Look ahead…

A new day, a new year, a new beginning!

QONG XI FA CAI to all, wishing everyone a very Happy and Prosperous Year of the Goat…

Happy Chinese New Year

My missus had been busy baking the cookies…

Missus cookies

…and cooking all her special dishes and everything. She did not bake any cakes this year, we just went out and bought some that we know would be very nice – she has stopped doing it since we got our new oven and her cakes turned out disastrous. It is very good for cookies though – all of them turned out really well and of course, that pleased her to no end. Hehehehehe!!!!!

I had been busy too with this and that, including cutting the very nice bak kua…

Bak kua

from Alfred, my friend from Singapore…and also from my ex-student, Johnny, who is currently working in the island republic…and of course, I had to go to the bank as well to get the sparkling new currency notes for the ang paos…

Ang paos

…to be given to those who will drop by my house today or over the next few days…but only if they are kids or still single.

There was also all the cleaning to be done, the decorating of our house, outside…

CNY decor

…and inside but we’re keeping it simple, just a little something to usher in the brand new year.

Do drop by, all of you who are in Sibu – our door is always open and we should be around to welcome you from the afternoon of the first day onwards. (We usually go to pay our respects to my parents and my mother-in-law in the morning of the first day and wish them a Happy New Year and after that, we would head on home straight away.)

Gosh!!! In the meantime, the things kept coming like it was never going to stop! I must say that I am truly abundantly blessed…and I really must thank my cousin, Doreen and her hubby, Bened, for these delightful gifts…

From Dorren & Bened

…for Chinese New Year – they even had to take a little time off during their lunch break to drop by my house and send the things over before heading back to work.

Thank you to you too, my nephew, John, who is currently working in KL, for these…

From John

…and don’t look at me! I did not touch the ngaku (fried arrowroot chips) but my girl loves it so much that she almost finished the whole tub in one sitting. Never mind! After all, this is what Chinese New Year is all about – to eat and enjoy to one’s heart’s content…and what a coincidence! I received a 2nd tub of the ngaku (and some other lovely goodies) from a friend who wishes to stay anonymous but thank you all the same for everything – you know who you are. You sure made my girl very happy!!!

Just when I thought that was it, the poslaju guy came honking at my gate and  pass me these…

From mun

My! My! It certainly looks like it is a bak kua year for me…for they keep coming! Thank you very much, zmun2 – it is really nice and thoughtful of you to go through the trouble of sending me all the stuff and the greeting card as well. Oooo…gold nuggets in a bag of the very auspicious red colour! Hopefully that is a sign of a windfall that is to come. Wink! Wink! LOL!!!

Well, a lot of people have shared this cartoon on Facebook…

Cartoon

…and yes, it had not been a very good year.

However, for me personally, the Year of the Horse was all right, other than the untimely passing of a very dear friend, and a few others as well…but there had been some happy moments – weddings in the family here, here and here and those of my ex-students as well, friends, old and new, who came to visit – from Trengganu, Singapore, Kuching, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah,  Australia/Vietnam and the US of A…and we had been blessed with good health and days that went by pretty smoothly one by one  so all in all, I would say that it had not been too bad.

But of course, we look forward to the new year, the Year of the Goat, with the hope that it would be a good year, one that would be a lot better than the last for one and all. For that we pray…

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

21 thoughts on “Look ahead…”

  1. First comment arthur!I guess everyone is watching the firework show right now! Goat Xi FaiCai!

    I was already horizontal (in bed) – been a long day, so many things to do, now all done, all ready to usher in the brand new yesr. Qong Xi Fa Cai to you and your loved ones too. Drop by my place. Always welcome.

  2. Everything looks lovely. Oh how fun it is preparing food to share with loved ones. Wishing you and your loved ones a wonderful new year.

    Thanks, Opal. Hope it will be a great year for your an your family too.

  3. Happy and Prosperous New Year to you and your family Arthur! Those cookies look wonderful. Wouldn’t mind dropping by to sample them, and the bak kua.

    Thanks, Philip. Don’t think the cookies will last but if I freeze the bak kua, maybe it will keep till the time you come back to Sibu again. Got lots!!! Hehehehehe!!!! Qong Xi Fa Cai to you and all in your family too.

    1. Thanks Arthur, but don’t keep the bak kua. I can get mine in KL when I come back. Plus, frozen is not as nice, got to eat it fresh.

      Ok, no problem. Wish you were here to enjoy all the goodies! Nom…nom…nom!!!

