Go first…

One of my cousins who were in town, the one who came by air, left first on Sunday…so I drove her here and there to buy the things to cart back home – the kompia, the chu nu miang, the lung ngor…and she wanted to try the much-talked-about Ah Tor kway teow here

Ah Tor kway teow 1

No, this is not the so-called Pattaya style where they fry an omelette and wrap whatever they are serving inside – as you can see in the photograph…

Ah Tor kway teow 2

…the egg is stuck to the kway teow, it does not literally wrap it up. This is her brother’s favourite as well as all the other cousins, a must-eat when in town and she had never had it before…and yes, she loved it! According to her, it is virtually impossible to find this simple real old-school version of the fried kway teow in Kuching these days – all of them would have a whole lot of stuff added and of course, those would not be the same…and they would be nice because of the extra ingredients not because of the special way of cooking.

In the meantime, I have tried some of the goodies that they brought from Kuching. These pineapple jam tarts…

Kuching jam tarts

…were absolutely awesome, almost as nice as the ones we used to make at home in my younger days. If anyone is interested in grabbing some, this is the address…

Kuching jam tarts address

…but do not be deceived by what you see from the outside. They line the sides of the jar neatly with the tarts but inside the circle, you will find around two of them only. Don’t expect each layer to be filled completely with them.

I’ve tried one of the homemade sambals too, the one with sotong, and it was really good and so was this sambal hay bee/udang kering (dried prawns) that I had with some lemang

Sambal hay bee

…that I happened to have in the house.

These siew paos (baked buns)…

Hongkong siew pao

…were from what they call the Hongkong pao bakery or something and yes, they were great – like the celebrated Seremban ones but much nicer, the pastry and also the filling except that these were smaller. They were different from the Kai Joo Lane ones that I love a lot so I would not attempt to compare the two.

My girl enjoyed the cheese sticks and finished the whole box by herself…mostly. According to my cousin, she got that when she was in Singapore not too long ago.

Oh yes! We’ve had a bit of the special Bario rice too and since there was some leftover, I fried it, mixed with some of the usual plain white rice, with belacan and added a generous amount of the aforementioned sambal hay bee/udang kering to it…

Fried Bario rice with belacan

…and boy! That was good!

Now, let’s see what else I haven’t tried… Nom…nom…nom!!! LOL!!!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

23 thoughts on “Go first…”

  1. I know I would love to eat the egg char kway teow and also the pineapple tarts. In fact I have to stop myself from buying pineapple tarts because I could literally sit there and pop them into my mouth non stop until I have finished eating all of them at one go so don’t buy, don’t eat.

    Yes, the tarts were gone in no time at all, not that there were all that many inside.

  2. I was wondering the same thing – if it was more like an omelet crepe… but you answered in the very next sentence. πŸ˜‰

    And it has been around since my teenage years, real old-school…and is still going strong! The son (or the wife) is doing it now though, I heard the father “Ah Tor” had passed on.

  3. That pineapple tarts look lovely but too far for me to go and grab some. Maybe can get hubby to buy as near his workplace.

    I missed the kuaw tiaw. Haha.

    Have to come back to Sibu for that! πŸ˜€ Your hubby’s office should be near the bakery since you said Oriental Park is close by, same area.

  4. Wah the pineapple tarts look so loaded with pineapples.. Nice..I can eat 20!

    Very good, better than the giant ones I bought once in Malacca, the size if probably just a gimmick to attract people to buy – hard and dry and the pastry’s also not great. You’ll have to get two tubs at least, not many inside. 😦

  5. That omelette wrapping kway teow, interesting, usually I see is they wrap the rice ba!

    It’s stuck to the noodles, not an omelette used to wrap the kway teow – completely different thing if you read what I have said in the post.

  6. Kway teow looks good and so is your fried rice. Sambal hay bee, very good?…I trust your words for that. Saw a lot of people posted in FB praising high to the sky. Yet to try though.

    Not sure if the sambal hay bee is from that same KT or not, no label. It was good…spicy, a bit salty and of course, cannot beat my own home-made using Rajang hay bee and Bintulu belacan. Almost but not quite.

  7. No thank you. I don’t think i would even want to try that kway teow LOL, maybe one mouth if i had to.

    To each his own. We all have the freedom of choice, don’t we? At least, it isn’t all freshly-melted lard with the pork crusts left in it like Penang char kway teow. Bet you would not touch that with a 10-foot pole either. Nice, very nice…but I’d leave the crusts by the side of the plate though.

  8. interesting kway teow there.. must require some skills to stick the egg that way. πŸ˜€

    Not really. I’ve seen them doing it, not all the difficult, I would say.

  9. sambal hay bee and the pineapple tarts, i like…

    Wait till you try my own homemade sambal – nothing else would be good enough, after that. πŸ˜€

  10. Looks like Sibu has a never-ending conveyor belt of culinary delights!

    It sure is a haven when it comes to food and the main attractions would be our own local specialties – not found or not as nice or authentic elsewhere.

  11. My mom makes a kick-ass dried prawn sambal just like the one here and she would always pass me a tub…and I will eat it….slowly….when I get home! πŸ˜‰ Hmm…so you are saying the pineapple tarts you used to make when you’re young taste better than the ones you’re advertising here? Kekeke!! πŸ˜€

    In my cousin’s own words, if we’re too lazy to make our own, these would be THE ones to go for – pretty close. And these were the ones her mum made last Chinese New Year – stole the pic from her sister’s Facebook album…

    Homemade jam tarts

    Of course, I’ve had others made by friends that are very very good too – this is a comparison with the commercially-made & sold ones.

  12. I love that kind of fried rice. With kicap. πŸ˜‹

    I did not add any – the sambal belacan and the sambal udang kering were salty enough. I would love to add a handful of ikan pusu/bilis though…fry till golden and crispy…for something crunchy to chew on…and maybe a bit of very thinly-sliced long beans…for the veg and the colour.

  13. Num, i love those desserts! UGH!!!!! even those fried rice. :). Even leftover rice, when fried will totally change the thing to heaven!

    Yes, for fried rice, one must use leftover rice, best if just out of the fridge. It works that way.

  14. yum yum on the pineapple tarts…but lucky me…tak kalah…bought delicious pieapple tarts from melaka too

    Bought once – giant ones, so big…and not really nice. Yours, the ones who sent me, were so much better. Hint! Hint! πŸ˜€

  15. Actually looks good having much eggs. Since i love my food with lots of fried eggs πŸ˜€

    It would have an egg already, fried together with the kway teow…and then, they would push that aside, break another egg and spread it out in the wok…and then dump all the kway teow on top – when the egg cooks, the kway teow will be stuck to it – just flip over and serve. That is how they do it. So TWO eggs, not one.

  16. I love pineapple tarts to bits and the hay bee sambal reminds me of my mum’s.

    Ahhhh!!!! Wish I could taste your mum’s too – see can’t beat mine or not. Hehehehehe!!!!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

