Look inside…

So what were inside those packets?

From Alfred

Anybody waiting eagerly to find out? Well, let me put you out of your misery and show what what was inside the little ones at the top. It looked like Kuching kolo mee

Singapore wanton mee

…and it even had those pickled green chili…

Pickled green chili

…but no, it wasn’t Kuching kolo mee. My girl and the mum had a packet each that evening when I went for the wedding dinner and they praised it to the skies…saying that it was so nice, nicer than any of the kolo mee they had had in Kuching, the texture of the noodles was different and they loved it a lot bla…bla…bla!!!

Hearing that, I just had to heat up a packet the next morning and have it for breakfast. Yes, it was indeed very very nice though I did not seem to be able to detect the taste and fragrance of lard. Later, when my girl woke up, she wanted the last packet for breakfast and that was it!

I asked my friend, Alfred, and it turned out that it was not kolo mee. This was the Singapore version of wanton mee, different from the ones in the peninsula that I never really fancy, drowned in some dark, oily sauce…and theirs had shredded chicken, wanton and mushroom as well. He said it was SGD3.00 a packet which I would not say was expensive, considering all those added ingredients even though the portion was kind of small.

Right below all those little packets was this very big one…

Wrapped in Opeh leaf

…wrapped in opeh leaf, the traditional way from back in the 70’s when I was there. I remember how I enjoyed this so very much then and I had not had it all this time since then…or maybe I did but it wasn’t served in the leaf and was not all that authentic.

It was so nice of Alfred to go through all that trouble to get me this Singapore Hokkien mee…

SHM 1

…as it is not easy to find one wrapped in the special leaf these days in that island republic. As you can see, this is very different from the dark and thick ones in KL and nothing like what they call Hokkien mee in Penang.

I sure enjoyed it to the max and this was only SGD6.00. Without converting to our currency, I would say it was quite reasonable – there was enough in that packet for two plates at least and there were a few prawns and squid…

SHM 2

…which would be more than what I could say about our Foochow-style fried noodles here with the pathetic bits of pork and green vegetables.  Most importantly, this certainly helped appease my craving in no small measure and brought back some really fond memories that would go all the way back to 1973.

However, Alfred, when you come to Sibu again next time, please do not buy this for me anymore…considering the price and all that trouble you would have to go through. I would say that I am very happy enough that you bother to come all the way to our little town and I can get to take you around to feast on nothing but the best we have around here…together. I sure am looking forward to your next trip – do make it soon, okay?

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

23 thoughts on “Look inside…”

  1. I am amazed that the Singapore Hokkien mee and Singapore WTM survived the long journey from Singapore to Sibu and still managed to taste very good too. Your friend Alfred is really amazing to carry out such a feat!

    It’s not that long, 1 hour 50 minutes. Like Sibu to KL…and I’ve brought kampua, kompia…and all. Worse still, I even packed them in a box and checked it in – too lazy to carry. At least, Alfred carried everything by hand…and it’s cold in the cabin. The nasi lemak would be a greater risk as it has santan.

    1. 1 hour 50 minutes is for the flight only right? And you mentioned that they took a bus from Singapore to JB. Adding up all the waiting time for the bus, for the flight, the food would have been travelling for more than 2 hours.

      Yes, more. On the way back, we left the hotel at 9 (but we went early, you know me…and besides, they wanted to eat at our Sarawak franchise place at the airport – here, they do not jack up the prices most unreasonably like at KLIA, same as outlets in town), reached home at 4.

      Not as long as when I brought kampua and kompia to KL…in a box, checked in and when I reached KL, they took me for tea…and then, they dropped me of at the hotel and then, I saw on Facebook, they went shopping at the mall…was night when they reached home and opened the box to eat. All still good. They’re not that easily perishable like nasi lemak, nyonya kuihs…things with santan. Of course, freshly-cooked edibles, best to carry by hand (They did!), just that I’m too lazy – don’t expect me to do that!

  2. Wow, what a treat to be carried all the way from Singapore!

    Yes, and even when we go there, we would not know where to find these – the real thing, not those cooked by the “mainlanders”. That’s what most will get these days, I hear.

    1. Looks so yum the wanton mee.I always ordered mee pok, I will order wanton mee next time, never try this version before.

      Not sure where my friend got this – it is really very nice. He said not all the same…which is expected, of course – like Sibu kampua, must know where to go for the good ones. I like their mee pok too – would have that in 1973 when I was craving for kampua though I was not too fond of the pork lard crusts that they put in it. Many people love those, I know.

  3. Yes. Unique wrapping. I never seen it here.

    When you opened up the wrapper, my first impression is wanton mee. Definitely not kolo mee from the look of the noodle’s texture.

    Used to have that in 1973 when I was there. Once, we had in Sibu, fried Singapore Hokkien noodles…but no leaf! Not the same.

    Yes, the noodles are small…and very much nicer. My girl loved it so very much! You would not catch her wanting more kolo mee after one packet, and if kampua, even worse! She’s not a fan…despite being Sibu born and raised.

  4. The packet certainly looks like konlou wantan mee, with wantan and char siew, complete with pickled green chillies too.. Looks nice.. And it’s still good when you heat up the next day, means very nice 🙂

    I know konlou mee in Sabah, Kota Kinabalu specifically. They use their thick noodles – like KL Hokkien mee…and toss, served with roast meat like char siew. I had it with roast duck. Nice. I guess they’re basically the same – konlou or kolo or kolok or kampua, all tossed dry…but the taste will vary according to the type of noodles and the ingredients used…so they all taste different – not the same at all. Ya…I bet if eaten on the spot, freshly cooked and served hot, the noodles would be absolutely awesome!

