Lucky star…

Yeah!!! My lucky star must be shining brightly ‘cos I won something in a contest and that’s not something that happens all that often!

aforadio, the online radio station that some of you may be familiar with, was holding a contest – the 12 Days of Christmas on AFO Live whereby listeners would need to share a photograph on Facebook and hashtag the station’s link, that was all! It would have to be a snapshot of one’s favourite dish AND a Christmas tree in one picture though, not just any picture, so I looked into my archives and found this one…

Christmas fruit cake

Ok, there was a fruit cake, the favourite of many, and a Christmas tree…plue a snowman holding a smaller one thrown in for good measure. Absolutely perfect! I promptly submitted that…and waited patiently for the results…and hey, I won! I won! LOL!!!

The postman came honking at my gate yesterday and he handed me this big thing…

From aforadio

…and inside, there was a t-shirt…

aforadio t-shirt

…size S so of course, that is too small for me and no prize for guessing who would be getting it. I love the frame that was in the shape of one of those old school black vinyl records…complete with the record sleeve (cover)!

Then, there was this tote bag Β as well…

aforadio tote bag

…which certainly would come in handy when we go out shopping…and it would be so environment-friendly too as we would need any of those plastic bags that they always give out at the shops. Ain’t that great?

Last but not least, there was this…

aforadio prize voucher

– the actual prize for winning the contest, a RM50 voucher to eat at one of the venues sponsoring the contest, Miss Ellie Tea House. Oh? It looks like some of my friends have blogged about this place – here and here. Of course, that’s in KL but I have till March 31st to hop over to make use of it…or I may just give it to anybody who is extra sweet and nice to me. Wink! Wink! Muahahahaha!!!!

In the meantime, I think I have won some other stuff but I have not received them yet so I will just wait till they come. Hopefully, this is an indication of what’s in store in 2015…and the Year of the Goat – lots and lots of good luck!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

25 thoughts on “Lucky star…”

  1. Wow….Lucky you ! You send them a picture of the Xmas log care and won something nearing Cny. I guess you have to give Melissa the tshirt,, too small for you.. Muhahahahaha………. anyway the tote bag will be handy for you for your cny shopping.

    That’s not a log, a rectangular shaped fruit cake…and I just stuck some old Christmas cake decor on it to take the snapshot.

  2. Congrats for winning! What a good excuse for you to drop by KL. πŸ™‚

    Thanks. Taxi fare from KLIA to KL more than that. Would need a better excuse.

  3. Hey congratulations to you! Now that Selena Gomez song is stuck in my head. It couldn’t have happened to a nicer person.

    Thanks, you’re sweet! Selena Gomez? Which song would that be? You clicked the link and heard it on the radio?

  4. Nice loot, your goodie bag, although you could not fit into the t shirt.. hehe.. Ooooo still won some other stuffs and now waiting for it? You must be a lucky guy!

    The other two, nothing much…but hey, something is better than nothing, right? Hehehehehe!!!!!

  5. Ooh, I do love a good slice of Chrissy cake. That one looks moist and rich. Congrats to you! Well, now you have reason to visit KL again. Miss Ellie Tea House is lovely. I just picked up some biscuits from there yesterday. Yum! (Let me know when you visit… πŸ™‚

    Thanks. Certainly looking forward to that. Hope I’ll get a chance to hop over but that would have to be after Chinese New Year, I guess.

  6. Congrats Arthur! More in store this year.

    Thanks. Hopefully….Qong Xi Fa Cai…hong pao na lai! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  7. Wow! You are on to a lucky streak! I love that photo of the fruitcake and cute snowman πŸ™‚ It’s nice that the radio station threw in other goodies besides the voucher. Too bad about the size of the t-shirt hee..hee… it won’t fit me either so this is not the pot calling the kettle black πŸ˜€

    LOL!!! We’re like peas in a pod? Impossible…you’re nowhere near my shape and size, I’m sure.

  8. Perhaps you can hop over to KL to makan at the place and also to meet up with Kucing & family… They will sure be very happy to have you over…

    And I sure would be glad to see them too! We do get together everytime I go over, such wonderful people – the family.

  9. Congratulations to you, my dear friend. I am so happy for you. I love fruit cake! πŸ™‚

    Thank you. Yes, with lots of rum or brandy. Intoxicating! πŸ˜€

  10. Now who said he doesn’t have any luck? Congrats! I had wanted to try since The Yum List listed it in the ‘Best Afternoon Teas in KL’ but the place is not as convenient (to me) as they’re on the outskirts of KL. But, hey, you might want to visit since it’s proclaimed as the best scones in KL!! πŸ˜€

    Thanks. I love scones! With clotted cream and fruit jam. No good ones here – one very nice place in Kuching, girlie doll house kind of decor…but very expensive. Dunno if it is still in business or not.

    Not sure if I will get to hop over to KL. There’s the “Thriller” musical, Michael Jackson bio, (AFORADIO is holding a contest giving out free tickets right now – can go to their website and check it out) coming during the March school holidays, London West End cast…but my Singapore friend will be here roundabout that time.

  11. congratulations! a well-deserved triumph … your fruitcake photo makes me wish we could turn back time to christmas again! πŸ˜€

    Thanks. Chinese New Year coming right up! Can have fruit cake then too, no problem! πŸ˜€

  12. You need to use your prizes, then you will win more. If you give the voucher away, it shows that you don’t really want it, then fortune will not favour you anymore. So, I say, get on that plane and fly to KL! πŸ˜€

    Oh dear! What if I just keep it and let it expire? πŸ˜›

    1. Or call the tea house and explain that you would love to try their fare but may not be able to make it by March 31st. Perhaps they will agree to still honour the voucher.

      Ya, will see about that. More for the fun of joining, anyway.

  13. It is the thrill of knowing that you won something that we feel happy! Not so much on the gifts.. but the news that make us feel on top of the world..hahaha… Good for you! Happy Eating!

    Yes, just for the fun of it…and it’s good when we win something, anything.

  14. Too small for you? Berapa XL oh?

    Congratulation on the winnings. Hmm…mana tau next will be toto

    TOTO? Ada lah, last night RM4.00 X 2… Sobsssss!!!! Me, XXXL but depending on the brand.

  15. Oh! Happy Mail! Love it! Congrats, too! AND….radio!!!!! Yay for Radio!

    Ya, and we can listen to stations all over the world…online. Yours too? Come, give me the link, what time is your show? πŸ˜‰

  16. The Christmas cake is so cute, good that you won that, but very weird why they give S size, maybe M size should be better??

    Good for my girl, she’s very thin.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

