Fishy…

We got a can of this…

Fischeon 1

…from my niece who’s currently working in Singapore – Fischeon…or luncheon meat made of fish and as you can guess from the lion icon/logo, this was made in the island republic…

Manufacturer

…though I am not familiar with the address and do not know exactly where that is. “See end of can“? Hmmm…’nuff said! Hehehehehe!!!!!

All this while, we did not bother to give it a try as I had bought a can of the chicken version, made in Singapore too…and though it tasted fine, I was kind of put off by its softness. It was kind of wobbly or jelly-like as if there was not all that meat in it, mostly skin and fat…and besides, it certainly did not come cheap.

Β Well, the other day, I finally made up my mind to open it and see what it was like…

Fischeon 2

Hmmm….it looked kind of pale and not so appealing, I would say. The smell was good though.

I sliced it up and fried it in a non-stick pan…

Pan-fried, dry

…in order that I would have a nice harder and crustier layer on the outside. When I do this with the meat (pork) version, the fat would melt and the oil would come out but with this one, there was none of that.

Once that was done, I cut the slices into bite-size pieces and got the other ingredients ready…

Fischeon & others

– half a Bombay onion and one chili, thinly sliced, spring onion, finely chopped, some Thai basil leaves, cut into bits and two eggs.

I beat the eggs in a bowl and added the spring onion to the batter and then I fried the Bombay onion in a little bit of oil before adding the chili and the basil leaves before putting in the Fischeon and after mixing everything and stir-frying a bit, I poured in the eggs. Once the eggs were done, I dished it all out…

Fischeon 3

I would say it still did not look as nice as the regular luncheon meat that we are more familiar with like this one or this, for example and even the chicken one looked a lot better but as far as the taste went – this tasted very good! No, it did not taste the same – it had its own taste of fish and the texture was not really like fish cake, more like meat or luncheon meat…

Fischeon 4

All in all, I would say we did enjoy it but especially considering that it would not come cheap, nothing from Singapore ever is, I would definitely stick to our regular luncheon meat.

Moving away from the topic in question for a bit, I’ve blogged about this sometime ago in 2011 but I guess there’s no harm repeating. This is the Horlicks honey cake…

Bandong Horlicks honey cake

…which is a variation of the more familiarΒ kek batek (batek cake) with the layers of biscuits used in the making and instead of the usual chocolate, they have used Horlicks and honey and whatever else…and personally, I do think this is nicer than the regular kek batek.

Well, if you’re thinking of stocking up on cakes for your Chinese New Year open house, this, in my opinion, is a good one to go for – very much cheaper than all/most of the kek lapis (layer cakes) , now RM16 for a rectangular block as compared to RM14.00 many years ago, and available exclusively at my regular Malay kuih stall at Bandong here. I probably would grab a loaf/block or two myself.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

26 thoughts on “Fishy…”

  1. At first look, without reading, I thought you were zooming in to show the ingredients on the can, of which I could only get a glimpse (to the left). No fish, just stuff that didn’t sound much like food in that “fishy” can. πŸ˜‰

    Oh? Didn’t check. Something along the same line as fish balls and fish cake – you can tell if it is mostly flour by how big the balls expand when boiling…but the texture’s not quite the same – had a bit of the feel of fish (or whatever) in it. But all things considered, I’d stick to our regular luncheon meat.

  2. First time I see fish luncheon meat.. Looks dry but I’m very interested to try.. Oh yes when I fry the pork luncheon meat, there would be oil left on the pan and the meat would look moist from the oil.. Very fragrant oil too.. I would do the same way too – fry with egg.. Can’t go wrong.. Looks good though..