  5. Wanton mee looks good but soggy? i like my wanton mee fresh, tends to be slouchy

    Of course, it is best eaten there…but no, it was not soggy. You pack fresh kampua, it’s the same – will not be soggy as it is tossed dry but kampua may stick together so you get one big cake-like lump if you do not loosen the strands first before opening the packet. Photo of that coming up…sometime next week.

    Well, as they say, beggars can’t be choosers and I do not foresee ever going there in the near future to eat this or anything else, not with our current currency exchange rate and the hotel room rates and prices of everything there. Poor old pensioner like me can’t jolly well afford it and besides, if I had that kind of money, I’d much sooner go KL or Penang or elsewhere, stay 5-star…and go fine dining every meal. Makes a lot more sense to do that, right? SGD15 is already equal to around RM40!!!

    1. Glad that you like them all. The hokkkien mee is S$6. No one will buy at $15 unless there is Udang galah :p :p.

      Oh? Ok then…that’s cheap…or pretty reasonable, at least in SGD, not really in MYR. 😉 Amount enough for two servings/plates, at least and there were prawns and squids. Taste is awesome – as good as I remember it to be. Slurpsssss!!!!

      P.S.:
      Ok, edited already. Thanks for the tip-off.

  6. It looks like kolo mee to me. Singapore Hockkien mee looks like our fried bihun. 1st time see they are wrapped in that special leaf. All looks so yummy.

    Yes, I have fond memories of their Hokkien mee wrapped in leaves, first time having it again, the complete works since 1973. It has been so long.

  7. If I am Alfred, I would totally disregard your last paragraph! 😀

    What? And not come to Sibu again? Oh no!!!! I’m looking forward to his next trip – nice guy, easy to get along with, great company…and he loves good food! My kind of guy. Hehehehehe!!!!

  8. The moment I saw the pic, the wontons were a dead giveaway that that was a packet of wantan mee! 😀 Unfortunately, I’ve never enjoyed Singapore’s version of wantan mee coz of the use of ketchup in the sauce. Your girl and missus praised it to the skies thinking it was kolo mee. Would their opinion have been any different if they had known it was wantan mee? I’m still very much a supporter of the black version of wantan mee (especially if tossed in lard…kekeke!)

    Nope, they said it was nicer than any kolo mee they had had before in Kuching (or here), they loved the texture of the noodles…and like me, they prefer this one to the ones in Kl with the black and oily sauce. In fact, they were surprised it was actually wanton mee – after the not-so-pleasant experiences with the KL ones…except perhaps the one at one Hong Kong Noodle House in Mid Valley a long time ago – my girl loved that one…and we had a pretty good one in Ipoh on our way from SP to Cameron once. Can’t remember any nice ones that we had, other than those.

    I guess it’s like Sibu people who would swear by our kampua mee, everything else pales in comparison – I am more impartial, more open to anything that is nice elsewhere. These dry tossed noodles here there and everywhere, I like the Hakka mee I had in Seremban too, very nice!

  9. Gosh! I love what you revealed 😀 I love dry style wonton mee. The Singapore Hokkien Mee is rather unique wrapped in opeh leaf (I don’t know what that is).

    I think it is some kind of dried palm leaf or bark. If you see Lat’s cartoons, those kampung kids would play with it. One would sit on it and another would pull…and they would have a lot of fun – like going on some sleigh ride!

  10. Well, I’m fooled! Thought it look like kolo mee. Certainly different from the KL wanton mee. The Hokkien mee is very different too. In fact it looks like certain mee hoon in KL. But it looks very nice. And at SG$6, it is reasonable.

    Yes, even if it is the same thing like kampua mee in Sibu – it will not be the same between one place and another…not quite identical so one would need to go round and try, and even the favourites will vary between one individual and another. I’ve always known that KL Hokkien mee and Penang one are completely different…and now there’s the Singapore one as well. The otak-otak/otah…also not the same, Penang, Kl, and Sibu. Kuching also different…at one place. Also nice!

  11. So who says Singapore food is not nice?? Tasted so good, right? Yesterday Sharon took me to Noodles House.. and the their special QQ noodles is so tasty too! Not sure it is kampua or kolo.. both looks the same to me… hahaha…

    Of course, there is very nice food in Singapore. Everywhere also like that – would need a local to take you around to eat nothing but the best…not those half past six stuff cooked by the China migrants. Luckily, you had Sharon. Your nephew never came to see you, take you around makan kah?

    That place, last time, they said it was Sibu kampua…but they had lots of added ingredients, looked like Kuching kolo mee. Ask those from here who went to try – they said neither here nor there, not the same…but ok lah, beggars can’t be choosers. Maybe they got feedback so now they don’t want to call their noodles kampua or kolo mee anymore – Just QQ Noodles… 😀
    http://qqnoodlehouse.com.sg/menu.php
    2012 SGD5.00… How much now? No prices mentioned in their menu…

  12. ooo i also thought the chicken was char siew at first! then noticed it was quite thinly sliced 🙂

    The meat with the red edges would be char siew, the chicken’s trhe white shreds in the middle. My friend says have to wait one and half hours. He ordered the day before, told the lady he would be bringing overseas, make special a bit. This is what it looks like when you eat it there – certainly a lot more sauce…
    SWM

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

