We found love…

This bakery here used to be called WeCare but they have progressed to WeLove…

WeLove

…it seems. I do like the new name better, I must say, as the old one always reminded me of some nursing home for the elderly. I asked one of the girls there whether there had been a switch of owner or management or what but she said no, everything’s still the same – only the name has been changed.

This is one of my favourite bakeries in town and we would drop by quite regularly for some of the things here that we enjoy like these so-called Italy pockets…

WeLove Italy pockets

…which are actually slices of ham, cheese and lettuce in some kind of pita-bread. If anyone is wondering where this is, the main one is located in the Sibu Bus Terminal area, opposite the Public Bank branch there but they have branches at the Medan Mall (in the supermarket) and also at Sungai Merah, near the Everwin Supermarket there (next block) and I know there’s one in the Farley (Salim) area as well – somewhere on the other side of the road from the MayBank branch, next to the 100% Discount Store.

Of course, being this time of the year, the place was flooded with all kinds of cookies…

WeLove Chinese New Year cookies

…and layer cakes…

WeLove layer cakes

…for Chinese New Year.

No, we didn’t buy any. My girl bought one of her favourites here – the sandwich bun to the right of the Italy pockets which basically has the same filling. She probably prefers the bun to the pita bread. That day, I was delighted to see that they still had a few ma-ngee (horse hoof) aka butterfly fritters…

WeLove ma-ngee

…left. Theirs are so popular that every day, they would be sold out so very quickly…and they are only available at 1.30 p.m. daily. Do make sure that you go there around that time and not later than 2.00 p.m. if you hope to get hold of some. The ones here are really HUGE and though I would not say they are exactly like the traditional old school ones that we used to love, these are very nice as well. The locals have a not-very-flattering name for them – pelir kambing (goat’s testicles). LOL!!!

I spotted some pulut panggang

WeLove pulut panggang

…as well, RM1.20 each which is 20 sen more expensive than the price elsewhere generally. They sure looked good so I simply had to grab some to try. Unfortunately, I would not say it was a whole lot nicer than those I had had elsewhere – yes, it was very well cooked with the very nice panggang (cooked over hot burning charcoal) fragrance but no, it was not lemak (rich with santan/coconut milk) enough. The one I had was a tad salty but my girl had one and hers was all right – I guess they did not mix the salt too well.

And talking about Chinese New Year, I must thank my cousin in Perth, Australia and her family and my old friend in Kuching (we go all the way back to the 70’s and he has never failed to send me one every year) and his family for the lovely Chinese New Year cards…

Chinese New Year cards

My cousin sent me one for Christmas and it arrived around a fortnight later so this time, she’s not taking any chances and sent hers early – with our snail mail, literally, these days, one just can’t take any chances. It’s the early bird that catches the worm, they say. Qong Xi Fa Cai from me and my family to you two and yours as well – may God bless all of you abundantly with good luck, good health and prosperity in the coming Year of the Goat. Cheers!!!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

22 thoughts on “We found love…”

  1. I think the owners realize that we love is better than we care so they changed the name. This is the only time I see pulut panggang being sold in a bakery and I think it is great! Everything under one roof.

    Pretty CNY cards. So nice of your relatives and young friends oversea.

    This is my second. The first was in Bintulu when I was there for my niece’s wedding last year – theirs had sambal inside.

    My cousin…and not a young friend this one and not overseas, in Kuching – a very good friend way back in the 70’s. Ya, sure is nice of them.

  2. Hi! I have a lot of catching up to do on your blog! COMMENT Blast coming soon! LOL I agree – I like their new name better, too! It’s always good to have more love in the world, eh!? Looks like they have some really interesting offerings, too!

    Yes, what the world needs now… That’s this Friday night’s episode of GLEE. Last season now. Do you watch? I don’t…but I always check out the songs every episode on youtube. πŸ˜€

    1. I do actually watch GLEE – one of my guilty pleasures I guess! I can’t believe this season is the last season! BoooHiss! It hasn’t been quite the same since Finn died (in real life).

