Have you heard…

…that there is a new stall here…

Delta Seafood & Cafe

…at this coffee shop where the old lady has her kampua noodle stall?

Well, if you haven’t, you’ve heard it now. There is this new one…

New stall

…that sells their own-made noodles…

Own-made noodles

– made and cooked and served right away.

You have a choice between wet/soup (RM5.00) or dry (RM4.00), flat…

Flat

…or round and thin…

Thin

I could not understand why as I would have thought they were basically the same thing, just different in shape but I thought the flat one that my missus had was a whole lot nicer. The noodles on their own would be tasty enough – I did not see any need for the fried ikan bilis (anchovies) and the cangkuk manis and one point in their favour was that they used real char siew (barbecued meat), not the usual boiled meat imitation that one would find in a plate of kampua noodles, even though it tasted something like lap cheong (Chinese sausage). On the whole, I would say it was very good and I sure would not mind going back there again for this – and the next time around, I would opt for the flat noodles, of course!

We also ordered the soup (RM5.00)…

Soup

…which was very nice with lots of minced meat, intestines…and this was the first time I had such big ones…and pork skin – yes, just the skin (and they say that has high collagen content), no fat! I wish there was liver too though but unfortunately, there was none.

They do not have an extensive menu – just these and lor mee and kueh chap…and porridge…but when we were there around 10.30 that morning, I heard somebody at the next table ordering the latter but it was already sold out. Hmmm…it must be really nice seeing that they had run out of it so quickly!

For the uninitiated who are not familiar with this place and do not have the slightest clue where it is, this shop is located in the second block of the row of shops in Delta Estate, along Lorong Delta 10 (2.307781,111.825128) – the back of the shops faces the (inward) side of the public swimming pool.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

23 thoughts on “Have you heard…”

  1. I think I’ll go there for the soup itself. Looks so sinfully delicious and full of goodness. Yes, yes, I welcome all the collagen I can get, anytime πŸ˜€

    LOL!!! Wanna stay looking young, eh? πŸ˜‰

  2. ooo, you’ve made an intriguing new stall discovery … the pork intestine soup/stew looks interesting, i’ve never quite seen this recipe before. … and you’re just like me -we both love liver! πŸ˜€

    Now I’ve a craving I’ve not appeased yet – will have to go for some liver soup soon. 😦

  3. The home made noodles look like pan mee to me. Fried ikan bilis and the cangkuk manis are the normal ingredients for pan mee.

    …and minced pork but the noodles are usually clear, not dark. The noodles would be the same, I guess – just not hand cut or hand torn – they usually do that at pan mee places here and their noodles are not of this darker shade – not the same recipe, I guess. Definitely did not taste the same.

    1. You mean the noodles themselves are of darker shade even without any sauce? We have dry pan mee here with a dark sauce so it looks like that with a darker shade.

      It was the sauce – you can see the uncooked ones in the photograph of the machine. White. Oh? You have with dark sauce? Not that I’ve seen here – either soup or white like here and here. There are places selling handmade noodles in their own ways, without the regular pan mee condiments, like the one I had when we all went out for noodles with my dad but the guy there did ask whether we wanted ours with dark soy sauce and we didn’t.

  4. Pan mien. I know those tools are the one to make pan mien. I always prefer soup than dry version. I had pan mien once in Sibu. Forgot the coffee shop name but it was a left turning in a roundabout after passing Medan mall area. I had dry and it was not so good at all. Since then never tasted any pan mien in Sibu.

    Not a fan of pan mee, the clear soup ones even though I love stuff in clear soup. The only one that I feel is not bad is at the Bus Terminal Coffee Shop…but I like the other things they sell a lot more so I had it once, never again.

    Left turn at the roundabout after Medan Mall? You mean halfway to Farley? That would be Cha Xiang, I think. Was there the other day – post on that coming up real soon – but did not have the pan mee, 2nd stall – tried some things at the first one. Wowwwwww!!!! You sure ventured far and wide when you were here!

  5. Did you try the lor Mee?

    No, just went once. It’s good, eh? Will try next time – very near my parents’ house, convenient to stop there for a bite plus easy parking (lots at the back) and it’s free.

  6. I don’t like the flat one, I prefer the thin one, it always be my first choice! =]

    As far as these are concerned, I would say the flat ones would be the better pick – dunno the ones you had had elsewhere.

  7. Probably the texture is the only difference I reckon? Flat ones tend to have smoother texture while round ones have chewier texture?

    Somehow they did not taste exactly the same – the flat ones came across as being much tastier…but yes, the texture or the bite to it differs as well.

  8. The pork skin in the soup looks a lot like pig stomach though. It’s funny how the large prawns (especially the heads) always get the bad rap for high cholesterol….but many conveniently forget that all organ meats are just as bad! πŸ˜€

    Nope, that is not the skin. The skin is inside the soup, cut into thin strips – colourless and translucent, looks like plain agar-agar.

    I guess if everyone is like me, they do not eat these at home – just once in a long while outside so that would not be as bad as prawns or crabs or squid…that people would buy pretty often and cook one’s own at home and eat quite regularly. Not me though – too expensive…and it seems meat is going that way too. Will have to cut down on that as well. 😦

  9. First time I’ve seen ikan bilis topping on kampua noodles. Interesting…

    By the way, I haven’t been able to load your site for the past few days, was it down?

    Now that is not kampua noodles – the noodles alone are totally not the same in terms of texture and taste. These are a lot firmer, shape & size also differ and the preparation, ingredients are all different so this is an entirely different dish. At best, it is something like the konlou noodles I had in Sabah.

    Down? No, not that I know off. Everyone else was commenting as usual – I did not think there was anything amiss? No wonder I did not see you around…

  10. Freshly made noodles… now that’s something else!

    Yes, and it did not take very long either. I wonder if they can cope as well if there had been a whole lot of people.

  11. The flat noodles look very interesting, especially with the ikan bilis.

    That’s the standard condiment in what they call “pan mien” or pan mee…which is not exactly my favourite – the ikan bilis, the green veg and minced meat.

  12. There’s something very attractive about places that make everything from scratch – and even more so when you can see some of the process such as the noodle making machine.

    An added bonus indeed!

  13. Flat or thin, I would love to try… Soupy and dry…but normally I like the, soupy so that I can taste the flavor of the soup…

    If it is that soup that we had for the broth, I am very sure it is going to be very nice!

  14. Both the noodles look nice, and somehow I am more attracted to the flat one. I tried this type of handmade noodles at a coffee shop near my office. It was not bad. I saw the guy make and put his dough through that machine. He was quite kelam kabut because he had many orders to fulfill.

    My missus and I were the only two at the time, already past the usual 10 o’ clock tea break – others already got the orders…and some others came after we were served. I cannot imagine having to do all that when the place is packed and everyone is waiting! 😦

  15. It’s good they made the noodles on the spot, serve and cook immediately. Fresh. Flat or thin noodles makes no difference for me, I’m sure both also nice. I normally prefer in soup, though. That bowl-ful of intestines and skin…so sinful!

    Forgive me…for I have sinned…and enjoyed it! Hehehehehehe!!!!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

