It had to be you…

The 2nd Day of Chinese New Year was kind of slow – we did not have a steady stream of visitors unlike the 1st Day but my good friend, Lim, and his family dropped by around noon and so we asked them to have lunch at my place…but unfortunately, all we had were leftovers from the previous night’s dinner with my in-laws. They brought along two guests, Lim’s niece from Auckland, New Zealand and her French boyfriend…and when Lim and his missus suggested going out for lunch together the following day – the 3rd Day of Chinese New Year, I told them that it had to be here

Payung decor 1

…for the exotic delights that their guests would not find anywhere else,

Payung decor 2

Well, they were keen on the idea too as they had never been to this place…

Payung decor 3

…before themselves.

Of course, I ordered my favourites – the Payung rojak

Payung rojak

…and the mushroom roll…

Payung mushroom roll

…and their special otak-otak, different from all the rest…

Payung otak-otak

…and their Payung belimbing prawns…

Belimbing prawns

Lim’s missus loved the kacangma chicken she had at our house so I ordered the one here…

Payung kacangma chicken

…for her to try and she said it was very nice too.

Peter, the boss, was so kind as to serve us his paku (wild jungle fern) cooked in santan (coconut milk)…

Payung paku in santan

…on the house and also his special ulam

Payung ulam

…which Lim’s missus enjoyed to the max.

I do not know how much their guests enjoyed everything that we had – they certainly looked very intrigued by it all and were somewhat curious as to what everything was but I could see that they were not into anything a little bit spicy. Hmmmm…perhaps we should have taken them to some place else.

My missus ordered their tom yam spaghetti…

Payung tom yam spaghetti

…and requested for it to be extra-extra spicy and it most certainly was so though some of us did try a little bit of it, she had to finish most of her order herself.

My girl was not in the mood for the usual that we have had so very often so she asked for a chicken chop…

Payung chicken chop

…for herself but she said it was dry and was not very nice. Well, it does look charred somewhat if one looks at it carefully in the photograph.

It so happened that my young and handsome friend/ex-student, Ryan, wanted to drop by my house to visit me during his lunch break but since we were out, I asked him to join us there and he did. He had the Bangladeshi lamb curry and he said it was good. He has graduated already and has been so caught up in his work that we did not get a chance to meet at all – not since Chinese New Year last year! It sure was great to see you again, Ryan – nice of you to make an effort to come by to see me…and I do hope the Β Year of the Goat would be a very happy and successful one for you.

Now, this was where the “trouble” started. While we were out, people started texting me to ask if they could come to my house and I told them that I was out but I would be home by 3.00 p.m. My bad!!! I am sure you can guess what happened – everyone showed up at 3 and we certainly had a jolly big crowd at my humble little house. I thought that was fun though – so many people at one time in our usually very very quiet abode. That certainly was a welcome change. Thanks so much to you…you…and you – all of you wonderful people who came that afternoon.

Later that day, we had to go for the evening service in church as the next day, we had to send my girl back to her school – and work resumed the day after that, Monday.

STOP PRESS:
The postman just delivered this yesterday…

CNY card from Nick

– a beautiful Chinese New Year card from another young and handsome friend of mineΒ all the way in Sg Petani. No worries, it’s still Chinese New Year – not Chap Goh Meh yet. Thank you so much, Nick, it really is so very nice of you to go through all that trouble. I do hope you’re having a wonderful time ushering in the Year of The Goat at your end. Qong Xi Fa Cai!!!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

21 thoughts on “It had to be you…”

  1. From the name of the dishes, I don’t think they are very spicy so your guests should be ok with them. I know I would and I don’t eat very spicy food too.

    Everyone who turned up to visit you at 3pm must have had a very jolly and fun time!

    Yes, and it was good too that they all came at one time – after they all left, we had to get ready to go to church already for the sunset service, perfect timing! Some not spicy at all, a few a little – just the ulam and my missus’ spaghetti were VERY spicy. Should have gone to some Chinese restaurant, all not spicy!

