Let’s give it a try…

I still had two little sengkuang/mangkuang, two pieces of tau kua, a bit of prawns and some French beans left so I decided to fry some more popiah filling the same way that I did the other day. We had finished all the skin that we used the previous time but there was this pack…

Popiah skin 1

…in the fridge that my missus bought a while ago – though I wondered why since she has never been into making popiah. other than those little rolls with prawn sambal inside for occasions like Chinese New Year.

Well, this one isn’t as easy as the other peel-and-use type…

Popiah skin 2

…that one would only need to thaw once taken out of the freezer, that’s all.

It sure looks more like the freshly-made popiah skin…

Popiah skin 3

…though, just a little thicker and harder but once steamed, it would turn soft.

However, it tears rather easily though…

Popiah 1

…so it would be best…

Popiah 2

…not to apply the pounded chili or put the filling first. It was fine when I put the thinly-sliced omelette and lettuce first, before adding the filling and the chili, in whichever order, and crushed peanut (this could be at the bottom too, actually) on top and rolled…

Popiah 3

…and yes, one should not be over-ambitious and add too much filling to make one big popiah – the skin will give way, that’s for sure.

I would say it was all right and as the title of the song goes – ain’t nothing like the real thing!

And moving away from the subject of popiahs, I fried this for the girls for breakfast…

Fried bihun

…before sending them back to their school on Sunday – fried bihun with canned stewed pork chop and thinly-sliced French beans and egg. If anyone is interested, I’ve blogged about cooking it before right here…and like what I mentioned then, make sure you get the canned stewed pork chops as this would be mostly lean and all you need to do would be to get rid of the bones and mash the meat into bits and pieces.

Come, give it a try…

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

22 thoughts on “Let’s give it a try…”

  1. I like the popiah skin to be thick, more to munch. The fried mihun you cooked looks delicious as usual. Did you finish using all 20 pieces of the popiah skin in the pack?

    I like it thin and I prefer the texture of the fresh ones – there’s a little difference. Nope, I think we used up around 10 only, just the two of us at home by then – my missus seemed anxious to put the rest back in the freezer, I dunno why.

  2. Looks delicious! πŸ™‚

    I would personally stuff the meehoon into the wrapper as well and make it a burrito. More filling and easier to eat. Haha!

    Not just vegetables. That’s one thing about popiah, very nice…but mostly veg.

  3. Your bihun is just like how my mum fries hers. Canned stew meat. My favourite breakfast growing up.

    Nice attempt on the popiah.

    Aged old family recipe. Growing up, our bihun would be cooked this way…or with the Amoy canned clams in soy sauce.

  4. Have you ever made the wrappers yourself? I wonder if it’s difficult?

    You must have nimble fingers, VERY quick…and must have a very high threshold level for heat!

    I saw them doing it – dab a wad of cloth soaked in the batter (or the batter is wrapped inside to be squeezed out) on a hot pan or hot plate to make a round pancake-shaped piece. The skill here is to make sure you dab the exact amount of the batter and the batter must be of the right texture/thickness so the skin would be paper thin, not thick…and once done, very quickly use your fingers to peel off the skin. Yes, use your fingers – no time for ladles and tongs or whatever…and once done, remove quickly…and go on to do the next piece and the other 50 or whatever number you need.

    Now, does that sound very easy to you?

  5. I’ll take the popiah but not the porky bee hoon thank you πŸ˜›

    Have to make sure there’s no minced pork in the popiah too, I guess? Usually I would add that too…but not this round.

  6. Popiah looks good. I have always love popiah. The filling are more or less like chai kuih. I prefer thin popiah skin too.

    I wonder where one can get it in Kuching – maybe I can get people to buy, anyone who may be coming over to Sibu. Sibu, only one and not so easily available…and quality also so-so only, not really paper thin but better than the one that I used to buy from – thick, chewy, yellowish…with some kind of yeast smell and some bubbly! Was very good before, wouldn’t want to buy from there anymore.

  7. The popiah skin looks like pancake/crepes.. Your popiah filling is very neat, full and stuffed with goodness.. Your stewed pork fried bihun looks good too, but we usually eat the stewed pork with rice, banjir gravy and we eat the bones too!

    Yes, the stewed pork is nice with steaming hot rice too. Go for the pork chops, all lean, no fat…and there are bones to chew. Stewed pork…is pork belly, a lot of layers of fat and very oily.

  8. Wow..the popiah you did is impressive.Like the store bought one.

    Ummm…nicer! Both in the look and the taste. Those, the filling is usually overcooked and very brown from the use of oyster sauce.

  9. hey how do you do these things! it’s like magic.. you give me those ingredients and I’ll do another sort of magic for you, the kind which spoils everything and is not edible at all! πŸ˜›

    Keep at it, you’ll get the knack of it one day. It was the same when I first started cooking and very rarely then – many disasters were quietly thrown away. Don’t give up! They say a man who cooks is sexy wor… Wink! Wink!

  10. test, wonder why my comment does not pop up

    It’s there all right. Patience… If it gets into spam, I would retrieve it…sooner or later. Hehehehehe!!!!

  11. But… I can’t get decent canned stew pork here. I tried all the brands that I have seen before, they are all not great in terms of taste. Better to buy my own pork belly and stew them myself…

    Of course, own cooked is nicer…but not for this style of fried bihun – it has to have that distinct canned stewed pork fragrance and taste. If it’s own-cooked, it will not be the same…may be nice too but not the same. Growing up, it was always Ma Ling but I do not go for that brand anymore – quality is no longer the same. I like Narcissus…or Gulong, pork chops…all lean, no fat.

  12. I used to grow up eating fried bihun with canned stewed pork chop but now a canned of stewed pork not cheap…

    How much there? Here, over RM8.00 for a big one. For this, I just bought a small one, RM4.00 something if I remember correctly.

  13. That popiah must be really fabulously tasty! πŸ˜›

    It was. Nothing beats own homemade…anything!

    P.S. By the way, something in your blog has a virus – suavelikesuave or something. Everytime I clicked to go to your blog, I get the notification from my antivirus.

  14. I’ve never bought any other brands of stewed pork chops, it has always been Narcissus for me. But I’ve never thought of using it for fried meehoon though. I’ve always cooked it by adding iceberg lettuce to salty but flavourful broth. But one can is very expensive nowadays.

    Yes, Narcissus is a good buy. In my younger days, Ma Ling was everyone’s favourite – stewed pork and luncheon meat but the quality these days has gone down the drain. Some people claim there are imitations but we never know which is the real thing so best not to buy anymore. Gulong’s not bad…and word has it that there are imitations too. Tsk! Tsk!

  15. Yummy yum yum STP. πŸ™‚ I think we have a different wrapper than what you used in this post. We used it for our lumpia.

    It’s one and the same thing, except that I think your lumpia is deep fried. We do that to ours too – deep fried popiah but I prefer to eat it like this, less oil. “po” in Hokkien means cloth, hence the name…as the skin resembles that. The Indonesians call theirs lumpia as well…and the Thais and the Vietnamese have their spring rolls too, also deep fried. All the same, filling is up to the individual what one want to add inside.

  16. Oh yes, canned stewed pork fried bihun is simply divine! But the canned pork is rather expensive these days.

    Just the small can is good enough, RM4 something, with one pack of bihun – more than enough for at least 5-6 people…or more.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

