You give love a bad name…

All my life, I was told that these…

Quail eggs 1

…were not good for health owing to their high content of cholesterol.

Well, it did not bother me that much as we very seldom eat them except when we had steamboat at home…

Steamboat

…and those eggs…

Quail eggs 2

…would be one of the many condiments…

Condiments

…that we would make sure we had.

Well, we are familiar with all those conflicting articles about this and that. At one time, they went all out to give our tropical oils a bad name but lately, they are praising coconut and all its by-products to the skies. It was the same with eggs – first they say you must not eat them, then they say it would be all right to have two a week and at one time, they said the danger would be in the yolk so you should just eat the white and after that, they said it would be fine if you would eat the yolk with the white…bla…bla…bla…and now they say lard is good!!!

Anyway, going back to quail eggs, I came across this article that says, and I quote: “Do quail eggs have cholesterol? Yes! The good kind. Quail eggs are rich in HDL cholesterol…” and somebody linked me to this very interesting article on cholesterol. It singled outΒ Dr. Ancel Keys’ 1953 Seven Countries Study,Β which linked the consumption of dietary fat to coronary heart disease claiming that when Keys published his analysis that claimed to prove this link, he selectively included information from only seven countries, despite having data from 22 countries at his disposal. I don’t know how true this is but I do know for a fact that when some people do their research for their thesis, they would do that or even manipulate the statistics to prove their point.

Well, whatever it is, I do believe that it would be pretty all right if we would just consume anything in moderation…and when it comes to quail eggs, I have not seen them served any other way other than in our steamboat at home or being fried with some green vegetables at a restaurant and even then, I hardly ever see it these days. Considering that we hardly ever eat them, therefore, I am pretty sure that having them once in a blue moon would not bring about very much undue damage to one’s health…but that’s my two cents worth.

For one thing, I did read somewhere that 5 quail eggs would be the equivalent of one chicken egg…and at RM4.40 for 15, it works out to around 30 sen each, almost the same as one chicken egg and one sure would not be able to afford that many! Besides, they are not that easy to come by here – there may be a couple of supermarkets that have them on their shelves here or one would have to go to one stall at the wet market to buy them and that reminds me of the time when I went all the way to get some.

I bought a bagful of them and walked happily back to my car, swinging my arm as I went along. Somehow or other, the bag slipped off my finger and went flying in the air and landed some distance away from where I was. “Omigosh!!!” I thought. “There goes all my quail eggs!” I quickly walked towards the bag and from what I could see through it, there were some that looked intact…still. I rushed forward to pick it up but in my hurry, I could not stop in time and…I stepped on it!!! I was so pissed off that I simply refused to walk back to the market to buy some more. Tsk! Tsk!

What about the rest of you? You like quail eggs? Or are you one of those that have been avoiding it like a plague?

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

31 thoughts on “You give love a bad name…”

  1. I like to eat quail eggs and I like the rock song (the title of your post). Oh dear, so sad to hear that the eggs in the end became like Humpty Dumpty, all the king’s horses and all the king’s men could not put them together again. 😦

    Hmmmm…so sad about the eggs – me lah? No quail eggs to eat in the end. 😦 πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  2. Quail eggs my favourite! My mom always cook them with meat (with dark soya sauce, if you can figure out what I mean).

    Oh? That would make them something like stewed eggs then? We usually use the usual big chicken eggs. I love those!

  3. LoL Arthur! What unfortunate incident you had with your eggs. Poor them eggs… πŸ˜›

    Grrrrrrr!!!! You too! What do you mean poor them eggs? What about poor me! Tsk! Tsk! πŸ˜€

  4. I love quail eggs n when I was young I thought it is called pigeon eggs… They sell in a small tub here around $6 for half a doz I think. I hardly buy as the rest of my family very ‘gelik’ of its miniature size n don’t want to touch them.πŸ˜”

    LOL!!! They don’t know what they’re missing. Wowwwww!!!!! AUD1 each! And I thought they’re so expensive here, 30 sen each. πŸ˜›

  5. It’s hard to know what you can eat these days!

    Don’t over-indulge, will be fine. The human body should be able to cope, like the rest of nature…if humans do not go and destroy the system with their excessive activities.

