That day…

My friend, Ryan, asked me where he could buy The Kitchen’s instant kampua noodles as he would be going over to Kota Kinabalu, Sabah and he wanted to bring them over to give to his relatives there. It so happened that I was going to get 10 packs for my Singapore friend, Alfred who would be coming later this week – he bought two from the market the last time he was here and loved it so much so he would like some more to take back home to enjoy. I told Ryan I would order for him as well and pass them to him at a convenient time. That was why we met early that day at 8.00 a.m. for breakfast here.

He had the kueh chap

Chopsticks kueh chap

…which, if I am not wrong, is among the best in town.

I did not want anything too heavy as I already had something when I got up early that morning so I just had the porridge with telur padi (direct translation: rice egg) or what we know better as pidan (皮蛋 ) or century egg…

Chopsticks century egg porridge

It was nice and Ryan said that his kueh chap was good too.

I passed the noodles to him and mission accomplished, I headed on home and thank you, Ryan, for picking up the tab for breakfast. That was so sweet of  you.

No sooner had I reached the house than I received word from my good friend, Annie, in KL. She was home with her twins to visit her mum and asked me if I could join them for breakfast. Of course I did not go!!! I already had two breakfasts that morning and I jolly well could not manage a third one. In the end, they went on their own and on the way back, they dropped by my house and Annie gave me these…

From Annie

Ooooo…the wine-infused lap cheong (Chinese sausages)!!! I had finished all those that she gave me before…and maybe she got the hints I had dropping all over the place. My prayers were answered! Hehehehehe!!!! Once you’ve tried these, you will never go back to those very hard and dry and not nice ones that they sell in the shops, I tell you.

Annie knows my favourite Marks & Spencer’s All Butter Viennese cookies and she got me not one, not two…but THREE packs! Gee!!! She really spoils me, that lady! And other than those, she also got me a pack of yee mee (中文 ), a special type of noodles that they usually use in claypot or sizzling hot plate mee. My cousin in Bintulu sent me some once and I cooked those with egg sauce, à la wan tan hor style and it was very nice. At this point in time, I have not decided yet how I would cook these – maybe I can try the fried noodles, Kuching style with tomato sauce gravy. We’ll see!

Thanks so much, Annie – you are always so thoughtful and so very generous. It sure was nice to see you and your boys again.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

34 thoughts on “That day…”

  1. i don’t think can get a decent bowl of kueh chap in KL. Maybe there are some but not that I know of. The one looks good, no wonder you said it is one of the best kueh chap in Sibu.

    Annie really knows you well since she brought you all the things that you like. What is the brand of the wine infused sausages? Where did Annie get it from? Must be specially ordered? Just wondering how good it is since you sing its praises sky high and maybe get some next year for my inlaws to try.

    The lap cheong’s her in-laws’ family business – she says they make their own. You can get them at Plaza TTDI:
    RAW MEAT Hero Market,C-1-1 Jalan Wan Kadir 3, 60000 Kuala Lumpur. Business Hours:0800-2200 daily
    I think it is available all the time. Nice, and not so hard and dry like the China ones.

    The kueh chap at a few places here is very nice, no smell – not like what I had at one place in Kuching before. They did not know how to clean the intestines or what.

    1. Thank you for the info. Will definitely drop by when I am around that area.

      You must! My friend’s hubby’s shop. Tell your friends about it. Give some support. 😉

  2. There’s Marks & Spencers in 1U but I’ve never stepped in, believe it or not?! I must try to go there one day and try their cookies to see if they are really nice 🙂

    I only like this one – the rest, you can just give a miss. Hmmmm….I’ve never been to 1U but I’ve had M&S cookies so many times already. Hehehehehe!!!!

  3. The lap cheong must have had a relatively soft texture and the All Butter Viennese looks rich in flavour. I love kueh cap too but have not had it for quite some time.

    Yes, soft. Not like the China ones, so hard I would need a cleaver to slice. The cookies are my favourite – nicer than those Danish ones. Any good kueh chap in Miri?

  4. I bet my hubby would like those butter cookies too – dipped in a hot cup of milky tea. 🙂

    This is just about the only cookie that I do not dip in my coffee so I can enjoy the awesome fragrance and taste and they’re quite thin, not hard to bite. All my other favourites, I would – like Scottish shortbread, Danish butter cookies.

  5. Oooo I didn’t know telur padi is century eggs.. Looks good, my favourite.. I always boil with more century eggs, salted eggs and dried oysters, best.. That bowl of kuey chap looks good too.. I can finish the bowl, plus your bowl of porridge, no problem..

