His girl…

I got an invitation from an ex-colleague of mine – his girl was getting married last Saturday so there I was, that lovely evening…

Sunset

…for the wedding reception at a hotel in town.

Photos

She was an ex-student of mine in my English tuition class and is now a doctor…and her hubby is also a doctor, an ex-student in my previous school…

The couple

…though I cannot remember whether I did teach him or not.

I was seated right beside this arch…

Venue

…so that explains why the snapshots of the food have that tint of purple colour…

Dish

…and at this particular venue, of course, my favourite would be the duck stuffed with lor mai kai-like glutinous rice…

Duck

…and needless to say, I feasted on that!

Congrats to the couple…and also to the proud parents. Thank you so much for the invitation – it sure was my pleasure to be able to share the joy of this very auspicious and happy occasion in your lives.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

24 thoughts on “His girl…”

  1. Congrats to the doctor couple! So nice to be able to eat the duck stuffed with glutinous rice. If I go to Sibu I will go and buy this to eat. I don’t know where to get this in KL, should be available I think but I don’t know where.

    Thanks. At this point in time, this is the only place where they serve this. I remember having it a long long time ago at the Chinese restaurant at another hotel a hundred meters away. I wonder if they still serve it these days.

  2. I wish this lovely couple all the best. The photos are just beautiful!

    Thanks. Yes, it’s the current trend, the wedding shoot. Not cheap though…

  3. Congratulations to the newly weds πŸ˜€

    Duck stuffed with lor mai kai-like glutinous rice looks tempting. Never tried before.

    Thanks. Stop by when you’re heading home, you can have it here.

  4. wah, i’m eyeing the duck too … i’ve not seen that particular dish served at a wedding banquet before! πŸ™‚

    I like duck…and I like lor mai kai/bak chang…so it’s a double treat for me.

  5. Congrats to the lovely sweet couple.. Wow the bride’s parents are both doctors.. The duck stuffed with loh mai farn looks so good, never tried that before, would love to try it. I always look forward to the first and second dish in wedding dinners, and the last one (rice thingy) and desserts..

    Thank you. The rice at the end? Not fried rice, I hope. I had that at the end of banquets that I went to at a few places in KL and Penang and places over at your side. We only have it at one hotel here – I think it is mainly because the servings are very small…and that is to make sure everyone has had their fill before going home. In my younger days, we had 12 courses, HUGE plates…and the second last one (last one would be the canned peaches and lychee dessert) would be fried noodles and also sio bee. No longer the practice these days.

  6. Beautiful couple. Congrats!

    I would like to taste that stuffed duck too. Never taste such dish before. Tried stuffed chicken with glutinous rice before.

    Thanks. Oh? You never attended a dinner or wedding banquet at this hotel when in Sibu. They will surely have the duck on the menu, their specialty!

  7. Congratulations to the lovely couple. Glutinous rice wrapped in lotus leave is common in restaurant but stuff duck, haven’t come across any in Kuching having this in their wedding menu.

    Thank you. Yes, I like that rice in lotus leaf too – same as what is inside the duck. Here, only one restaurant serves this. Very popular.

  8. I realize many people loves to use white as the wedding decorations these days.
    Congrats to the newly wed!

    Thank you. Nothing like a white wedding – that would be the colour of my choice. too.

  9. That sure looks like one plump and crispy duck….with its butt facing you..lol! πŸ˜€

    I know…that duck had its legs obscenely wide open but I just simply snapped, didn’t want to keep the others waiting and of course, it was plump – it was stuffed!

  10. The perk of being a teacher is being invited by former students during their weddings. This just show that you had a good relationship with your students. If not then they will not bother inviting you.

    This one, the father was my colleague but yes, she was a very sweet and pleasant girl when she was in my class.

  11. That big platter up there must be the first course of appetizers. I love those the most!

    I like too…but maybe so hungry, waiting and waiting for the dinner to start and there is the tendency to overeat till so full, unable to eat much of the dishes that follow. 😦

  12. I’m stressed out now, I wonder if everyone actually keeps in touch with their teachers. I’m a horrible student, let’s not talk about inviting them to my future wedding dinner, I probably can’t even recognize most of my teachers now :/

    No worries, you belong to the majority. Very very few will keep in touch and even fewer will invite their teachers to their weddings.

  13. Hi! In response to your question on my blog post, yes, these are the same Von Trapps from the Sound of Music…they are the grandchildren of Maria Von Trapp. πŸ™‚

    Ahhhh!!! The grandkids. Definitely not the original ones, they would be very old by now, if they are stil around. πŸ˜€

      1. Oops, sorry, she was 82, I am confusing her with someone else who died not too long ago at the age of 99. πŸ™‚

        Ripe old age.

  14. Wah! duck stuffed with lor mai kai-like glutinous rice… at first I thought it was porky… Looks scrumptious! never had that, should try sometimes πŸ™‚

    I love duck!

  15. Would love to try the duck stuff with glutinous rice! Didn’t hear of any over here. I love glutinous rice wrapped with lotus leave, the one dish that they normally have at wedding dinners over here. But cannot eat too much..not good for digestion! 😬

    Oh? You have a problem with pulut? My dad has it too…so no chang for him. I’m ok with anything. Hehehehehe!!!!

  16. Oh, I love the duck stuffed with glutinous rice here too!

    I wanted to recreate it for Christmas – make a capon stuffed with glutinous rice but the kids wanted turkey so I got turkey instead. I have a mind to try and make one with a capon this year!

    Yes, my favourite…plus I do not get to eat duck at home, my missus would not touch it…so it would be a treat everytime I had dinner here.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