    Yes, the oil gives it the fragrance – and I would use it to fry the onions, no need for any extra added oil. This one, I had to add a bit to do that. On the whole, not bad…not the same but quite nice, good sometimes for a change…but of course, that would depend on the price. Nothing from the island republic comes cheap. 😦

  3. Never heard of fish luncheon meat, i guess i’ll look for that πŸ˜€

    Not bad, nice…but I guess it would most likely appeal to those into healthy eating…like you. πŸ˜‰

  4. That the way I fried my luncheon meat but my first time heard of fischeon meat. The luncheon meat I bought is not oily at all and when fried it looks dried, exactly like the fischeon.

    What brand would that be? Gulong? That one is not as oily…but there is oil. This one, like none at all.

  5. Tasted kek batek in a Hari Raya open house. Not to my liking but it taste alright.

    Yes. Kek lapis is no longer cheap. And sometimes I am put off by its colours! Haha.

    Ok, I also would stick to luncheon meat! Not fisheon. Haha.

    Me too.

    Ya…I would avoid the colourful ones – the kek lapis. Some are ok such as sisik ikan, hati parek, kek negro…none of those bright green and blue and red and orange layers. Not a fan of kek batek with the chocolate – this one is very nice but the biscuits in it may give the impression that it is kind of try. I quite like it.

  6. fish luncheon meat? I didn’t even know that there is such a thing. so it tastes fishy with soft luncheon meat texture? don’t think I would want to try it.

    horlicks honey cake? looks good and tasty. More to my type of food, hehehe! πŸ™‚

    Very good and the favourite of many.

    I love fish so I’m fine with the taste…and no, it’s not all that soft, not as soft and chewy like fish ball or fish cake, had a little bit of fish texture…and not like some brands of luncheon meat. The made-in-Singapore chicken one we had was like that – would have tasted great but because of the texture, we were somewhat put off.

  7. How interesting!

    This is halal, I presume? Nevertheless, they can target people who eat fish but not any other meat too. Yeah, I guess it wouldn’t taste quite like pork but it seems quite intriguing though.

    Great for a change, it’s pretty good, just don’t expect anything like luncheon meat as we know it…though I’m not sure about the price.

  8. You opened my eyes to something new. have never heard or seen fishcheon before.

    Me neither…and I had a problem with the spelling too, had to edit again and again – no h in the fish, it seems. πŸ˜€

  9. Argh. Now I’m really hungry.

    Haven’t had breakfast yet…or whatever, depending on where you are? I had mine…and an early lunch outside too – missus busy making cookies for Chinese New Year.

  10. “See end of can”… Is this really a Singaporean product?? This kind of English we usually associate with China! πŸ˜€ .. The Chinese word said “Please see the lid of can”.
    Horlicks Honey Cake sounds interesting. I’m still trying to imagine how it would taste like.

    I haven’t the slightest idea – Greek to me…but I do know that the standard of English there has dropped too since the Speak Mandarin campaign in the 80’s, so badly that they had to change the English syllabus in schools – from PETS to PEP. We have those in some tuition centres here, follow their syllabus, use all their texts, workbooks, teachers’ guides and everything…and parents all love to send their kids for this.

    The Horlicks Honey cake has a strong taste of Horlicks and condensed milk – can’t really single out the honey…but for me, it is good enough.

  11. fish punya? Hmmm….never heard of it till you highlighted.

    If go Singapore must try and find see is it taste good or not.

    Never heard of it either before my niece gave us a can. Jangan tak cuba!

  12. will buy and try that if i happened to see it in the market.. haha.. but like you, i still think luncheon meat is the best.. πŸ™‚

    Yes, you’re absolutely right. Ok sometimes for a change if the price is right.

  13. I suppose the fish luncheon is more healthy than the pork version since there’s no oil after you fry it….who are we kidding anyway! πŸ˜€ I would usually discard the oil, after frying luncheon meat, coz that (seriously) is really unhealthy oil.

    It should be healthier since it’s fish, not meat…and no oil but yunno all canned stuff – all the preservatives, seasonings and flavourings – best to keep it to once in a blue moon, when absolutely necessary…or better still, don’t eat at all.

