Basically…

When I was at my regular Malay kuih stall that day, I saw they they were selling some bags of yellow noodles, fresh…uncooked. I was told that they were homemade and were very popular. It seems that there is some kind of association that conducts classes/lessons for interested housewives teaching them to make these things. They even learned how to make steamed paos, tie dumplings (chang)…

Bandong kuih stall chang daging

…and all so that basically, they would be able to make for their own consumption and some even make them for sale to supplement their household income. That is really good, I must say – it would enable those stay-at-home-mums to do something and earn a bit of money.

I decided to buy a bag of the noodles (RM2.50 for 1 kg) myself to try. Once, I watched a lady at one of the Malay stalls cooking and she certainly did not do it the way I have seen them doing it at the Chinese ones. Basically, at the latter, they would fry a bit of garlic in oil, throw in the noodles, add the soy sauce and the seasoning, add egg and taugeh (bean sprouts) and that would be it! People always say that the noodles are nice because of the big fire which would give them the nice wok hei fragrance…but I do think the excessive use of msg does play a part as well.

On the other hand, the Malay lady fried the egg first, and then she poured in some sambal (blended ingredients) and some bits of chicken before putting in the noodles…followed by the soy sauce and chili sauce and seasoning and taugeh and what she dished out was very nice too despite the absence of a very big fire (since she was doing it over an ordinary gas stove). No garlic? No shallots? I thought it strange actually but I guess it probably was in the sambal – I had no idea whatsover what she had in that.

Anyway, I did it my own way that morning when I fried half of what I had bought and these were the ingredients I used…

Fried noodles, ingredients

– one shallot, peeled and sliced, three cloves of garlic, peeled and finely chopped, one chili, seeds removed and thinly sliced, some sawi manis (green vegetables), separating the stalks from the leafy parts, two eggs and calamansi lime and this was the end result…

Fried noodles 1

Prior to cooking, I poured dark mushroom soy over the noodles and added some Thai chili sauce and a spoonful of sugar and mixed everything thoroughly.

I heated some oil in the wok and fried the shallots till golden brown and then, removed them for garnishing later. You may just leave them in the oil if you are not going to bother about presentation upon serving. After that, the garlic went in and once browned, I threw in the stalks of the vegetables to fry for a while (they need to be cooked longer to soften first) and next, the rest of the vegetables, the chili (saving a bit for garnishing as well, if you are thus inclined) and the noodles followed. I did add a bit of water periodically to cook the noodles, a little bit each time, not too much…and finally, I added the eggs. Once everything was done, I dished it all onto a plate and garnished it with the fried shallots, the sliced chili and a bit of chopped spring onions…

Fried noodles 2

…and served.

Yes, it was very nice despite the fact that basically, the ingredients used were very minimal – no meat, no prawns…and no msg! I certainly would not say this was anything like what you can get at the Chinese stalls nor would I say it was mee mamak or fried noodles, Malay-style since I did it quite differently from what I saw the aforementioned lady doing it…but one thing’s for sure, I would want to buy more of the noodles and fry like this too to serve to guests dropping by, come Chinese New Year.

By the way, I really must thank my blogger friend for the very lovely Chinese New Year card that she sent me and also the things she got on her recent trip to Taiwan recently (and not forgetting the lovely postcard she sent me when she was there – that one arrived sometime ago)…

From Sheta

These just arrived yesterday evening via poslaju – it sure is so very sweet and thoughtful of you, thank you again so very much.

At the same time, I would also like to thank my cousin and his wife – the ones whose daughter got married quite recently, for these very nice kueh sepit (or kuih kapit as they are called over in the peninsula)…

Kueh sepit

I gathered that these were homemade, somebody in Oya or Matu, and they were very fragrant and lemak (rich with santan) and no, they did not last till Chinese New Year. Hey! Don’t look at me now!!! Hehehehehehe!!!!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

25 thoughts on “Basically…”

  1. Actually I don’t like wok hei in my food. If the noodle has alkaline taste, then I will buy. Usually I eat noodles like this for the alkaline taste, not for the wok hei.

    So sweet of everyone who sends you all the gifts and food. You mean your wife has eaten them all? πŸ™‚

    Hah!!! Ask no questions and I’ll tell no lies! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    You’re certainly the odd one out. Everyone wants that wok hei fragrance – always puts down mine as they say my fire is not big enough to give my cooking that much-coveted smell. I do like it myself but I don’t mind going without – as long as the taste is great and I’m ok with the alkaline smell too, not so obvious when it is drowned out by nice ingredients though sometimes, it may be rather strong and puts people off. It’s the firmness that appeals to most – they do not like the noodles soft or worst, soggy.

  2. i think your chinese new year guests will definitely enjoy your home-cooked noodles … it looks and sounds very, very appetising (lovely photos!), and you put a lot of thought into how to make it tasty and relatively wholesome πŸ™‚

    I sure enjoyed it, dunno others. I always have this soft spot for noodles… πŸ˜‰

  3. Your noodles look very delicious. I’d love to try it one day πŸ™‚

    Gotta remember to buy 2 X 1kg packs next week, save for CNY! πŸ˜‰ Planning to fry it like this again!

  4. As soon as I read “lime” in your post all I have been wanting is fresh LIME now!!!! πŸ™‚

    The Malays here would give half a lime with all their fried noodles – squeezing the juice over the noodles prior to eating would bring the taste to a whole new level. If I’m not wrong, it helps neutralise the oil too.

  5. The fried noodles looks so delicious. That the way I like it to be (moist) but mine always looks dry. Owh, I never add water, the trick is the water, I guess. Next time will try your method. Love the small kuih sepit, easy to pop into the mouth.