    I saw it somewhere…so when I saw the name on the menu at the stall that morning, I was not surprised. You’re so skinny – I wonder where all that food went to…or maybe you’re only saying and in actual fact, you nibble…nibble like a mouse.

  6. How kind of Annie! Those Marks and Spencer butter cookies look really good, would be lovely with a nice hot cup of tea. 🙂

    Yes, she’s a wonderful friend, always so thoughtful and generous.

  7. Love kueh chap & porridge. The only kueh chap I like is Bintawa Kueh Chap at Tabuan Jaya. That bowl of porridge looks great. How much is that bowl? Over here, RM5 – 5.50 with century egg. Eyeing at the lap cheong.

    No idea, my friend’s treat. I just ate. 😉

  8. The kueh chap looks good. I only been to that place once for chicken rice, never try other food.

    Chicken porridge is my comfort food. Never like pi tan so a big no no for me. Haha. If plain porridge, I would go for those black bean dace, salted egg and salted fish. Hehehe.

    The chicken rice is no good now, not since the change in ownership. We would never go there for that ever again. 😦 That would be something like Teochew porridge – with all the different condiments. I love that too!

  9. There’s one local kampua brand called eco mee. Tried before? Only sold at somewhere near Wonderful . I think that’s better than the kitchen’s..Haha

    Yup, I know about theirs. Was at the shop yesterday buying salmon and prawns. Never tried – somebody in KL bought the lard-free one from a shop at the airport, said not nice. Dunno about the lard ones. I’ve tried Big Thumb’s. Didn’t like…but I know some people who would go for theirs.

    1. Where about is the shop actually ? Never been before actually. Got it from someone else.

      Go past Giant to the roundabout, turn right…go in a bit, road to SMK Sg Merah, turn right – block to the left of Wonderful Supermarket & Departmental Store. Opposite the supermarket is Cocoa Coffee, formerly Italian Coffee.

  10. Here, the kueh chap, the ingredients is separated from the chap…

    Ahhhh!!! I see! I think we can have that here – I saw the ingredients all ready – they just added to the kueh cap and poured the soup all over everything.

  11. I just know how to eat telur padi at this age. hehe… 😜

    Me too. Picked up the taste rather late – only my father used to eat it during my growing up years, so put off by the colour. LOL!!!

  12. Like Merryn said, always pass by M&S but I never bother to go in. Just not use to shop inside. Maybe one fine day….perhaps..ahhah

    I’ve tried some of their other cookies and stuff, not really to my taste. I like only this one…

    1. Those that they usually use to make lap mei farn…the liver sausages…I’m sure you’ve eaten them before!

      Ummm…not too sure. Don’t think we have those here and never had any sausages with lots of wine before this…or liver

  13. I’ve never had the wine-infused lap cheong. That must be very aromatic and tasty.

    You’re in KL, aren’t you…or somewhere there? Can always drop by and buy. Give it a try!

  14. I love lap cheong, basically it’s already very good by steaming it with some soy sauce and cili padi!

    Like how they serve it at Taiwanese restaurants? I’m ok with it that way, didn’t sweep me off my feet.
    Taiwan sausage

  15. once, i won Rp50,000 from betting that the color of the telor is black… .heh heh… telor negro…

    You went and bluff the people there lah, never seen pidan before.

  16. So nice of your friends and Annie!! She is one nice lady whom I have no chance to meet as yet… always losing opportunity… now that I am retired, I hope to meet her up together with some others soon.. but I dont know why, I am so so busy….. Is retirement life so occupied, Arthur? So much to do but not so much energy to do them all…. even blog hopping is missed… hmmmm. wonder why…

    No leh? I am so free, shake legs all day long, online all the time, jalan2 when I feel like it, cook something when in the mood…so very nice. Enjoying my golden years to the fullest!

  17. two nights ago, i saw instant kampua 5packets for RM7 .. or was it RM8, for the first time !!!! hahahahaha.. very much sakai i know as i believe many had even tasted it before… i haven’t tried it myself T___T

    the kueh chap looks good though 🙂

    Lots these days. All kinds of brands, flooding the shops and the market here! You can try – pretty good, as good as what you get at the stalls. Ya…very nice, nicer than some I had in Kuching – got smell.

  18. hahahaha!! Now only i know why you didn’t join us for breakfast!! Three breakfast in one morning that was a lot.

    You’re most welcome, hope you like them. Didn’t get you anything new, just some “old” things that you like. Yee mee you can have it for steamboat, just throw it in and eat with others vege prawns or meat balls, my mum love it a lot!

    Will try and cook it tomorrow morning for breakfast, original recipe. If nice, then will blog about it. Hehehehehe!!!! 😉

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