  6. From what I read in one of the mommy forum I join in FB (about healthy food to kids and all), quail eggs are good.. I like quail eggs and I can eat many during steamboat too.. Ooops, poor those quail eggs, haha, you were swinging your hands, like a happy boy with a bag of sweets πŸ˜€

    Another one!!! Why nobody says, poor me leh? 😦

    1. LOL at Princess Ribbon’s comment, like a happy boy with a bag of sweets, muahaha

      Something like that. Happily walking back to the car with my purchase.

  7. For steamboat or chap chye tng, I used to put quails eggs, my boy’s favourite. Over here, quite easy to get them at wet market at RM3 for 12.

    I bought these at a supermarket. Not sure what the selling price is at the market, so lazy to go early in the morning. Don’t like to go later – so crowded and so hot.

  8. I am in love with quail eggs since a kid. Now am glad it is good egg so can eat them.

    Yes. I enjoy eating them too even though people insist they’re not good. I can vaguely remember having some with double-boiled chicken soup with white fungus – very nice. Maybe I can cook that one of these days and blog about it.

  9. I have to say that I hate eggs…. I don’t know why, but I simply can’t swallow them… but. Quail eggs are exception. I can eat them and enjoy their taste…. Maybe it’s the matter of their size?:D

    Personally, I prefer chicken – the texture and the taste of the yolk is a bit different.

  10. I was sipping coffee reading your post till I came to the part where you stepped on the eggs. Now I have coffee all over the table, and am still laughing. Sorry…..it was just so funny. πŸ™‚

    Yes, looking back, it does seem funny but not at the time – had to go without quail eggs, whatever I had planned.

  11. Oh yes, high cholesterol, i’d rather go for the normal chicken eggs, more filling. My dad’s a huge fan of quail eggs tho

    Well, if you click the link and read, it seems that it’s an urban legend. I saw one – says both quail and chicken eggs…more or less the same, but you will have to eat 10 = 2 chicken eggs. We do not usually pop so many in the mouth at one sitting, do we? Dunno about duck’s eggs – popular in Penang…in the char kway teow.

  12. Technically I don’t eat quail egg..hahah but my kids love it.

    Sorry to hear your eggs pecah..sobs sobs

    I think the cuteness appeals to kids. Small and cute.

  13. U like century eggs? Have u tried one made of quail egg? Problem wt quail eggs is u just can’t stop popping them in ur mouth…

    I’ve seen those in the shops but never tried. Any good?

  14. I love quail eggs…good cholesterol? I’ll take your word for it. πŸ˜€ Quail eggs…..a must for me when having steamboats. I once had fried quail eggs on a stick from a pasar malam vendor. He would crack each quail egg into a special pan (like those they make takoyaki from but smaller) and put a stick on top of it. Once the eggs cook, he’ll just lift the stick up. I can eat many sticks of this…muahahaha! πŸ˜€

    Oh? I sure would love to try that. Sounds interesting! Yes, now that you mentioned it – they do have that on skewers for the lok lok steamboat. Used to have a few sticks at one go when I went for that at Newton in Singapore. I love the ones with clear boiling water for the cooking not the bubbling satay sauce like the ones in Malacca. So messy, all over the table…and even after cooking, everyone keeps dipping in for more sauce while eating.

  15. You know what, I just couldn’t stop laughing at the last two paragraphs! Too hilarious. Btw, I prefer “kampung eggs” although I’ve forgotten the taste of quail eggs. :> :>

    Laugh! Laugh! Ya…I would think that was so funny too. Things happen, I guess. Hehehehehe!!!! I’m not fond of kampung eggs – nice colour but they do not have that egg-smell, rather tasteless. I love the smell. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  16. There is no such thing as good kind of cholesterol. There are two types, HDL and LDL, yes, but both have certain acceptable limits. Exceed either one and it would be a health risk anyway.

    I don’t care too much about what those “experts” say. Different experts have different opinion on what food you can or cannot eat. Just (try to) eat everything in moderation is the best approach I would say.

    Oh? I always hear good cholesterol, must eat this, this and this…and bad cholesterol, mustn’t eat this, this and this… I never pay much attention. I agree with what you say 100% – moderation, do not over-indulge…and all will be fine. Some go to the other extreme and would go without a lot of things and there may be some things bad in that as well – we may be depriving ourselves of things that our bodies need.

