Time on my hands…

In yesterday’s post, I mentioned that I was out and about having breakfast with my contemporaries and by the time I got home, the ladies had gone out on their own to a movie, shopping and what not. As I was still full, I decided not to cook lunch and opted for a quick nap instead. When I got up, they were still not home yet so with a lot of time on my hands, I decided to make some pancakes…

My pancakes

…which turned out really good, not too sweet (I reduced the sugar from three to two tablespoons) and soft and fluffy with a delightful buttery fragrance. They had them for tea too when they got home and it was pretty obvious that they liked them a lot for when I peeped a while later, there were only a few pieces left out of the many that I made following this recipe. Go ahead, give it a try! You’ll love it, of that I am very sure.

Ah yes! I did mention that my cousin in Melbourne, Australia was sending me some stuff and I would show you what I got in this post. Well, here you are! Da…da…da…

From Melbourne

I wasted no time at all in getting down to business…and the very next morning, I cut the leftover roast duck into small bits and fried it with garlic and leek…and I wrapped that using the tortilla wraps before putting them into the oven to bake…

Tortillas

Everyone enjoyed eating those…except my missus, of course. She wouldn’t touch the bird!

Thank you so much to my cousin for sending the goodies all the way from Down Under and thanks once again, Gina & Henry, for helping to bring them over.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

14 thoughts on “Time on my hands…”

  1. So nice of your cousin and her friends to bring you the goodies. I see you waste no time in using the tortilla to create a very tasty snack from the leftover duck. You sure are creative in cooking. From the photo, it looks like you rolled them up like cones. Must be very tasty and easy to eat.

    Only one pack, not that many…the wraps, and I did not intend to finish all at one go. That was why I only used two, cut them into quarters and rolled in cones as such – could make eight…out of the two!

  2. Ahhh, breakfast for lunch (and tea), nice! Pancakes, everyone likes! Your pancakes look so god, buttery and fragrant, I can eat just like that without sapu-ing anything..

    That’s how we had the pancakes – so good on its own, no need for any syrup, honey, jam or whatever.

  3. Wow, that’s alot of goodies, can last for quite sometimes. Pancakes looks really nice. Yumzzzz

    Very easy to make – if I can manage, anybody can. Give it a try, you’ll love it, I’m sure!

  4. I was attracted with the words of that tortilla packaging. New and improved recipe – now even softer. It sure looks like it from your picture!

    Never tried before – was good. We have these here too…at that supermarket selling all the imported stuff but of course, very expensive. We’d go for the Mission Brand ones, they’re available at most supermarts here – RM9-10, depending on where one goes to buy.

  5. Very lovely! Nicely made. I am sure my girl would enjoy yours. Maybe one day I will try make it. Last attempt not so successful. Lol.

    If at first you fail, try and try again. My first time, a bit oily, used too much butter in the pan maybe, This one, 2nd attempt, just perfect!

  6. I once tried cooking pancakes and it turned out terrible. I never tried again since. I’m such a bad cook. Hehe.

    Try my daughter’s recipe. Very simple…and so very nice too. I can manage, sure you can too!

  7. You make very good pancakes! Love the golden brown colour. So many goodies for you again 🙂 Love your wraps. Your missus doesn’t know what she is missing 🙂

    Indeed!!! Quack quack! 😀 😀 😀

  8. I love to try one of your tortillas! Looks very nice especially baked ones… your cousins know you are a good cook, all the spices and stuff… Arthur Can Cook!

    Not when it comes to western…or Mexican. My girl will have to take over…when she can find the time.

  9. Yes, I remember the recipe, add 3 tbps of ENO. It is fluffy and soft. I actually like pancakes a lot. My girls too.

    Ahhhhh!!!! The testimony from one who has tried. It’s very nice indeed.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

