Love is in the air…

This was on Valentine’s Day…

Hearts

…that day when we dropped by the hypermart at one of the megamalls in town to pick up a thing or two and while we were there, we decided to stop by this place there for lunch. Unfortunately, I forgot to bring along my camera that day and I had to depend on the one in my mobile phone so do excuse the blurry and less-than-satisfactory snapshots in this post. The fact that the place wasn’t exactly bright (as in the case of all their other outlets), despite it being lunchtime, sure did not help one bit…and I had to resort to using the little yellow lamp that they had on the table.

I had their mee mamak (RM10.00)…

Mee mamak

which I just had not too long ago because my missus wanted the char kway teow (RM10.00)…

CKT

Between the two, we all thought the mee mamak was nicer but the sambal belacan that came with the kway teow was really very very good.

Gosh!!! The servings were HUGE! One would be enough for three, at least, so the two would be enough to go round for a party of six. I really do wish they would reduce the size of their servings (and charge a little less) so that diners would be able to order some other dishes and have a wider variety to enjoy. As it is, halfway through, one would be struggling to finish what’s on the plate and like how the Law of Diminishing Returns works, even what seems so very nice initially would no longer be as nice in the end. As a matter of fact, my missus who absolutely loves chao chai hung ngang saw some people having it and the giant bowl in which it was served and that put her off immediately – it was so big like a basin…or I thought that was about the size of a tham phui (Victorian chamber pot)!

My girl felt like having something western so she ordered the grilled chicken with homemade brown gravy (RM18.00)…

Grilled chicken

…and she said it was nice. No, it wasn’t that orange, the gravy – blame it on the camera. LOL!!!

I also ordered their turkey ham and cheese toast (RM12.00)…

Toast

…to try but no, I do feel their tuna toast is nicer and of course, we just could not eat most of it and had to tapao the rest home.

My girl insisted on picking up the tab that day. She said that it was Valentine’s Day and the day is for all loved ones and she would like to give a special treat to the ones she loves. Wasn’t that so very sweet of her?

Incidentally, I went out for breakfast with two of my ex-students yesterday morning but that will be in a later post on another day. Gosh!!! It’s Chinese New Year’s Eve today and the big day is tomorrow…and of course, many of them have come home for the festival. The two sweet boys gave me these…

Goodies for Chinese New Year

– one gave me TWO big bottles of his mum’s very special homemade acar (cucumber pickle) which of course, I would enjoy with my freshly-fried keropok (prawn crackers) and the other went out of his way and queued for over an hour to buy me this celebrated (some say it is the best in Singapore) airplane-brand Lim Chee Guan bak kua (barbecued meat slices). Thank you so much, boys – honestly, with such thoughtful students like you two, it sure makes it so much more worthwhile being a teacher. Thank you, thank you, thank you…

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

21 thoughts on “Love is in the air…”

  1. Thumbs up for Melissa for treating all of you to a meal. The mee mamak looks good but if it is enough for 3 persons then I have no choice but to give it a miss. Definitely will not be able to finish it.

    Can see you had a great time catching up with your ex students. I think more will visit you during CNY.

    Ahhhh!!!! I missed this one! Hopefully so, will look forward to their visit – always fun to have them around. Yes, nice of her to want to give us a special treat on Valentine’s. Oh dear! That would mean you will have nothing to eat here – all the servings are so huge!

    1. knock! knock!

      Who’s there? 😀

      P.S. Hey!!!! The poslaju guy just delivered what you sent me – not open yet, says gula gula outside. Ok…gotta go now, open and take photo. Thank you so so so so much!!!!

  2. Turkey ham and cheese toast? First I have heard of this. Nice of Melissa. Lovely photos. 🙂

    I guess what you add is up to you, no? This is a pork free place so ham and bacon would be out of the question.

    Yes, she always wants to pick up the tab whenever we eat out but I always tell her it is not necessary as I have my pension and others and I have enough to go round – told her that I would surely ask from her should I ever run short.

  3. The famous Lim Chee Guan bak kwa, long queue for it.

    Yes, so sweet of my ex-student. He saw some discussion I was having on Facebook and I mentioned that I had never tried this brand and that brand and the next thing I knew he was on the way…and after sometime, he shared a photo of the bag containing the bak kua. He had got it for me! What a nice boy!

  4. “Tham phui” LOL! 😀 Maybe their serving size is meant for sharing but I think I can handle it all by myself muahahaha! Melissa is so sweet to pick up the tab. Good girl!

    Yes, I’m blessed that she turned out really well, such a sweet girl.

    You can? Wahhhh!!!! I imagine you to be my shape and size if you can handle that on your own. 😀 😀 😀

  5. Each serving is so huge. Maybe can request them to make each dish for 1 person’s serving and then you can have varieties to share. Airplane brand bak kwa? New? Last time people used to queue up for Bee Cheng Hiang bak kwa. Lastly, a toast of good health & abudance blessings to you & family in the year of the Goat.

    Thanks, and wishing the same to you and your family.

    No, all standard sizes, their servings – no large, medium, small. The western items do seem a bit smaller though, more like an individual serving – wouldn’t be enough to go round.

    I used to buy Bee Chang Hiang all the time in Singapore – they had an outlet at Orchard Road near the hotel where I would usually stay. But more recently, they started having outlets in KL, Mid Valley for one, but I thought the ones I bought from there were not so nice, too much msg…so I never bought from there again. Maybe no quality control like Oilaiya in Kuching – it looked so terrible that we left, did not want to buy. Yet to try the Bee Cheng Hiang that my friend gave me – maybe the ones in Singapore nicer, like the ones I used to buy there long ago.

  6. Everything looks good, I like your mee mamak and Mel’s grilled chicken..I prefer western food too when I eat out..Very nice of her to treat her parents to a nice lovely meal…

    I don’t mind western once in a while for a change.

  7. Every year, the bak kua, before CNY, there will be long Q… Claire tried before, hehe…

    Yes, he said he had to queue for over one hour, so nice of the boy to go through all that trouble.

  8. Happy belated valentine’s day.. and have a great reunion dinner tonight. Gong Xi FA CAI!! HUAT HUAT AHH! 🙂

    Same to you. Small huat last night…hope for a big one tonight! 😉

  9. sorry have not received your card yet. will check with my neighbours when I leave the office today because sometimes the post man accidentally put a stack of letters together and put into the wrong post box. Have a good reunion dinner with your family! my husband is cooking the reunion dinner this time so this time we are having a homecooked meal.

    You too, Kong Hee Fatt Choy to you and all your loved ones. Never mind, probably lost in space – would have arrived last week like the rest that I sent. As they say, it’s the thought that counts.

  10. Hi Arthur! Dropping by to wish you and your loved ones a very happy and prosperous year! Gong Xi Fa Cai!

    Thanks, so sweet & thoughtful of you. Wishing you and all your loved ones the same – hope the Year of the Goat will be a great one for all of us.

  11. You sure a sweet daughter. 🙂 You and the missus are her dates. It is indeed a special Valentines Day for your family.

    Yes, we enjoyed the lunch and the outing – spending quality time together.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