  4. A toast of good health & abundance blessings to you & your loved ones. Like I always say, you have been blessed with nice & wonderful people around you and also all the lovely goodies. More blessings coming your way. Gong Xi Gong Xi…….Cheerssss!!!!

    Thank you, thank you…and the same to you and your loved ones. Abundant blessings be upon us all in this Year of the Goat!

  5. Those cookies look good.. Gong Hei Fatt Choy to you & family.. The visiting marathon begins today, but the kids are still asleep 🙂

    My girl too. Yet to eat our longevity noodles, wait for her to wake up, eat together. Qong Xi Fa Cai!

  6. Keong Hee Huat Chye! Looks like your missus baked up a storm 🙂 I love Chinese New Year cookies. What we like to do is sit around the dining table after dinner and open up those cookie tubs and eat! That despite the heavy dinner 😀 I hope you have a joyous new year with your family and loved ones!

    Thanks and the same to you and yours too. Hmmm…now where did all the cookies go? Just put out…no guests here yet, already half gone. Best to eat now – over the next few days, will not seem as nice anymore. Sick of all of them already. Hehehehehe!!!!

  7. Everything looks great, and so colourful! 🙂

    Part of the beauty of Chinese New Year – throw in all the food, the firecrackers and the fireworks, the joy and cheer and everything! Absolutely awesome!!!

  8. Happy New Year. I went to my mother’s house in Brunei and her generous Malay neighbour gave her a large chocolate moist cake. When we were ready to take it back to Miri, we found the entire cake gone. Apparently my aunties had taken it away(My mum found out on the phone) and my sister was very angry. If they liked it, they should have asked us to cut some for them.

    As for your new oven, it is always safer to bake at a low temperature first, 150 to 160 centigrade. It’s risky to bake at 170 or above.

    Ok, thanks for the tips. You bake? I would love to try too…but after all the horror stories my missus kept telling me – this cannot, that cannot…I have been rather reluctant. Wahhhhh!!!! Glad I do not have aunties like that. Hehehehehe!!!!

  9. To stabilize the cake, bake using bottom fire for 15 minutes. when it is almost cooked, switch to both fires(Top and bottom)

    That is THE problem with the new oven – no top or bottom one. Got another smaller oven from my credit card points, that one has controls for top and bottom – will try that some day.

  10. My! My! You sure received so many goodies. And the poslaju also know you well by now.

    Happy cny to you and family. Wish you good health, fortune, joy and vast abundances.

    Thanks, and the same to you and all in your family.

    Indeed, so very blessed…but shy lah – hutang budi to so many people.

  11. Too bad, i am not in Sibu, if not would loves to visit you…

    Plan to spend CNY in Sibu next year, you will not regret it!

  12. Gong Xi Fa Cai to you and your family! May all of you be blessed with “goat” fortune this year!

    Glad to see pos laju made it in time for CNY! That is my favourite muruku ikan and I am addicted to it (must have a pack for tea every other day) so I thought of sharing it for good things are meant to be share.

    Thanks for your card too! I got it. True enough, it was in a stack of CNY cards in my neighbour’s post box. Guess the post man “pening” already having to send so many cards to every house so decided to dump all at one house.

    Phewwww!!!! Glad it got to you safely. Sorry, didn’t send you anything. You said not to as nobody home to receive and sign, so I did not. 😦

    1. It is the thought that counts! Thank you very much for the card and being so considerate as to remember my issue so you did not send something that need someone to receive and sign. You have a good memory since you have to remember all the people who send you things and their likes and dislikes to send them something in return. I am flattered that you remember my issue. Thanks again!

      I have a memory like an elephant’s…and I look like one too! Muahahahahaha!!!!

  13. Happy 3rd day of the Year of the Goat … hope it’s all been smooth sailing so far. btw, i love the unique flowery shape of the pineapple tarts that you missus baked … really lovely!!! and the bak kua brilliant too (nice cutting job btw!) 🙂

    Thanks, and the same to you. It has been good, very good. Posts on the New Year celebration start tomorrow… Nice pineapple tarts…but the petals keep breaking and dropping off which, in a way, means the pastry is very nice – not hard.

  14. Ooo…I see my favourite bak kua (Oloiya) that I always get cheated on every year!! 😀 Ok, I think I’ve caught up with my comments already since my break….hee…hee!

    Still haven’t opened the pack yet, keep in the fridge – too much bak kua, so many brands, to enjoy this year!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

