I tried…

Sometime ago, I got these from my friend, Victor

From Victor
*Archive photo*

…and I liked the crispy prawn chili on the right. There was a lot of oil in it though so I had to pour that away the moment I opened the jar. Of course, it is all gone now – I had it with anything that I felt was compatible, even our local FoochowΒ kompia and chu nu miang. I am not all that fond of the other one, the sambal with shrimps as I feel it has that smell that one would find in those canned sambal ikan bilis and the like, even though the smell is not as strong.

I did try using it to fry rice in the morning and it turned out quite good and that day, I used it again to fry this…

Nasi goreng kampung dgn petai 1

– fried rice with ikan bilis (dried anchovies), the sambal with shrimps and petaiΒ (stinky beans)…

Nasi goreng sambal with petai 2

It was basically my very simple kampung fried rice, more or less. I just fried some ikan bilis, chopped garlic and sliced shallots in a bit of oil till all were golden brown before adding a spoonful or two of the sambal with shrimps and the rice and mixed everything together well. Finally, I added the petai and egg. You may want to add salt (and msg), if you are thus inclined and prawns would probably bring the taste top a whole new level but I was fine with it just like that.Β It probably would be nicer with freshly-pounded udang kering (dried prawns) sambal but this was less of a hassle and it was good enough for me plus I am sure my neighbours would not be too happy to be rudely awakened by all that pounding at 5 or 6.00 a.m. in the morning.

Moving on from my fried rice, when my girl came home last weekend (not this weekend), she wanted to make these…

Mel's tater tots 1

…and she did – her tater tots with sweet potatoes, broccoli, oats, cheese and eggs, baked, and because she bought the purple variety of the tubers, they turned out this colour…

Mel's tater tots 2

They tasted great – no salt, no msg and no oil either since she baked them in the oven. Of course, like everything else, the mum had them with chili sauce but I enjoyed them on their own, savouring every bit of the lovely ingredients used. I wouldn’t say I was all that fond of the colour but I did enjoy munching them and enjoying the delightful taste. LOL!!!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

14 thoughts on “I tried…”

  1. Interesting variation of tater tots, baked… a lot healthier than those deep fried ones

    Hello! Back from your nationwide tour, eh? Too bad Sibu was not on your list. 😦
    Indeed, healthier…and cleaner too, all that oil and all that splutter when deep frying – I can even feel the oil on the kitchen floor, needing major mopping to get rid of that.
    😦

    1. Yes! Been to Kuching and Miri, eye-opening i must say. Had some local delicacies, watch out for that post, to be posted out in the next few days πŸ˜€

      I keep telling everybody – things here are not quite the same as what you all have over there. Worth making a trip, an eye opener indeed. Too bad you did not make it to Sibu,lots more here to enjoy.

  2. that colour, purple. I’m intrigued by the texture and how the tater tots actually feel when it goes into the mouth. Probably too healthy for me though.

    I’ll take the crispy prawn chilli anyday though. It looks like what the pan mee stalls usually serve on the side to go with their pan mee. Yum

    Healthy’s good! Aren’t you supposed to be watching your diet, you bad bad boy! πŸ˜€

    Now that you mentioned it, it does seem like what you’d get by the side in a bowl of pan mee. Nice!

  3. It is the natural color of the sweet potatoes so it is alright to munch on them. Beautifully baked. I would not mind try one.

    Nice but I am never into the colour of these purple sweet potatoes. Many love these more than the regular ones, they say they’re sweeter. I thought the colour combination of the tater tots would make a lovely kebaya top. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  4. I like to eat petai so fried rice with petai sounds delicious! I think the purple colour is so pretty since it is natural colour. Nevet eaten tater tots before. Curious to taste them too.

    I think petai sambal fried rice (with prawns) is very common there – not so here unless we cook our own. But those stink beans are getting way too expensive these days, like gold. 😦 The tater tots were good, can taste the flavours of the ingredients used – probably nicer deep fried though. Anything that is not so healthy is always nicer. Hehehehe!!!!

  5. Very nice home cooking. The tater tots sound very healthy.

    Not the fried rice though stink beans have a whole lot of health benefits. The tater tots were heal;thy, no oil, no salt, no msg…but I would think it would be more well received with those seasonings added, coated with breadcrumbs and deep fried. πŸ˜€

  6. Yes, fried rice for me. Love it. Wow, nice combination of colours for the tater tots. I love sweet potatoes too, making into dessert (huan zhu tng) or baked.

    My missus cooked that using what was left over and the soup was purple!!! Otherwise it was very nice. I sure would not want to use those to cook my sweet potato porridge. Eeeeee!!!! πŸ˜€

  7. Oh wow, those veggie patties are right up my taste bud alley! I love the use of purple sweet potato.

    You like those too? I know many do as well. I’ve yet to grow accustomed to the colour, me dinosaur, real old school. πŸ˜€

  8. mmm, i can imagine the briny, robust flavours for the fried rice … and tater tots look very interesting … love the colours for the food you’ve posted today, really vibrant and vivid πŸ˜€

    I guess colours do add to the appeal like the very popular rainbow cake or kek lapis Sarawak – I don’t mind if they’re natural colours. Unfortunately, usually they’re not. 😦

  9. Oh! Purple tater tots! I actually like the funky color πŸ™‚ No salt? I suppose the cheese is salty enough the flavor the tater tots. Very nice! As always, I love your fried rice. If only I could taste….

    I could taste the sweet potato and the broccoli – I guess the cheese and oats are in there somewhere, blending in. It was nice…but let’s just say I would rather go for my fried rice anytime…especially with sambal prawns…and petai! I’m more into such kampung stuff.

  10. The color in the last food photo is great! I will have to try a vegan version – I have been thinking of patties and ‘burgers’ lately! I’ll put my thinking cap on πŸ™‚

    I thought this would be good for you and Opal but my girl said she used two eggs, said she needed those to bind all the ingredients together. I wounder what may be used as an alternative to that. Otherwise, it’s all vegan and it tasted great…even on its own, without any seasoning!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

