Each year…

Come Chinese New Year each year, in the evening on the 1st Day, we would ask my in-laws to come over to our house for dinner

CNY dinner with in-laws

…and this year was no exception.

My missus cooked most of everything and this year, we had these garlic prawns with sesame oil…

Prawns 1

…and the ones with sambal and pineapples…

Prawns 2

These were steamed minced meat on scallop shells…

Steamed minced meat

…and there was, of course, the chicken curry…

Chicken curry

…and the kacang ma chicken…

Kacangma chicken

…plus my missus’ very nice oven-baked chicken wings…

Chicken wings

…and the golden ngor hiang or lor bak (meat rolls)…

Ngor hiang

…and mushroom rolls…

Mushroom rolls

…with a lot of cheese.

The photograph of the satay beef came out blur and the one of the mushroom broccoli…

Mushroom broccoli

…wasn’t very clear either nor was the one of the noodles that I fried

Mee goreng

You probably would remember that time when I fried some and it turned out really good so I decided to buy 1 kg of the noodles and cook it again more or less the same way but this time around, I Β had some big prawns in it. It was all gone in no time at all so that would be a clear indication as to whether it Β was nice or not, right? Hehehehehe!!!!

Everyone enjoyed the dinner and had a great time – they’re very nice people, my in-laws and I would say that it has always been a pleasure to host such dinners for them everytime – though most of the time, I would not be the one doing most of the work. Wink! Wink!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

24 thoughts on “Each year…”

  1. That’s a very very nice family photo in the first picture.. I like it so much, very happy, and table full of food.. Ooooo, the baked chicken wings look so so good.. And your fried noodles, a lot of “wok hei”, nice colour too, yummmzzz…

    Very laku, my noodles – gone in just a while – everyone said it was good. Nothing beats getting family and friends together for a gathering like this, so much love and joy in the air, something that seems rather lacking these days – sure gives a lot more meaning to life. Worth all the work that went into the preparation.

  2. wow so many dishes! we had a few simple ones only

    There were 13 of us but of course, there were leftovers – no need to cook for the next few days – just pick what we would want and heat it up to eat. Easy!

  3. Wow! Looks so delicious. Your missus is a great cook.

    Nice family photo.

    Yes, big family, my missus’ side – always good to get together once in a while. Yes, she has her traditional specialties – nothing like my simple kampung-style cooking.

    1. Get her recipe. I would love to learn that mushroom rolls with cheese. Plllllllssssse

      Not successful. Got the taste, not the looks – so lembik, kemek, etc…have to keep on trying first.

  4. Your wife cooks so well! Lucky man.

    The usual, home-cooked delights – stuff she learnt to cook from her mum and later, from my mum as well. Nothing like yours. πŸ˜‰

  5. What a grand dinner with so much delicious food. I love the kacangma & ngor hiang. Your missus can really cook up a storm. Salute to her.

    All good though there was a bit too much despite the large number of people. We are still eating the leftovers…

  6. It’s always more fun to be generous when you do not need to spend effort to do it! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    I would much sooner take over the kitchen and cook but you don’t know women – they like to be in control. Besides, we are not compatible – I would like to do things slowly, wash and clean along the way, wipe dry and put away and all but her style – it will look like a typhoon has struck – everything all over, such a mess…and she would clean up once she’s through.

    I would very much prefer to cook than to clean, wipe all surfaces, sweep and vacuum, lay out the carpets, arrange the furniture, put up the decor and everything. That is such a chore plus everyone will sing praises of the food – nobody will say a word about the cleanliness of the house and how nice the decor is.

    Come Chap Goh Meh, I would insist on cooking – my turn – she can watch her Korean series or whatever.

  7. I salute your missus who does the cooking. Thumbs up to her… πŸ™‚

    Chap Goh Meh, my turn…but not so many people, a smaller group, as most would not be coming home for the dinner. My girl can’t come back either – it will be on a weekday.

  8. That is quite a spread! You have your missus to thank…that’s not easy and very tiring too. I noticed you mentioned steamed minced meat on scallop shells…err, what happened to the scallops?…lol πŸ˜€

    She enjoys doing it…I guess. See my reply to RealGunners above. The scallops were in the sharks-fin-soup like soup that we had or our reunion dinner.

  9. Wow…your missus is a good cook and salute her for whipping up so many delicious food. Next year your turn to cook…ehehe

    Blessed Chinese New Year to you and family, Arthur.

    Thanks and the same to you and yours. No need to wait till next year. I hope to do the cooking for Chap Goh Meh. πŸ˜‰

  10. What a sumptuous spread! I love everything you had on the table πŸ™‚ I couldn’t help laughing reading your response to Realgunners. When I am in the kitchen, everyone is banned from coming in hah..hah.. control freak πŸ˜€

    Ya, our young man – still wet behind the ears, a lot to learn and yet to find out “the truth” about the fairer sex. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  11. Those oven baked chicken wings look delicious!!! πŸ™‚

    Very! Easy to cook too, my missus cooks them like that all the time – just marinate with whatever sauces, put in the oven and bake. We love them done this way!

  12. Nice family pic gathering at the dinner table. And such delicious food. Just look at the size of the prawn, yum yum! On the first day of cny, my family was at my parents-in-law. We had leftovers from the previous day. That’s why my in-laws always cook a LOT for the reunion dinner, so that we can have enough leftovers for the next day!

    These prawns are the medium ones – over RM50 a kg around Chinese New Year…or maybe more, we got ours a couple of week earlier.

    I think that’s the whole idea – cook a lot, no need to slave in the kitchen for days on end, just heat up the leftovers. Can relax and entertain friends and family dropping by. Some superstition behind it too…like must not finish off the whole fish, must leave some behind.

  13. Love all the food displayed above!! Really yummy looking and I am sure they taste very nice too!!!

    Plus the great company, tasted even better…couldn’t ask for more . Simply the best!

  14. The mushroom roll is superb! i tried it before and could hardly resist to have it more! payung the best

    Managed to get the taste, more or less…but not the look – rather limp and moist/soggy, compared to Payung’s.

  15. Wow .. look at the sumptuous feasts on cny ! Making this poor soul hungry now in singapore.

    Singapore, lots and lots and lots of nice things to eat wor…just more expensive. Hehehehehehe!!!!

  16. Superb food from your wife but I am sure you are able to cook dishes just as tasty for your in laws too given a chance.

    The group photo of everyone looks so natural, almost like candid photo. Not like those taken using a selfie stick.

    My nephew’s Thai girlfriend took the shot – they’re the couple behind the Sangkaya coconut ice cream venture in KL. I’ll cook, come Chap Goh Meh.

  17. Wow wow wow! Those are really scrumptious dishes. I bet your in-laws really enjoyed themselves year after year after year with all those food. It shows in their faces. They all look very happy indeed. Gong Xi Fa Cai Arthur πŸ˜€

    Thanks, and the same to you. We look forward to this annual gathering ourselves – something like the highlight of our Chinese New Year celebration.

  18. What a lovely family photo! Looks like a FUN time!

    That’s what Chinese New Year is all about – reunion with family and friends, re-bonding & strengthening ties. Otherwise, when everyone lives so far away these days, all over the country or even the world, people tend to grow further and further apart. Sad.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

