How will I know…

Well, I will never know unless I try, right?

For instance, I think it was Princess Ribbon who mentioned that she loved the white chocolate almond ice cream…

Magnum white almond 1

…a lot so I just had to go and grab some to try.

They are sold singly here at RM4.00 each…or in boxes of 3 each at RM12.00. Somebody mentioned that they were available at a couple of supermarkets here so I quickly made my way there. Unfortunately, there were none to be seen anywhere at those places. I went back to confirm that it was white, not the regular dark chocolate as those were readily available and yes, it was indeed white and probably they were all sold out.

In the meantime, I saw people here, there and everywhere posting photographs of theirs on Facebook too. Gee! That must be really so good, I thought to myself. Then, I heard that some were seen at another supermarket in town so I quickly rushed there and grabbed a few. And now the moment of truth!

Magnum white almond 2

Well, it was nice – after all, how can ice cream ever be not nice? But I did not think I liked the white chocolate on the outside…

Magnum white almond 3

…as its taste did not stand out from that of the vanilla ice cream inside. I honestly think I prefer the ones with dark chocolate which I did buy to try as well when I went searching for this one and failed to find any.

Incidentally, when I was buying the ice cream, I could not help but wonder why they are being sold in boxes of 3 and yet, they are available singly or loosely. Perhaps the prices are different elsewhere, not like the ones here but if it is going to be the same, never mind if you are buying 1 or 3 or more, why bother packing them in those not-very-cheap looking boxes then? For one thing, it is not environment-friendly at all as it would end up getting thrown away eventually, right?

Ok, let’s move on from the topic of ice cream to…pancakes!

I had seen boxes of pancake mix at the supermarkets everywhere but I had never bothered to try them out so I did not know whether they were any good or not. Somehow or other, I never even bothered to take one to browse through and see what they said on the box until that day when I received one from Rose

Hungry Jack and Devondale

…in Kuching, made in the USA! Now, now, that must be good, I told myself! Just add water, it said on the box. Now, that sure sounded really easy…and Rose did suggest that I used milk instead so I went out and bought a carton, Devondale no less, made in Australia. It used to be dirt cheap at a time, just over RM1.00 and less than RM2 each and people would come to the supermarket in Sibu and cart boxes and boxes home. It was a lot creamier and nicer, they insisted and for one thing, the Malaysian reconstituted ones at the time were selling for over RM3.00 a carton. Now who on earth would be so foolish as to go for those when we could get fresh milk, the low fat variety included, direct from Australia at around half the price? Unfortunately, the price kept going up and up and up and they are over RM6.00 now so it is no longer all that affordable. Especially with our very weak ringgit these days, things from that southern continent definitely do not come cheap, not anymore. Sobsssss!!!!!!

I followed the instructions…

Instructions

…on the box faithfully and in no time at all, I was ready to start frying.

After frying two pieces, I tried a little bit and goodness gracious me!!! It was light and fluffy all right but it was completely tasteless – not sweet, not salty, no buttery fragrance, nothing! I quickly added a spoonful of brown sugar to the rest of the batter and continued frying till I was done…

Pancakes

I only got around 8 pieces though despite the fact that it was stated on the box that I would be getting 12-16. Never mind! Since it was not all that nice, it did not matter one bit as I would not be giving any to my parents to enjoy.

Despite having added a little bit of sugar, it did not make much difference and of course, I did not have any of these…

Add-ons

…in the house to go with the pancakes. I did have some honey in the fridge though and that certainly saved the day!

Still, I do not think I would want to go out and buy any more, not at all as it was not all that hassle-free, I must say. Mixing the batter is not all that hard actually and this actually required the same amount of work, greasing the pan and frying the pieces one by one…and considering all that trouble one would have to go through, I would much sooner settle for our own family recipe and come out with pancakes that are just as light and fluffy, with a so much more delightful richer taste and buttery fragrance, so good that we would enjoy just eating them on their own.

But thanks again all the same, Rose, for sending me the box to try – now I know…and actually, I still have a lot left so being very much the wiser now, I would not want to make any more pancakes with it. In fact, at this point in time, I’ve seen some recipes for butter cakes using pancake mix and I think I would want to give it a try…and see the end result. We’ll see how that will turn out, eh?

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

18 thoughts on “How will I know…”

  1. A dessert post today – ice cream and pan cakes! Too bad the pancakes are not up to your expectations. I have not tried any of the black or white magnums because previously I find them too sweet. Let me think – when was the last time I ate ice creams – oh dear – I can’t remember. 😦

    I have had ice cream once in a while outside, after dinner dessert when I am not too full but I do not usually buy home – only when there’s any that people say are very nice and I would like to try perhaps.

    But now, I may buy some and stock up in the freezer for my girl to enjoy when she comes home weekends and holidays – the ones that I feel are nice. I do not eat them myself but these days, with the terrible heat and horrendous heat, I may help myself to one…for a little bit of welcome relief. I hear they have New Zealand’s Kapiti here now – yet to go check it out. Not cheap, of course, but I bet she would love those – boysenberry!

