Making today a perfect day…

I’ve shared the video clip and lyrics of this song here sometime ago but unfortunately, it has been removed “due to multiple third party notifications of copyright infringement” even though it is still available for viewing on the website proper

I love the song so much as it holds a special meaning for me in my heart.

The lyrics in the song are somewhat relevant where my girl, in her capacity as a teacher, is concerned like when it says:
Journey far and travel safe
Make this world a better place
…even though the school where she is teaching now is not all that far. One thing’s for sure, she is trying her utmost best there to
teach your children how to sing and dance
…teaching the little kids in the hope that it will make the world a better place for them specifically and for the society and country at large.

And these lines, later in the song, of course, say it all:
Try to be the best you can
Show compassion to every man
And always take the higher ground
I’ll be right by your side

I hear your laughter echo through this house
I miss you, all of this there is no doubt
I wasn’t perfect, this I would admit
I was always trying to make the pieces fit

Don’t ask me now where all the time has gone
I’ve loved you since the minute you were born
So many times we have laughed and cried
I see you now – it fills my heart with pride

Her actual birthdate is today – the 17th of September but when we went to collect her birth certificate, the people at the office somehow got the date wrong and it is registered officially as the 18th instead. We celebrated it earlier last Saturday

Melissa's brithday cake

…but nonetheless, there will be another round when she comes home tomorrow for the weekend, followed by the mid-term holidays.

In the meantime, HAPPY BIRTHDAY again, love, and here’s hoping that today and every other day will be a perfect day for you. As I always say in my prayers, may the Good Lord protect you and keep you in good health and safe from all harm each passing day and may He grant you strength physically, emotionally and spiritually and guide and guard you always in all that you do.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

19 thoughts on “Making today a perfect day…”

  1. They are some beautiful lyrics. I love that feeling when a song really touches your heart and mind.

    Yes, that is why I love songs with meaningful lyrics, not that many these days. 😦

  2. Happy Birthday to her, suituapui!!!! More birthdays to come please! 🙂

    and the song, oh, the lyrics that are so beautiful. Nice to have someone who’s gonna be there with you through thicknthin. I just love how the song went with piano (and violin, not sure) well. That made it very simple, mellow.

    Thank you for the birthday greeting. Yes, it certainly has a very nice, soothingly pleasant melody and the words absolutely take the cake – I loved the song instantly the first time I heard it, went deep into the heart.

  3. Happy Birthday to Melissa! If in her birth cert the birthday is 17 sept then the ic dept should change her ic to follow the birth cert, shouldn’t it be that way?

    I.can see why the song is meaningful for you after you.have explained the lyrics.

    Thanks for the greeting.

    Oh, it was her birth cert, not her MyKad, I got that wrong in the post – and I’ve edited that now. Never mind, knowing how they work, you would not know what further mess trying to rectify it would lead too. Anyway, she was a 6-month prem baby so we had more pressing matters to attend to at the time – till way over a year, under the watchful eye and supervision of one very good Indian doctor, from Ipoh, I think. Praise the Lord, all turned out well and she’s grown up now into a fine, young lady.

  4. Happy birthday to Melissa!! Wish her good health, joy and bless with many wonderful blessings. Love your song selection. 🙂

    Thank you, amen to all. Yes, love the song, the beautiful melody and the meaningful lyrics, touches me deeply, so moved by it.

  5. Sweet & meaningful lyrics. Kids are our greatest gift from God and they are part of our lives….and daughters especially will always have a special place in daddy’s heart…..Happy Blessed Birthday, Melissa & May the Good Lord showers His Blessings upon you.

    Thank you. Indeed, precious gifts from God to love and cherish always.

  6. Happy Birthday to Mel and many happy returns 🙂
    Ooohh, registered as 18th instead of 17th? No changes could be done those days?

    Thanks. We did not bother – after all, it’s just a piece of paper. Doesn’t matter much, we know the actual date.

  7. Happy Birthday, Melissa! Lucky girl, Papa so sayang one 🙂 But the real date is tomorrow, so can celebrate twice 😀

    Thank you. Yes, sure there will be another round when she comes home tomorrow – already ordered another cake. 😀

  8. Happy Birthday! So bringing her out for Korean food soon? 😛

    Thanks. That will depend entirely upon her when she comes home from her school tomorrow – her wish is my command. 😉

  9. Happy Birthday to her! Lovely cake. 🙂

    Thank you, Yes, it was for the advance birthday dinner last Saturday – and it’s only around USD10, 1 kg , we’re getting another one tomorrow. Hehehehehe!!!

  10. Ahh…the ever doting father! Happy birthday wishes to your girl. I’m sure you’re reminiscing how fast your little girl grew up 😉

    Thank you. Sigh!!!! Those were the days, the good ol’ days.

  11. Owh? And you never got it corrected? Her birthcert I mean.

    Happy Birthday Melissa.

    No, not important. Actual date would have been 3 months later, came out sooner. 😀 Thanks for the birthday wishes.

  12. Happy birthday again Melissa!! Can have another good celebration this week.

    Thank you. Yes, coming home tomorrow and we have the week-long school holiday to celebrate. Yaaaa!!!! 😀

  13. What a thoughtful Papa…. nice song to dedicate to your girl… Happy Birthday Melissa! May you be blessed with joy, peace and good health always!

    Thanks for your good wishes. You would feel the same for yours too, I’m sure.

  14. happy birthday today to melissa and my best wishes for her and your entire family too! 🙂 btw, i’m a rod stewart fan, but strangely i’ve not heard this song before 🙂

    Thanks, and thank you also for all your good wishes. I think he released this album last year – there was a song “It’s over” that was nice too but nowhere near this one. I think he is releasing another one soon but so far I am not all that fond of the songs that will be on it. Not to my taste, old man. 😀

  15. Thanks, Mr Arthur for sharing this song. I will share it with my son. Take care.

    Most welcome. It is a beautiful song, isn’t it? Such deep and meaningful lyrics, so touching!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

