I really don’t think so…

If you ask me if this is nice…

Nasi lemak 1

…I would have to say that I really don’t think so.

Ok, to be fair, it was all right, this new one available at my regular Malay kuih stall at Bandong here. From what I gathered, it was from one lady from Malacca and though it did not come cheap, RM2.50 for that lot, I decided to just grab one and give it ย a try.

Everything sure looked neat, all nicely arranged in the takeaway box…but the rice was void of any santan (coconut) fragrance so it was not as lemak (rich) as I would like my nasi lemak to be, not even close. This was the last one so I am not sure if it goes across the board but the egg sure was disastrous…

Egg

This is what will happen if the oil is too hot in the wok…and I would prefer the yolk runny and still intact, nice and round.

I loved the sambal

Sambal

…though. It was extra spicy but if you’re one of those who would prefer your sambal sweet, then this one’s not for you.

There was a little bit of kangkong (water spinach) too and after mixing everything together…

Altogether now

…I thought that on the whole, it really wasn’t too bad. Still, at RM2.50, I would rather go for my favourite from this stall, the RM1.50 packs for only RM1.50 each and that one has the standard condiment for nasi lemak – hard-boiled egg, not fried…and so badly at ย that.

Gosh!!! It’s already Chinese New Year’s Eve tomorrow!!! In the meantime, my niece, the one working in Singapore, is home for the festival and she gave us these…

Gifts from niece

Thank you so much. As always, you’re the most thoughtful and sweet one…and so very generous too! Abalone, no less!!! Wink! Wink!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

19 thoughts on “I really don’t think so…”

  1. That egg is perfect for me! and I like nasi lemak with kang kong too. I can accept the rice with not much santan fragrant and at that price here, it would be a steal but of course I would also go for the other one that you say is nicer since it is also cheaper. ๐Ÿ˜€

    To be fair, the rice wasn’t plain rice but it was not all that great and no, it would need to be more lemak for me to fork out RM2.50 to buy it again. Not a fan of kangkong, wouldn’t mind more cucumber – not just that one slice in the pack…and a little bit more bilis and kacang ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Cheap? I thought the packets in banana leaf over at your side are all selling for only RM1.00 there?

    1. rm1 in kl? please tell me where and I will go buy from there. not seen any sold at rm1 for a long time.

      Dunno. People keep telling me, buy RM1, authentic banana leaf-wrapped some more…not like mine, they use waxed paper…and sotong sambal RM1.50 some more, they say so expensive. Tsk! Tsk! I know I had one at Nyonya Colours, of course…not cheap…but that place, higher class one…what to expect! Also so so only, didn’t get me jumping up and down with delight.

  2. Sorry you were disappointed in the egg, and it is so nice that people are giving you such lovely gifts. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Yes, so thankful that everyone’s so nice.

  3. Looks like we have something in common this year, that tin of Nyonya Treat (Cheese Pineapple Cookies), a gift from my daughter. 4 differnt types of cookies. I have collection of the tins, very beautiful.

    She gave us two last year, one this year…the tins are somewhere in the house. Can’t say I like the cookies though – nothing great.

  4. I remember cooking abalone last year. Chewy and yummy but not really into it. Haha. Nice goodies from your niece.

    I would like hard boiled egg for my nasi lemak. I also think my nasi lemak looked nicer than yours. ^^

    Yes, I concede. Yours look so good. Abalone? Snob appeal, over RM100 a can. The ones these days, not so fragrant and sweet anymore…not like in my younger days…and so rubbery and chewy I cannot chew to eat, no molars left. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

  5. gosh, yeah, in less than 36 hours, we’ll all be rubbing our tummies after the CNY reunion dinner … here’s hoping you’re ready for CNY already! heheh ๐Ÿ™‚

    Not yet! Starting with the decoration today, and tomorrow…last minute cleaning to make sure everything is spick and span. Thank goodness it’s only once a year. Hehehehehe!!!!

  6. I love kangkong with nasi lemak but that rice looks kinda mushy. I spotted a can of abalones…can’t wait to see what you’re gonna make with it…hee…hee!

    Yes, kind of lumpy somewhat, the rice – not really pass! The abalone? Dunno…up to my missus. Maybe will just throw it in when we have steamboat?

  7. The first thing that caught my attention was the egg. Mine looked like that at one time ๐Ÿ˜€ Now I am better at frying eggs using the good old wok. It is quite tricky though and sometimes it is a hit and miss for me. I love nasi lemak but it is quite hard to find very good ones these days.

    Practice makes perfect. Anything like this sure gets my double thumbs down! I really think that anyone who wants to go into the food business should at least make sure they can fry an egg…or have one hard-boiled one instead – if they can manage that! Some can’t even peel nicely. Tsk! Tsk!

  8. tong tong tong chiang! chinese new year is upon us again.. have you prepared the angpaos? ๐Ÿ˜›

    Already!!! Last week! Or was it the week before? Hehehehehe!!!! I do believe in getting things done early, not leave till the last minute.

  9. Sambal good rice no good? Never mind, i am more concern on the sambal. :P:P And i like fried egg than hard boil egg. heheheh

    New year eve, Melissa come back today or tomorrow? Happy Chinese New Year to you, Lucy and Melissa!!

    Thanks, same to you, Cougar, Fearles and Cruz and all in the family. Melissa’s having the whole week off so came back last weekend, so nice!

    I’m ok with the sambal, sweet or savoury – both I like…but I’m looking out for really nice and lemak rice. So far have not found any. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I also prefer the egg fried but nasi lemak, the standard condiment should be hard-boiled, that is what they say.

  10. Your niece very nice, gives you many stuff!

    Happy Chinese new year to you and family!

    Same to you and yours.

    Yes, everybody’s so nice, always giving me things. Blessed.

  11. I love my egg like that in nasi lemak, and I think it was probably cooked that way intentionally. It is probably not your preferred type, but it is not disastrous at all! ๐Ÿ˜€

    But I think it is the first time I see kangkung eaten with nasi lemak. It feels… weird… to me.

    Your first time? Weird? Strange? Well, it is my first time too, never had any before…but people over at YOUR side have been telling me about how they like kangkong with theirs. This lady is from Malacca – probably that explains why there is kangkong in it.

    Dunno if the egg was intentional or that is how they fry eggs – that was the last pack so I could not check to see if all the eggs were like that but if that is what they are like at those nasi campur stalls, I sure would give it a miss and pick something else. You may like it a lot and I’m sure there are others like you too, not me…and there are others like me as well!!! Tsk! Tsk! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  12. In Miri I always have Nasi lemak at The Summit Cafe. it is super-expensive-RM7 but it is very aromatic.

    Oooo…I would love that, I’m sure. I like those extra-lemak (rich with santan) and very fragrant ones.

  13. Very nice and cheap nasi lemak there! So properly packed too.. too much work to put into small plastics.. must be a hardworking lady there… love the egg to be fried like that..

    Those people have very dainty fingers – they always do a good job with such things.

  14. I also prefer hard boiled egg than fried.

    Gong xi fa chai to you and your family and here is wishing you and your family a happy, wealthy and healthy 2015.

    I prefer fried but of course, that is oily and not so healthy…but hardboiled is the standard way to do it for nasi lemak, that’s what they told me.

    Thank you, and the same to you and your loved ones.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