  2. Usually, i don’t buy ice cream and stock up in the freeze, if not, i sure will not resist the temptation and eat and eat…

    Hahahahaha!!! I guess I am more disciplined. Will not eat, buy for my girl only and I may have as well once in a while when I feel like it…but with the current heat and haze, I just could not resist the temptation.

  3. I’ve been a fan of the previous magnum almond for the longest time. And when they came out with this almond white, I immediately took a liking to it. It is a lot sweeter than the usual magnum almond though, but still, ice creams are meant to be SWEET! as sweet as me.

    That’s what I thought!!! I found that the regular almond, dark chocolate, was not as sweet as their other varieties so I did not mind it as much. The gold was my favourite, the ice cream inside – but the gold coating outside was way way too sweet for me – would not want to go for that again.

  4. I still go for the dark chocolate coating ice cream. Never taste this white chocolate yet.

    Ok. Good that you give it a try. I am using the buttermilk type. It has taste. I didnt know the light and fluffy was tasteless. Lol.

    Oh? So they have different varieties then? Best you stick to the buttermilk one…or try my recipe. I guarantee you your girl will love you so much for it…or better still, teach her to do it and after that, you can just sit back and enjoy. Hehehehehe!!!!

    I did not think this white chocolate was all that great, dunno why all the hoo-haa on Facebook. 😦

  5. Yet to try the white chocolate ice cream. I am always a fan of chocolate coating ice cream. This pancake premix sounds so easy to make but sad it turns out tasteless.

    Stick to my recipe – it isn’t all that troublesome, more or less the same but it tastes so much better – a world of difference, I would say!

  6. Full cream milk? Interesting to see how things are known as in different parts of the world. Here it is known as “whole milk”. Either way, it is great, as I love milk. πŸ™‚

    I guess they’re one and the same thing unless it is skimmed milk or low fat and all the rest.

  7. next time you may try to separate the egg yolk and egg white, beat the latter until stiff and mix in the flour. The pancakes will be very light and fluffy, just like chiffon cake, picked up this from a Japanese Mangga.

    No, thank you. Why rock the boat when we all love our tried and tested family recipe? They’re all light and fluffy, even this one just that it did not have the egg and (evaporated) milk richness and the buttery fragrance plus it was not sweet. No egg yolk in yours then? I think I would rather keep that in for that delightful eggy taste, it all comes from the yolk, I’m sure, not the white – I do recall my missus telling me to use just the yolk or something but I just threw everything in, no big deal. The ENO is the secret to get it light and fluffy.

  8. There was a Magnum craze last year and many bought that ice cream. I didn’t join the bandwagon because I believe that craze was just a hype to make people buy. I tasted Magnum a few months later and I think that its taste is not too amazing as the TV ads purported it to be.

    I know there’s a Magnum shop in KL, not too sure what they serve there but it sure looks like it is rather expensive.

  9. I think the pancakes are not meant to be sweet as they’re supposed to be eaten with maple syrup and butter, otherwise they would be too sweet. But, if you’re not eating with those, then you probably need to sweeten up the pancakes quite a fair bit.

    Obviously that is the case. Would be great for waffles that people use as the base for serving ice cream with chocolate syrup poured all over it.

  10. We have a couple of boxes of Magnum (4 in a box) reserved for grandkids, but when wife’s away I had a couple. I too prefer the dark chocolate ones. Our milk here has been cheap for the last year or two as the supermarkets are competing – currently its $1 for 2 litres, I think. Don’t know how much longer this can last.

    Hahahahaha!!!! Naughty, eh? When the cat is away, the mouse will play. πŸ˜€

    We had been enjoying this Australian Devondale for many years till the price started going up not too long ago. Even at RM3 something, it still made a lot more sense to buy this instead of the Malaysian Dutch Lady. I think Meadow Fresh from New Zealand is the cheaper option these days but generally, we do not buy milk all that often anymore, getting too expensive.

  11. i’m a white chocolate fan as well as an almond fan, so i’m gonna go grab this magnum at a petrol station soon! oh, and i’m a major ice cream fan too, so i’m always happy when you feature ice cream in your posts πŸ˜€

    Oh dear! You would not see that all too often as I do not go for the sweet stuff all that regularly. But of course, if I stumble upon something nice, I will surely blog about it, no worries.

  12. I always make my pancake a bit sweeter, then I don’t need to eat pancake with anything else. I just love having plain pancake. hehehe!

    Yes, you’ve tried my family recipe, right? I usually will reduce the sugar a bit but still, it would be sweet enough to eat on its own, no need for anything else – already so very nice.

  13. Rm 6 for aus milk is quite okay, those ersatz local milks are selling at rm5+ here! I’d rather pay slightly more for the quality ones

    Sigh!!! Gone are the days when I would finish the whole carton in one or two sittings! 😦

  14. I am not too fond of white chocolate, I’ll give that a miss. So, your own pancake mix is still way better than Hungry Jack πŸ™‚

    Yes, way…way better! Have you tried it? You’ll love it, I’m sure. I did read somewhere that white chocolate has no health benefits unlike the dark variety…

  15. Another thing I need to try and make again soon is vegan pancakes. I think I will start making weekly mini goals lists…winter is great for that!

    That would be pancakes without eggs, I guess? And margarine to replace the butter?

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