    Yes, not too much – just enough to let it sizzle upon contact with the hot wok, say two tablespoons or three onto the wok by the side of/around the noodles, not on the noodles…and keep doing it till the noodles look cooked enough. Adding a lot at one go would probably make the noodles go soft and soggy – not nice.

  6. Your fried noodles look so so good, like those char mein at chu char stalls.. Very enough ‘wok hei’, colour looks nice, looks yummy, one word – Good..

    Yes, and may be nicer than some of those sold outside, I would say.

  7. They are so enterprising. Even know how to make steamed paus and changs. Talk about 1 Malaysia! Kudos to them.

    I love your fried noodles. My kind of noodles when go to mamak or Malay stall. And I always request sliced chilli with dark soy sauce while hubby loves to go with ketchup or chilli sauce in his fried noodle.

    You’re like my missus – for her, sliced fresh chili in soy sauce is a must. I don’t go for any…if the food is nice. If you see me dipping or adding, it means it’s no good. Would need something to make it taste better.

  8. now i’m hungry.. realize i didn’t eat much for dinner last night. Well, have a great Friday Arthur, I’m off to find me some FOOOOD! πŸ˜€

    Go! Go! Lots of nice things to eat where you are. Hmmm….got a new post in your blog, eh? πŸ˜‰

  9. You can operate a mamak stall LOL

    I most certainly would if I had known when I was younger that I could cook. That was good for 4-5 plates…and I would make a profit of at least RM10.00 if I were to sell at RM2.50 a plate. Imagine those selling RM3.50 or more elsewhere with just a fried egg on top. They must be really rich!

  10. Hope i got chance to try out your cooking, everything that you dish up is so yummy….

    Pay for my airfare to go to Singapore? Hehehehehe!!!!!

  11. Ohhh…hey…the noodles looks so good. Used mushroom sauce ya? I never gave that sauce a try before. Maybe will buy and try make my version of meet goreng soon. Been awhile since I had some.

    The made-in-China, bottled in Sibu mushroom soy, not exactly mushroom sauce. We’ve been using that since young. Some people prefer soy sauce – we prefer this type.

  12. Your plate of noodles looks like one I get from the mamak stall. And that kalamansi lime is a must when it comes to mee goreng. The only thing we can never replicate at home is the wok hei…and that’s because we don’t fire up our wok like the hawkers do. You can only achieve wok hei when the heat is really, really hot…but getting it from msg, now that I’ve not heard before!! πŸ˜€

    Sometimes, I let it burn a little – will have that added fragrance, wok hei or whatever it is called. But with enough ingredients, it would be very nice already, no need to depend on that.

    You can watch the cooks at work at the chu char places – that is why people always say how come the food outside is so nice, what we cook at home not so. I’ve seen those at the Malay stalls using a little spoon, and one at a Chinese stall using his ladle – I never went back again.

    1. Most of the time, we don’t watch the cooks cook (and, sometimes, we physically can’t). After placing our orders, we’d usually go find a seat…unless we tapao. Even then when they take a little bit of that and a little bit of this, I don’t know if they’re taking salt or msg….as they both look darn similar!! Especially the Chinese hawkers I’ve seen….you’d think they’re flavouring their soup base with salt.

      Count our blessings that we do not get to see. Once, I went to a posh Chinese restaurant in Kuching…and I took the lift at the back, shortcut to the car park – I think it was meant for the workers and deliveries…and I walked past the kitchen. I almost fainted!!! So dirty, FLOODED…the workers were all wearing black rubber boots!!! The Peking duck was awesome though, best in the city!

  13. I think most Chinese eateries overuse MSG nowadays, especially on our side of the country. That’s one of the reasons why I force myself to cook more. 😦

    I have to say, it is the first time I see kuih kapit rolled up like that, wouldn’t it be messy to eat that? The ones here are folded, and perfect size to pop the whole piece into my mouth, hence no crumbs πŸ˜€

    You’ve never seen it rolled up? Gee!!! There are rolled ones like cigars…or folded ones like a fan. Once, a friend in KL gave me a tub – rolled ones with meat floss inside. So so so so nice…but by the time we got back to Sibu, like corn flakes, had to eat with a spoon. 😦 Somebody making that in Penang too – a stall by Gurney Drive, also very nice! My missus bought from there before. These that my cousin gave me were VERY small though – like the meat floss or sambal rolls wrapped with popiah skin – I think Mamakucing made some, saw in her blog today. Sure will not make a mess when eating – pop into the mouth, all gone!

    Yes, when I eat out, I will insist – NO msg…or very little. They would jot that down in the order chit in red ink – so the chefs in the kitchen will take note. If still any msg overload, I would not go back to that restaurant again. I can think of at least two here right now.

  14. I like your version of mee goreng. A nice touch with a drizzle of lime juice…Ummph!!

    Brings the taste to a whole new level. I’d squeeze a bit only though – not too much. Fat people not too fond of anything if it’s too sour. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  15. Wow..lovely looking fried mee. Like i said before, i only like fried mee in Sibu, but not over here, too strong alkaline taste, that’s why i never ever order mee goreng over here.

    Even in Kuching. My uncle there would ask me to buy a few kilos and bring over for him.

  16. Not bad, you learned from the observing the malay lady cooked and did some modifications which turns out so well!

    I always like to watch people cooking at the stalls, see how they do it.

  17. Love the look of your noodles. I love Malay-style fried noodles, the hotter, the better.

    Yes, it was good. Not very hot but hot enough. I was ok with it but we always have blended chili in the house and my missus would surely want her sliced fresh chili in soy sauce. She likes it extra hot. πŸ˜‰

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