  17. For some reason all the blogs that I subscribe to….the new posts haven’t appeared in my newsfeed, so I came here to see your post. I think as long as we do our best to eat a good variety of healthy foods, it is better than constantly eating junk food. Great post.

    Yes, junk food including all those fast foods – the burgers and the fried stuff. I’ve noticed it happening in some blogs too – all their links, no updates for a few days even though there have been a few new posts.

  18. Oooh I love quail egss very much. Love to add them into my veggie soup. My daughter refused to eat this egg, she thought it should belongs to the bird. She said ‘kesian bird’ hehe.

    Kids. Just like my girl – refusing to eat tilapia as they sell them alive, can still swim in the water. She also said, kesian. πŸ˜€

  19. I guess these “health trends” are very much like fashion trends. They’re OK the last season then not OK in the next season. I agree with you. Everything should be in moderation. Even the most healthy food will turn bad if you eat it like a glutton.

    Yes, indeed! Too much of a good thing will also make it bad. Must have self-control, discipline…even in eating.

  20. I love quails eggs! All these health reports are so conflicting. One day they tell you egg is bad and the next day egg is good. Now I hear bacon is supposed to be good! Anyway, as you said, moderation is the key. Oh dear, poor you! You dropped the eggs and then stepped on them. That’s what they say in Malay, Sudah jatuh, ditimpa tangga 😦

    Yalor…not even one could be salvaged, all gone. πŸ˜₯

  21. I do aware about the quail’s egg higher cholesterol content. Though I seldom have it…but I remembered having fried quail eggs. It was very nice. πŸ™‚

    Fried? Never had that – sure would love to try. I may have seen scotch eggs using quail eggs or something that looks like that in some people’s blogs or somewhere.

  22. All my life I have never eaten quail eggs!

    Oh? I wonder why? Nothing much really, what appeals to kids is probably the cute little size. Personally, I find chicken eggs somewhat nicer.

  23. Hahaha, can’t swing your arm when you’re holding a bag with egg inside la, when I hold eggs I must hold it with both hand and walk careful, because if drop will get scold second of drop it at home, got to clean up >.<

    I like quail egg while eating steamboat, guess that's the only chance I have it..

    I will not swing chicken eggs, of course…but quail eggs, small and light…very swing-able πŸ˜€

  24. I have been avoiding all kinds of eggs except egg white till recently where there seems a ‘revelation’ that eggs are good. Anyway, I don’t really like quail eggs , thus I don’t take it. However, I do consume in moderation now… probably not more than 4-5 eggs a week, usually during breakfast for my favorite half-boiled eggs.
    Yes, everything has to consume in moderation. It’s all food for our bodies and it’s ok to enjoy all sorts of food for our pleasure too. Even taking too much vit C may harm our body … so moderation is the key.
    I shall have half-boiled eggs tomorrow morning. πŸ™‚

    Vitamin C? Drink lots of water – the body will flush the excess out. Yes, always drink lots of water – 5 cups upon waking up in the morning and do not eat anything for 45 minutes, they say.

    4 or 5 eggs a week? Gee!!! We may have a bit used in our cooking, say with our fried rice or some fried veg…or I may pop one into my bowl of noodles. May have more when my missus stew something and add stewed eggs, I love those – otherwise, we do not usually eat that many.

  25. Quail eggs still always my favorite when comes to steamboat-ing or lok lok. I couldn’t be bother about the cholesterol when the moment I’m eating. Is not like everyday you’re eating on it. Quail eggs are expensive, and I agreed with you. I bought 1 packet (is equivalent to the price you mentioned above) for my own DIY Cold Char Soba noodles. It’s good to eat fresh quail egg dipping in you soy sauce… Enjoy when you’re young.. but keep everything in moderation.. cheers xD

    Thanks for dropping by and commenting. Yes, everything in moderation – that should be ok. You’re young, not me – young people are more active, can burn more calories. Old folks like me have slowed down already so must not indulge…too often. πŸ˜‰

  26. I Looooovvveeee quail eggs. Once in a while okay la. Everything in moderation. πŸ™‚

    Yes. We only have them whenever we have steamboat which isn’t all that often.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

