Left behind…

We still had these stalks of leek left behind after Chinese New Year…

Leek

…and they had started to dry up so I decided to take one and cook something with it – I did not want to use all as my missus might have something in mind.

She told me that she would use just the bulb and the stalk close to it but not the leaves. I think that would be such a waste so I would use all except for the parts of the leaves that had withered and turned brown. I sliced them thinly like this…

Ingredients

…and got the other ingredients ready as well – the usual suspects, the peeled and thinly sliced shallot and two cloves of garlic, peeled and chopped, one chili, seeds removed and thinly sliced and some of the leftover bak kua (barbecued meat), cut into thin strips. Lap cheong (Chinese sausage) would be good too but we have run out and do not have any in the house.

I still had half a packet of the bihun or noodles that they use for Penang assam laksa so I decided to use what’s left of it. I fried some of it once but found the texture rather hard and rubbery and did not quite like it. I can’t remember if I blogged about it but when I shared the photograph on Facebook, a cousin of mine said I would need to boil the noodles for quite sometime to get it nice and soft. That time, I only soaked it in hot water so this time around, older and wiser, I boiled it for a while before rinsing it in cold water and draining it well…

Penang laksa noodles

…for use.

I fried the shallot and garlic in a bit of oil till golden brown before throwing in the bak kua and cooking it for a while to get the flavour out. Next, I added the leek and the chili and mixed everything together thoroughly. For the seasoning, I sprinkled some pepper and a pinch of ikan bilis stock and added a tablespoon of kikkoman sauce. Once done, I added two eggs and fried well  before dishing it all out…

Fried Penang laksa noodles 1

…onto a plate.

I sat down and tried…

Fried Penang laksa noodles 2

…and yes, it was really very nice…and was pleasantly colourful too! I certainly would consider cooking this for Chinese New Year next year. I am quite sure it would be a hit – like the noodles this year.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

14 thoughts on “Left behind…”

  1. I’d prefer to eat that noodles with some soup, feels more “ngam” lol

    Do they sell this any other way other than in Penang assam laksa? It’s so slippery that it is such a hassle to eat – big-time damage all over the front of one’s shirt. Not a fan of the murky Penang laksa. This turned out so well I may fry it this way again for Chap Goh Meh. Bet it would be a hit…like my noodles that day, Chinese New Year’s Day dinner.

    1. Yea, fish head noodles too, not necessary assam laksa

      Oh? They use that there? Here, they use the hung ngang (big bihun). This “laksa” not sold everywhere – only at “selected places”.

  2. It doesn’t look like bihun or noodles, in between the two, I guess. Certainly I love that plate of it, like you say, with lap cheong, more ummpp…..but with bak kwa is just as nice too. I always cook my leek with pak lor 3 layer pork.

    Oh? Never had it with 3-layer pork. Hmmmm…I thought you would not touch that?

    1. Some 3 layer pork are quite lean so I do eat that. If too fat, no thanks…

      My missus will peel off the fat – not much meat left. She buys all the time, says the meat is nicer than other parts…but the hubby eats it all – told her if I die of the fat, it is all her fault. No patience to peel peel and then eat so little.

  3. This noodle is so presentable and good looking. I want to praise you and your family for making your house so cozy for Chinese New Year. I can feel the mood and spirit from the pictures of your house. I give you 2 thumbs up on the Chinese New Year decor. I super like it.

    Thank you so much for your kind compliments. We usually keep it simple, simple family, no need for too much of anything, even the food as long as it is nice, good enough – none of the extravagant stuff. 😉

  4. I loves this 粗米粉 and your’s is very tempting…

    Not sure if it is exactly what you mentioned but yes, it was very nice.

  5. Your ingredients can’t go wrong, nice with any rice or bihun you fry.. I can easily finish the whole plate.. After that a can of Shandy, burrrrppp..

    Oh? Shandy? I’ve gone off all alcohol, avoiding all fizzy drinks as well. Will make me cough badly, old man. 😦

  6. As usual, your noodles always look very nice! I have never tried asam laksa noodles fried like this. I love leeks but sometimes the one at the chap fan stall is undercooked. I love it with sweet and sour pork 🙂

    Seldom eat leek. Usually fried with egg and prawns or as an ingredient in claypot stews.

  7. We call those noodles “lai fun” here. Hmm…would never have thought of using bak kua in cooking 😀

    We do use bak kua in cooking – cut in thin strips like this…use to fry cabbage with egg, also very nice…or for fried rice.

  8. I find the assam laksa noodle (lai fun) to be too springy and difficult to chew them properly. So after boiling them for quite a while, they are soft enough, no longer that springy and difficult to chew?

    The end result looks good though I still prefer your stir fry bihun in the same style.

    Yes, soft and very smooth – love the texture and taste. I would say that I liked it more than bihun or hung ngang (the big version) – those would be more on the coarse side and have a different taste…and I’m hopeless with bihun – everytime I fry they would break into bits, all hancur. 😦

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