    Luncheon meat, if frying the slices to eat like that (or with rice or bread), I would just fry, dry, on a non-stick pan, no oil added and of course, I would not keep any that comes out of the slices. Seldom eat this, anyway. My missus has this phobia about what kind of meat goes into the can…especially anything made in China. She would not touch those!

  14. ooo how interesting … at first glance, i thought it was otak-otak! it’d be interesting to see what other recipes could go well with this … fish luncheon meat in your famous fried rice and also with spaghetti probably πŸ˜€

    Ahhhhh yeessss!!!! Bingo!!! Was trying to put my finger on it – the texture but you got it absolutely right! Like otak-otak…minus the tumeric, lemon grass and what not. Thank you! It tasted pretty nice…but being made in Singapore, I don’t think it is cheap after conversion or if it is available here. I think I’d pass.

  15. Oh .. Bought in Singapore ?maybe I should get it and try !

    No need to rush out for it – can buy if you see it to try – not too bad…if it’s not too expensive, that is. Otherwise, better stick to SPAM…or Porkies luncheon meat – I like that brand!

  16. Goodness! There’s a fish version of luncheon meat! I did not bother to try the chicken luncheon meat because you were not too impressed with it.

    Ya, forget about the chicken – too soft and wobbly, quite geli to eat even though the taste and fragrance were all right. This one is ok, different taste, different texture and not bad, quite nice.

  17. Enjoying your blog, which is a treasure trove of things I haven’t heard of.

    You’ve been away for a while now, I guess – not aware of some new things back home.

    1. I still go back fairly frequently these days, but tend to stick to the stuff I know and like. Stuck in my rut.

      Sounds like my friend in the US. Everytime he comes back, he would go for the things he has loved all his life, not all that keen on anything new or different…and gets very disappointed if anything is not as good as before.

  18. Oh, I must remember to buy one of this fish can when I go Singapore… πŸ™‚ Looks kind of different… so must taste and see..

    Or get your son(s) to buy a can for you the next time they come home…

  19. When I was a little girl my mother would sometimes make a sandwich for me with canned luncheon meat…funny how as we grow older our tastes change. I don’t like canned meats anymore. I have never seen anything like the item in the can in your first photos. πŸ™‚

    I’m sure you’re very familiar with SPAM – seems to be the general preference overseas. My friend in the US would get me a can of Ma Ling (China company) luncheon meat, made in Canada, everytime he comes home. You may have seen that there. We still love luncheon meat…like when we were growing up but we do not eat very often now, must cut down on canned stuff. Once in a long while should be fine.

  20. Horlicks honey cake? Sounds very yummy! Both Horlicks and honey are also my favorite!

    There’s condensed milk added too – I could taste it. A bit sweet but not too sweet, generally, I would say it is nice.

  21. This sound interesting, I never had anything like this was it smelly and fishy?

    No, not smelly and fishy – nice fragrance…and has the taste of fish. I know some fish balls and fish cake are smelly and fishy – I do not like those. Also fish with a strong fishy smell – no, thank you. I did not have a similar problem with this…just that given the choice, I would go for our regular pork luncheon meat considering that things from Singapore, for us here, are not cheap at all.

  22. Fisheon…interesting. Is good to know they don’t have the fishy smell else it’s hard to swallow..hehe

    Yes, like the cheap frozen fish fillet. Bland in taste and strong fishy smell.

  23. Interesting. Fish paste masquerading as luncheon meat. πŸ˜‰ Anyway, long time no eat luncheon meat. Reading this makes me want to get a can tomorrow.

    I remember this type of kuih batek. My dad taught us how to make this when we were young (many moons ago). Reading this makes me want to look up the recipe and make it. However, he uses Milo and Marie biscuits instead. And yes, it is very easy to make! Think I should show how to make this to my kids.

    Yes, the original kek batek is chocolate, Milo is chocolate. This one uses Marie biscuits too – from the colour, it looks like the chocolate flavour.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