  2. I like the dishes there but I doubt William will like them. He is not into all this traditional dishes.

    Btw Arthur, I have just received your CNY greeting card. Thank you very much.

    Most welcome. Aiyor…the irony of it all!!! Not into this kind of cuisine…and he went and married a spicy nyonya! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  3. Hope your guests enjoy their meal in Payung Cafe. At least they get to know different cuisine than what they cannot find in their homeland.

    Nice gesture of Nick to send you a red packet. Yup. CNY lasts for 15 days so it is still 1 week to go.

    Card, no red packet…unfortunately but of course, that’s so thoughtful of him. Such good wishes are blessings money can’t buy. πŸ˜‰

    Yes, I would do that when I visit some place – eat what they have to offer to try. If I go so far and eat kampua, for instance, I might as well stay at home.

  4. I think I’d like that mushroom roll. Beautiful flowers too!

    Yes, they really can do wonders with those simple ordinary flowers. The mushroom roll’s the favourite of all who drop by here…and everyone has tried to replicate but failed.

  5. Second day of CNY was kinda relax and “peaceful” for us too.. Day 1 was vegetarian (at my mil’s house), and a lot of visitors came.. Day 2, we went to my mum’s place for lunch, then back to mil’s place for dinner, that’s all.. I love that chicken chop with banjir creamy gravy.. After so many days of steamed chicken/prawns/fish/yee sang/braised meat with mushrooms sea cucumber thingy, I would love love love to have some Western food – a plate of pasta and chicken chop, yummmzzz…

    I guess that was why my girl wanted the western that day, a change from all that we had over the past few days plus we would order the same things everytime we drop by here – they do need to come out with some new dishes sometime, I think. Otherwise, the regulars would start going some place else – like how I am not so excited about the dishes at Ruby now…but first-timers absolutely love what they serve there.

  6. A good spread of food. It is good to have rojak & special ulam after having all the meaty dishes during CNY. I like the colourful flowers too.

    Yes, I think those did the trick to ease my constipation over the last few days. Very effective! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  7. I once followed your recommendation to payung cafe just to try out the food there.My favourite of all is the mushroom roll which I could have several rolls of it all by my own.But honestly,I don’t like the payung rojak.I cannot stand the heavy “herbal” taste..
    But all in all,the cafe really do a good job in serving all these kinds of exotic delights!

    Herbal? I guess you do not fancy the fragrance of those raw leaves and petals that they have in it. I don’t like those in the ulam either but my friend’s wife enjoyed them to the max. I only ate the cucumber.

  8. LOL at that chicken chop. It seems to me like they are trying to hide the charred parts with the sauce! πŸ˜€

    It certainly looks like it but my girl did not say anything about it though she did say it was dry – probably the result of it being charred. Had I noticed it then, I would have just asked her to leave it though. With all the goodwill we’ve built up with the nice people here, all the special treats, I would not make a fuss, not at all. In Hokkien, we say “oo lai oo khi“. Got come, got go – all a matter of giving and taking. Life’s simple social graces.

  9. You’re right about them needing to come up with some new dishes. I’ve seen most of this dishes before coz you always order them (especially the Payung rojak you love so much) but the Payung belimbing prawns is new (I think).

    Nope, the belimbing prawns was one of the first dishes we had there – very nice, would love to have it all the time…but lately, there are very very few prawns in it – not enough to go round so we hardly ever order it. They have other salad selections on their menu – pomelo, guava, herbs and so on…but I still love the rojak best and that is why I will just stick to it…till I get tired of it.

  10. So much food, and lovely presentations. I love the Chinese New Year card, too, it is beautiful. πŸ™‚

    Yes, nice boy, so sweet to make that special effort to send me one. πŸ™‚

  11. Of course it had to be Payung! Everything looks good but pity about your girl’s chicken chop. I think the cook burnt it hah..hah…

    Guess so. Luckily it wasn’t one of those dishes for the visitors from abroad to try. 😦

  12. As usual, loves the otah…

    You haven’t tried – you will never look at the ones in Singapore ever again, not the same.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

