

    Thanks. Healthy? Ummm…no comments. Hehehehehehe!!!!

  8. Hahaha, theirs one totally can’t compare, like our neighbor the one, I send postcards from oversea, the Singapore one always got it first before Malaysia

    As people always say, Malaysia boleh. I guess the slogan, “Biar lambat asal selamat,” applies to more than just safety on the roads. 😦

  9. I use sweeteners made with Stevia in all my drinks at home too….haven’t touched table sugar for a very long while. The brand I use is one stick (or one sachet) = 1 teaspoon.

    Oh? It’s good, eh? I can do without sugar or sweetener in my drinks so I do not really need those.

  10. Congratulations on your winning, Arthur. So lucky. Can’t wait to see what you whip out from those goodies.

    Thank you. Have to wait for the school holidays, have some fun with my girl – she can follow recipes, not me. If I try, sure disaster one. πŸ˜€

  11. Congrats on winning the contest! Now I’m excited and looking forward to all the new recipes you’d be sharing with these products! πŸ™‚

    Thanks. That will be towards the end of next month, school holidays begin on 21st November here. Will get my girl to try some of the recipes out.

  12. very cool! i’ve read some mixed sentiments about stevia (it has a long history and it was once even considered unsafe), but i think it should be fine in moderation, and it sounds like it’ll be fun to experiment with πŸ˜€

    Yes, I went and googled and read up on it since I had never heard of it before. Seems that the controversies date back to the 80’s even…and it all boils down to the brands, the manufacturers and what went into their products including those with unpleasant tastes. No, it does not have health benefits, just a natural sweetener and thus a good alternative to sugar:
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/10/16/stevia-what-is-it_n_5983772.html
    http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2013/08/09/stevia-basics_n_3728957.html
    Well, a lot of people are into things like Kaagen water, Herbalife and there have been all kinds of reports about those as well. I used to use the artificial sweeteners provided at hotels (which did have a not-very-pleasant taste though they did sweeten my coffee) till I read something about them too.
    Whatever it is, I am no health freak, not into those (expensive) organic stuff, all the so-called healthy practices – juicing, overnight oats and what have you and all, so I would try these out to see if they’re any good…but I guess that would be it.

  13. Wah, a prize all the way from the US of A! I have read about this NuStevia product in a few blogs. Lucky you!

    Lucky indeed! To think that they went through all that trouble (and cost as well, I’m sure) to send them all the way.

    Incidentally, there is a competition in my NZ-Pinoy blogger-friend’s blog right now – you stand to win a cookbook on Indian cuisine…and you can choose another book from the catalogue not more than USD25, can be another recipe book, if you wish. Open to anybody worldwide. Wanna join?
    http://www.angsarap.net/2015/10/19/tuttle-publishing-cafe-spice-open-worldwide/

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