      Yes, and the girlfriend seems to be trying to hit off with Sam, Finn’s best friend. Eeeeeeee!!!! I enjoy the songs a lot. Loved the Carole King week…and last week’s Bacarach week.

  3. Same thinking here.. I feel WeCare sounds like insurance or nursing home or charity thingy, hehe.

    Dunno how they came up with that name but what’s in a name. Most importantly, they’ve got some nice stuff here.

  4. Aww… I thought this was going to be a romantic post… you telling a story about how you and your wife first found love? (hint, hint). πŸ™‚

    Hmmmm…and bore you all to death? Hehehehehe!!!

  5. I wonder the outlets here also change the name too? Havent go and check it out. Love its bread and cheesestick.

    Happy cny in advance from me! ^^

    Ya, I’ve seen their outlet in Kuching once, can’t remember exactly where. Wahhhh!!!! So early, wishing Happy New Year already kah? No ang pao? πŸ˜€

  6. Sure sounds better than To-Eat Bakery. BTW, did you hear that Starbucks is offering coconut milk now? See what I said about coconut milk being good for you?

    Oh? I can’t imagine drinking it straight. Would love lots of it in my cooking and certain local desserts and kuihs, of course…like in Kate’s panggang. Yum yummmm!!!!

    1. No, not to drink straight but as a dairy substitute.

      Oh? I don’t drink milk but in cooking curry and the like, they are interchangeable. Santan may go bad faster in our tropical heat though.

  7. Oh, change name already? We have one outlet here, somewhere at Green Gallery, BDC area if I am right and it has been ages since I last dropped by this bakery. Got to make a trip there.

    I’ve seen the one there, drove past – just can’t remember exactly where. They had the goat’s testicles long before they started making those at their outlet here. I heard my cousin telling me.

  8. I prefer the bread roll over the pita bread too.. Somehow anything low carb doesn’t taste as good! LOL! OOhh CNY coming in no time! Will we be seeing more CNY dishes soon? πŸ™‚

    Nothing planned yet, we’ll see. At the moment, just a bit of this and a bit of that, nothing much.

  9. Now bakery shop, everywhere also see CNY cookies…

    Yes, better grab yours, quick! Dunno which year, I went one or two days before CNY, wanted to buy for people…all gone. Sold out!!! Unbelievable!

  10. Ooo….I love goat’s testicles (as the locals call it)!!! πŸ˜€

    Yet to try the ones over at your side. Always saw this very popular stall facing side of KFC, Bukit Bintang – near the junction of Alor & Changkat BB…but I never bought any, for some reason or other. Been there for a long time now. Used to have a durian stall beside it, can’t recall if it is still there.

    1. Yeah, I’ve eaten those before…and, yeah, it’s good! It was a long time ago and with all the reconstruction in that area, I’m not sure if it’s still there though.

      Ya…have not stayed in that area for a long long time, every since the construction started, dunno what the mess is like now. 😦

  11. WeCare and WeLove are both nice names … and the array of goodies looks great. i wonder how their pineapple tarts are .. those are my favourite chinese new year treats πŸ˜€

    There’s one here, not this one but they make their in the shape of gold nuggets. Was VERY nice at the star, those days before I retired…but as the year passes, the price goes up, the nuggets get smaller and the pineapple jam inside gets less and less. Yet to decide whether or not I would buy any this year.

  12. There was a family run pharmacy near my KL home that goes by exactly the same name: WeCare πŸ˜€ .. But they went out of business a few years ago.
    I saw a stamp that has the Chinese word for Goat printed on it. Thanks for showing me that, I need to get hold of that!

    Oh? That’s “goat”? I wouldn’t know…thought it was just an icon. Hehehehehe!!!! Great name for a pharmacy, too bad it did not last.

  13. What a nice place. And your New Year cards are beautiful! πŸ™‚

    Yes, they are. And yes, one of my favourite bakeries in town. Love to browse around.

  14. From caring to loving, that’s a good progression hee..hee…Oh dear! Goat’s testicles! That does not sound appetizing at all πŸ˜€

    Oooo….you have yet to hear about the bull’s!!! They say it gives great strength and hence, the name…SUP POWER! Muahahahahaha!!!!!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

